We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Terrigal by far”
Review of Crowne Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Terrigal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently spent three nights at this hotel and upon arrival upgraded to the top level for only$50 extra per night - well worth it. We had an amazing room with 180 degree views off the balcony of the beach. The buffet breakfast was better than the average hotel, proper coffee on demand and a juicer along with an omelet of your choice and free newspaper, The staff were very friendly and we it's such a beautiful area, would highly recommend. For a beach town only 90 minutes away from Sydney, you'd be hard pressed to find a better place to visit that's as close.

Room Tip: If you have an option to upgrade for a reasonable rate, do it! If you're lucky enough to choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear D M,
Thank you for your feedback.
I am delighted to read that your stay was so enjoyable.
We appreciate your comments and trust we will see you return to the hotel in the very near future.
Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The Crowne Plaza Terrigal is our little family getaway when we want a little bit of luxury. The whole family loves this place! It's right across the road from the beach and you can request a room with a beach and pool view which is just beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and includes by Foxtel channels. The kids absolutely love the pool and spa as do my husband and I. The pool is heated to a temperature which is comfortable all year round, but not too warm that it makes you feel like you are in the bath! In the morning we love the buffet breakfast which has everything you could want and you can also order specialty items such as omelettes made to your liking or eggs cooked any way you like. There is even a barista in the restaurant to make you your special morning coffee the way you like it! The restaurant overlooks the beach. We love this hotel and try to get there as often as possible. Just make sure that when you book a room with a beach view that you get it. We once ended up with a view of the road which is apparently a beach view! Make sure you demand a better room if this happens to you. Also, if you have any other issues, for example, we had no hot water pressure in our shower, speak up, because they will do what they can to move you to another room. Overall, we love this place and we always look forward to the next time we will be staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lgraham2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Lgraham2013,

Thank you for your feedback.
It is fantastic to learn that you have been a loyal return guest over the years.
I am delighted to read that the Crowne Plaza has become a memorable place that you love to bring your family.
I have noted that although on some occasions we have not met expectations, we go above and beyond to rectify any issues to ensure the comfort of our guests. These comments are a tribute to our staff and their willingness.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel very soon.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We live in the area. We took the family for a relatively expensive dinner (mains were over $40) to Seasalt, their upmarket internal restaurant. Our table wasn't ready when we arrived. We stood there for over ten minutes. We had booked early for a window table, didn't get that. There is a function room adjacent and the sound of a large party, the DJ, and the bass came through loudly into the restaurant. Very poor planning on layout. Loud enough that comfortable conversation was curtailed. Service was adequate for a $15/plate but not for this. $10 bread was a couple of low quality rolls cut in half with a garlic paste spread. Service was indifferent throughout. First drinks took a long time to get ordered and delievered. Food was acceptable (we had salmon and steaks, pretty easy dishes). The dishes were all delivered together and were hot, which is better than another experience I had recently. Slow to ge us replacement waters. Slow to acknowledge us when we wanted to order coffees. Nothing was horrible, but the experience was not close to worth the price.

Room Tip: Slightly off the subject, but on point for restaurants, nearby Crave Sushi and Sapa Modern Vietnames...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear James H,

Thank you for your feedback,

I was saddened to read of your disappointment in our Restaurant and that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
We take great pride in our menu offerings and this is experience is certainly does not match the high level of standards we try and achieve.
I would be grateful if you could contact me directly on reservations.terrigal@ihg.com, so that we could discuss in more detail.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We walked into this hotel and asked to see a few rooms before deciding what type we wanted for the night.

The clerk was so helpful and showed us this amazing suite with sea views, huge balcony and spa bath. It was out of our budget but he offered us a great rate, and threw in carparking as well. He even had champagne delivered to our room as a honeymoon gift. Very impressive service!

The pool was great. The only drawback was the spa needs to have its water changed, it was quite smelly.

We didn't eat at the hotel but the pool bar was great for drinks.

I would highly recommend this hotel for its fantastic staff and excellent location.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite with spa overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Hayley M,

Thank you for your feedback,

Congratulations on your Wedding. I am thrilled to find that our staff member provided such a high level of service and provided the personal touch befitting the occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your anniversary.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

As my "local" I have visited here many times since it was built, and sadly, it has lost the classiness it had as Peppers, and although renovated, it is not to the style it was. A recent dinner/dance I attended was well organised, but the food was very average, and I have eaten much better prepared food at nearby restaurants. It is a shame to see such a fine hotel in a beautiful position not live up to its former glory

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SandyTerrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Sandy Terrigal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

It is disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
We take great pride in our meal offerings and this experience certainly does not match the high level of standards set to achieve.

We have taken your comments onboard and trust this has not marred future visits.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is right on the beach. All rooms have balconies facing the ocean. I liked opening the double doors to the room and working out on the balcony. It is a wonderful setting. The room was spacious, but somewhat dated. The bathroom was really dated. The shower was in the bathtub rather than in a walk-in enclosure, which I would expect at this price-point. Also, the shower head was very low. The mattress was much too firm for me.

The breakfast in the hotel was very good. In addition to standard breakfast items, they had eggs/omelettes cooked to order and a self serve fruit juicing station. The hotel is within easy walking distance of many great restaurants.

The lady at the front desk was the most friendly and pleasant hotel employee I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: The 14 lowest numbered rooms on each floor have both pool and ocean views. The higher numbered room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Colin H,

Thank you for providing us with your constructive feedback.

We appreciate your review and have noted your stay was an enjoyable one.

We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We love the Crown, we have been here many times and it never fails to impress. Great rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff. Be sure to check out the upstairs bar, it's a great place for an evening drink.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidoBarr-Smithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear DavidoBarr-Smithy,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments and I am pleased to find your stay was seamless and very enjoyable.

We look forward to having you back in the near future.

Best regards

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terrigal
0.7 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
0.1 mi away
Terrigal Sails Serviced Apartments
7.9 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiarri Terrigal
Tiarri Terrigal
#3 of 6 in Terrigal
98 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
0.5 mi away
The Clan Terrigal
The Clan Terrigal
#5 of 6 in Terrigal
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza

Address: Pine Tree Lane, Terrigal, New South Wales 2260, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Terrigal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Terrigal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Terrigal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Terrigal
Price Range: $127 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Terrigal’s serene ocean-side location is ideal for singles, couples, groups and families seeking a memorable Central Coast experience. Select from a choice of 199 modern rooms, each boasting up-to-date amenities, and enjoy spectacular ocean views or an idyllic outlook onto Terrigal proper. Indulge in a sumptuous meal at elegant Seasalt Restaurant, famous for fresh-caught seafood and dishes prepared from the finest local produce. Enjoy a cocktail and catch-up with friends in the beautifully refurbished Lord Ashley Lounge or catch a live band and watch the sunset on the outdoor deck at Florida Beach Bar. The Concierge’s at Crowne Plaza Terrigal are knowledgeable across a wide and diverse range of Terrigal activities, including the best Terrigal dive sites, local attractions and local golf courses. Wander to the top of the Skillion for panoramic views of the coastline or find top-class surfing on Terrigal Beach. Deep-sea fishing trips leave from The Haven, a peaceful area 10 minutes' walk away. We're 15 minutes' drive to the Erina Fair mall and 20km from Ettalong's weekend beach market. We’re also just 115km from Sydney International Airport and Newcastle Airport. Let the complimentary Kids' Club entertain the children during school holidays while you browse the fashions and antiques in our boutiques. Energise in the outdoor pool or work out in the Fitness Centre. You'll look forward to conducting business in our meeting rooms and we'll leave you with golden memories of your wedding. Make Crowne Plaza Terrigal your base for exploring the Central Coast or simply relaxing on its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Terrigal
Terrigal Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Terrigal, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing