We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place”
Review of Crowne Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Terrigal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend and received an upgrade to a junior suite. A very spacious and well appointed room overlooking the beautiful beach. Bed and pillows perfect. Terrigal is a naturally beautiful location that is only 1.5 hours from Sydney CBD. The hotel is very grand in a traditional style. Breakfast was excellent - not cheap at $38 PP but quality and choice made up for the high price. Terrigal offers lots of great walks to take, a good choice of restaurants and cafes. Great for a long weekend but not somewhere I'd spend a week at. This hotel is almost the focal point of the town. If you give the hotel a real close inspection you will find it is in need of a general makeover.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hs656409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Hs656409,

Thank you for your feedback.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your short break away and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    411
    159
    52
    32
See reviews for
241
429
17
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business. Found the room to be of good size and beds to be comfortable. Pillows a little soft for my liking but there was more than enough to compensate. Not a big fan of the bath shower combo and the shower head set very low. Breakfast selection vey good and would stay again for sure. Great facilities And great view too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Tlb81,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am pleased to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and you enjoyed our facilities and location.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Crown plaza Terrigal for 2 nights. On check in we were upgraded to a junior suite which had a proper living area with a couch to watch TV and small dining table. We also had some views of the beach. The breakfast buffet is good value and you sit in a big glass atrium looking out over Terrigal beach. We had dinner in the hotel but it was expensive and not really worth what we paid for dinner. We have the priority privilidge dinning card and were disappointed that we could only use it in the expensive restaurant. We could not use it in the Florida bar and restaurant downstairs or the casual dining around the pool so beware if you join up for that it is often a rip off if you can only use it in one restaurant. I have had the problem in other IHG hotels too.
Friday night we both slept well and I do like the lovely soft beds. But Saturday night the Florida Bar downstairs which the public use has a live music band which played till midnight. So if you like to go to bed early don't stay at this hotel.
Terrigal is a beautiful spot and the hotel is a bit old world but could do with a renovation in some of the public areas. Beware too of the slippery timber floor around the pool area because it is just so slippery when you have wet feet. I saw two people slip over in just a few hours. Its very dangerous for older people or kids that like to run everywhere.
I could recommend the hotel but please beware of some of these issues.

Room Tip: Beach facing higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,219 reviews
385 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I normally look for 2 things when I stay in hotels and resorts - location and friendly personal staff.
This hotel clearly has location - directly opposite one of the best beaches and bays on the coast - you couldn't ask for a better spot. It's only an hour from the freeway entrance at Wahroonga so it makes it a better location than some of the alternatives like Nelson Bay and Forster and the town itself has more variety with its cafes and restaurants. There is nothing better than waking up to the magical sunrises, having an early morning swim and then a wonderful breakfast in any of the options in town.
There are many bars and lounges and the hotel has invested heavily in upgrading its facilities. This is particularly so at the swimming pool which has been upgraded with the decking, spa and furniture. Adnan is quite a joy at the pool - very friendly and the day starts so much better when he is on duty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear RonWamberal,
It is a delight to read your comments and I thank you for your feedback.
We certainly share your sentiments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a fantastic property. Our room faced the pool and ocean and the deck was pretty private. The staff were so friendly, and the room spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the pool and the location to the ocean, We did not eat here so cannot comment on the food. Right across the street is the fabulous tapas place. This property is worth the extra cost in our opinion

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Lana B,
Thank you for your feedback.
I am delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked on Good Friday evening...computer problems (not on any other site) so I phoned a helpful young woman in the Philipines, I suspect, who treied to help, but I explained I liked to read what I was getting. Minutes later a booking confirmation arrived by email (1 night...we wanted 2) so I phoned the hotel again, this time requesting to speak to the operater who was very helpful and we made a booking for a king room, with balcony and ocean views and b/fst. When we arrived this Monday we were offered an upgrade to a suite, for an extra $75 per night, which we took. The rooms were great: large and with wonderful views. But there were a number of little problems which I didn't expect when we were paying over $300 a night! The housekeeping was just not up to scratch. The rooms were clean, but there were scuff marks on two walls, one wall had been "cleaned" but there was a large area of circular marks which indicated the poor standard of the cleaning. The carpet in the main room looked as if it may not have been vacuumed, or only very quicky on our second day. There was a large cobweb on the light fitting above the partition which was there the entire time...not good for my aracnophobic hubbie. A sticky mark left by a glass of lemonade on the side table by the lounge was not washed at all...I did that. The mugs, which did not match, were not properly washed...still had stains. Housekeeping should use detergent. I assume the mugs were rinsed in the bathroom, but I had already done this. The dining table was not steady. Coffee and tea were not replaced on the second day, luckily we had brought our own, but, once again, at this price, I expected more. The bed was also a concern. It was king sized and comfortable, as beds in previous Crowne Plaza Hotels, but the mattress protector was way too small...perhaps designed to be used on a Queen bed, and the bottom sheets were too small, just being tucked in on both sides. They came adrift over night both nights, causing some discomfort. The second day when the bed had been made, I checked and no attempt had been made to tuck in the sheets. The shower hed was stuck so my tall husband had an uncomfortable first shower, though this was fixed that day, after I spoke to the duty manager. The ironing board could not be stood up, so I finished up ironing on it resting on the bed! Finally, on the first morning, my breakfast order was apparently lost and after waiting patiently for quite a while, I had to make a second request. Each of these things is relatively minor, but there are too many of them, especially when this was apparently the best room they had to offer, and given the reputation of the chain. Terrigal prides itself on being laid back, but clients have expectations which need to be met if they are to return. Oh, and the spa, which is great, was closed for cleaning the day we left, which was very disappointing, as this is one of the main attractions of the hotel for me.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter...also early in the week, as pub noise can be annoying on weekends. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Kaz P,
Thank you for your feedback.
I am both saddened and disappointed to read of your experience at our hotel.
I would like to discuss this with you on a more personal level. Could you kindly forward your details to this email reservations.terrigal@ihg.com, so I can make contact.
Thank you for your time and I look forward to peaking with you in due course.
Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed on the top floor with an ocean view. The room was very clinical with no soft edges so lacked a warmth feeling. The room was well maintained, and ticked all the boxes but generally didn't feel at all luxurious or romantic.

The bed was comfortable and the hotel was very nice. We just went for an overnight getaway stay and ate lunch in the hotel bar which was average for a four star hotel. The table when we sat down had old glass/dry spilt drink all over it, and on looking around so did the other tables. We were the only ones in the bar so don't know what the problem was. So they could pick up their act a bit in that regard.

We had dinner in the main restaurant and ordered the lobster which was lovely. I ordered the risotto with it which was bland and actually had a weird flavour. The dessert (chocolate tasting plate) was delicious. The service in the restaurant was friendly.

The breakfast was good but we didn't realise we had the option to order an omelette and although the waiter showed us the buffet they didn't point out that we could order something fresh. The coffee bar is a brilliant idea - you can order espresso coffee, but the coffee wasnt a great blend.

Overall a nice stay but not really up to the four stars that some might expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dulcieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Dilcieb,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
I would like to apologise for the issues you had with our main bar and restaurant. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
Thank you for staying and we hope that this has not marred future opportunities for you to stay with us.
Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terrigal
0.7 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
7.9 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
1,960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terrigal Sails Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiarri Terrigal
Tiarri Terrigal
#3 of 6 in Terrigal
92 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
0.5 mi away
Clan Lakeside Lodge
Clan Lakeside Lodge
#5 of 6 in Terrigal
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza

Property: Crowne Plaza
Address: Pine Tree Lane, Terrigal, New South Wales 2260, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Terrigal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Terrigal
#1 Green Hotel in Terrigal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Terrigal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Terrigal’s serene ocean-side location is ideal for singles, couples, groups and families seeking a memorable Central Coast experience. Select from a choice of 199 modern rooms, each boasting up-to-date amenities, and enjoy spectacular ocean views or an idyllic outlook onto Terrigal proper. Indulge in a sumptuous meal at elegant Seasalt Restaurant, famous for fresh-caught seafood and dishes prepared from the finest local produce. Enjoy a cocktail and catch-up with friends in the beautifully refurbished Lord Ashley Lounge or catch a live band and watch the sunset on the outdoor deck at Florida Beach Bar. The Concierge’s at Crowne Plaza Terrigal are knowledgeable across a wide and diverse range of Terrigal activities, including the best Terrigal dive sites, local attractions and local golf courses. Wander to the top of the Skillion for panoramic views of the coastline or find top-class surfing on Terrigal Beach. Deep-sea fishing trips leave from The Haven, a peaceful area 10 minutes' walk away. We're 15 minutes' drive to the Erina Fair mall and 20km from Ettalong's weekend beach market. We’re also just 115km from Sydney International Airport and Newcastle Airport. Let the complimentary Kids' Club entertain the children during school holidays while you browse the fashions and antiques in our boutiques. Energise in the outdoor pool or work out in the Fitness Centre. You'll look forward to conducting business in our meeting rooms and we'll leave you with golden memories of your wedding. Make Crowne Plaza Terrigal your base for exploring the Central Coast or simply relaxing on its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Terrigal
Terrigal Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Terrigal, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing