We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid peak periods if possible!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Terrigal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid peak periods if possible!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights between Christmas and New Year with our two children, ages 4 and 18 months. The hotel is superbly located across the road from Terrigal beach, a perfect destination for children. Since our last stay in 2010, the rooms appear to have been refurbished. On the last occasion we splashed out on a large two room suite with an expansive corner balcony and stunning ocean views (somewhat garishly decorated at the time in blue and yellow). This time (being peak season) we paid about double the price for a vastly smaller and balcony, which was basic but pleasant, with lovely views of the hotel pool and the beach across the road (now painted in neutral tones).
There were several disadvantages (aside from price) attached to staying during the peak period, starting with check in. We arrived in Terrigal at 3pm on time for check in, only to be told that our room was not ready due to guests over Christmas taking their time to leave the hotel. After taking the children for a walk around the area, we tried to check in again at about 3.30pm (the estimated time our room would be ready). Again, we were disappointed (although I noticed several other parties check in successfully). The reception staff offered to call us when the room was ready, and provided vouchers for drinks in the pool side bar. This was a nice gesture, but after a couple of hours in the car, all that our 18 month old was really fit for was a nap. We nevertheless proceeded to the bar to "enjoy" drinks with our fractious toddler, waiting for the call - which never came. We returned to reception and were eventually checked in at about 4.45pm. (On our last morning, I requested a late check out in light of the lost time and inconvenience and was offered 30 minutes - which I do not consider adequate.)
Another annoying problem due to the busyness of the hotel was the failure to service our room the following day, despite us being absent for several hours after breakfast at the beach. Whilst we were in the room enabling our daughter to have an afternoon sleep, a bag of new towels, toiletries and tea bags did eventually materialise outside of the door (which was relief, as we had brought so much sand back from the beach).
There was a 15 minute queue to be seated for breakfast each morning, and a comparable wait in the coffee line. Nevertheless, the selection is ample (including made to order omelettes) and the setting is very relaxing, again featuring the beautiful views.
The pool is chaotic at this time of year, and as a result the toilets nearby are not sufficiently maintained. There was wet toilet paper strewn on the floor, and on my second visit with a desperate child, no toilet paper left at all, forcing us to run upstairs instead.
The plus side of peak season is that it feels perfectly acceptable to be out and about with noisy children.
We dined in the restaurant one evening, which we all enjoyed (we recommend the duck and the chocolate tasting plate). There was a wide selection for children, including genuinely tasty and nutritious options. My daughter's steak was beautifully tender.
All in all the Crowne Plaza due to its location and facilities is a good option for families, and in the absence of peak season prices, the sorts of issues we had would be easy to forgive.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dove7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Dove7_10,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on a few matters you have noted above.
I am happy to read however that you and your family still had an enjoyable stay.
We do hope to see you again in the near future and if there is anything I can do to ensure a more pleasant stay please feel free to contact me.

Best regards

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    387
    154
    50
    32
See reviews for
232
399
16
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Booked here with a large group of friends from all over Australia, for a wedding....At $375.00 per night, expected an outstanding experience...How wrong could we be...All of our friends had the exact same problems we encountered.
Room facilities were basic..No extras like toothbrush, toothpaste or shaving gear..Had to ask room service the next morning, for some of the above.....
Pillows were so thin, it was like not having a pillow...Friends also had this problem..Poor sleep quality and a few stiff necks the first morning....
Dirty bathroom?????What is with that!!!!! Hair in the bath and used face cloth on the shower rail??????
Partial view of the ocean..Blocked by the side of the Hotel....Not what we had hoped for at $375.00 per night.
Ticked the box for free newspaper, but surprise surprise, no newspaper delivered.
Breakfast at $38.00 per person was good, but would want to be at that price.
We have stayed in so many hhotels around the world, ranging from 2 star to 5 star..Probably the worst value hotel we have ever stayed at.
Would never recommend this place at this price and with such basic facilities.

Room Tip: If you want a decent view of the beach, make sure you request room that is not blocked by the right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Zzzman34,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. Here at Crowne Plaza Terrigal , we strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am deeply sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in many aspects. Please be assured that the challenges you encountered are not indicative of our usual high standards. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 4th the room was nicely furnished, nice view of pool & ocean. I was worried that it might be noisy but it was quiet when the door were shut. The downside was the pool was so crowded, I've never stayed anywhere where it was so crowded, you literally couldn't move around. There were large families which put there towels or sand buckets on all the chairs claiming them for the day, I looked around & there were 10 adults in the pool area & there was not one chair free, there would have been over 50 chairs there. Very rude & selfish. I overheard people complaining to the staff about it. The breakfast was beautiful, the staff were friendly. I wouldn't stay again I'm summer, maybe the off season.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripntjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Tripntjc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
I was disappointed to read of your poolside experience, this not the experience I would wish any of our guests to walk away with.
I am however happy to see you enjoyed other aspects of the hotel and do look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Even with the doors closed this place was noisy from our room which had nice views of the ocean but also overlooked the undersized swimming pool which all day is crawling with noisy splashy running jumping small children. You have to get in early to get a seat by the pool as the sun lounges are commandeered by large families with youngsters many of whom never actually use the lounges. It's good that the beach is just over the road because it's more peaceful than the pool even on New Years Day!
The rooms are high priced for the overall standard of the place which is a bit tired. On the second day they forgot to service our room. Internet is not free and nor is parking.
Terrigal is the busiest of the Central Coast towns and is generally a bit tacky and overpriced.
Why does this place survive and why did we stay? Because there are no other hotels in the region.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Kim B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I have taken into your consideration your feedback and will follow up accordingly. In the mean time I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

A well kept hotel with loads of facilities. Good size rooms and fantastic views. Noisy when balcony doors open as a very popular bar is situated directly below hotel. But doors are sound proof so no worries re sleeping! Had the best massage ever at the spa, not cheap but soooo worth it. Pool ok, but loads of kids so no room in the spa - but beach across the road with plenty of space!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billi_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Billi_BNE,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I was delighted to read that the Spa provided a sanctuary for you during this busy time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed last weekend for 3 nights. Turned up at 3.30pm and advised room not available and given complimentary drink. Was a Ambassador member and received no benefits. Baggage handler only had first day on job and was not familiar with layout of hotel (poor training). Videos are $18.95 and internet charges are excessive.

Family who were booked with us found underpants from previous guests left in the room. We had a four families as part of our booking with young children. Initially ate at bar first night for hotel snacks. Took over 90mins to cook a burger and then advised it would be delivered to room (took another 60mins later).

Beds were uncomfortable and very soft - need replacing.

Booked at restaurant following night and the food was average for the prices paid (even above Sydney prices) for much better restaurant. Found staff to be young and poorly trained.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Edward W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback regarding your most recent visit. I was very concerned to read of the challenges both you and your friends experienced and would welcome the opportunity to discuss with you further

Yours sincerely,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just returned from our 3 day short stay at the Crowne Plaza. I will start with the positives.The location is fantastic, it is a short walk to shops and restaurants and the beach is literally accross the road.The rooms are neat and reasonably modern.The not so great aspects...the bar directly in front of hotel has live music and party goers till the early hours that can be a little rowdy. The pool is quite small for a hotel this size and is it seems anything goes. Kids were playing with wahu balls in the pool area which wouldn't be so bad if it were a larger pool but with so many people in the pool (parents with toddlers and babies) kids throwing balls into other peoples faces is stupid. The hotel should bar ball games in such a small pool and make parent supervise their children. Local restaurants are a rip off. The prices charged would make Sydney habourside eateries blush. I dont mind paying for quality but the price doesn't match the quality. Overall the hotel is nice but isn't great value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are directly above the bar area as noise would be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juddie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Juddie73

Thank you for your feedback.

I was disappointed to read of your poolside experience, this not the experience I would wish any of our guests to walk away with. I do note however that you found the hotels proximity to the beach and location was fantastic.

We hope you will consider the hotel again in the future.

Best Regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terrigal
0.8 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
0.2 mi away
Tiarri Terrigal
Tiarri Terrigal
#3 of 6 in Terrigal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Terrigal Sails Serviced Apartments
10.5 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
8.1 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza

Property: Crowne Plaza
Address: Pine Tree Lane, Terrigal, New South Wales 2260, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Terrigal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Terrigal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Terrigal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Terrigal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Terrigal’s serene ocean-side location is ideal for singles, couples, groups and families seeking a memorable Central Coast experience. Select from a choice of 199 modern rooms, each boasting up-to-date amenities, and enjoy spectacular ocean views or an idyllic outlook onto Terrigal proper. Indulge in a sumptuous meal at elegant Seasalt Restaurant, famous for fresh-caught seafood and dishes prepared from the finest local produce. Enjoy a cocktail and catch-up with friends in the beautifully refurbished Lord Ashley Lounge or catch a live band and watch the sunset on the outdoor deck at Florida Beach Bar. The Concierge’s at Crowne Plaza Terrigal are knowledgeable across a wide and diverse range of Terrigal activities, including the best Terrigal dive sites, local attractions and local golf courses. Wander to the top of the Skillion for panoramic views of the coastline or find top-class surfing on Terrigal Beach. Deep-sea fishing trips leave from The Haven, a peaceful area 10 minutes' walk away. We're 15 minutes' drive to the Erina Fair mall and 20km from Ettalong's weekend beach market. We’re also just 115km from Sydney International Airport and Newcastle Airport. Let the complimentary Kids' Club entertain the children during school holidays while you browse the fashions and antiques in our boutiques. Energise in the outdoor pool or work out in the Fitness Centre. You'll look forward to conducting business in our meeting rooms and we'll leave you with golden memories of your wedding. Make Crowne Plaza Terrigal your base for exploring the Central Coast or simply relaxing on its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Terrigal
Terrigal Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Terrigal, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing