We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Terrigal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just returned from our 3 day short stay at the Crowne Plaza. I will start with the positives.The location is fantastic, it is a short walk to shops and restaurants and the beach is literally accross the road.The rooms are neat and reasonably modern.The not so great aspects...the bar directly in front of hotel has live music and party goers till the early hours that can be a little rowdy. The pool is quite small for a hotel this size and is it seems anything goes. Kids were playing with wahu balls in the pool area which wouldn't be so bad if it were a larger pool but with so many people in the pool (parents with toddlers and babies) kids throwing balls into other peoples faces is stupid. The hotel should bar ball games in such a small pool and make parent supervise their children. Local restaurants are a rip off. The prices charged would make Sydney habourside eateries blush. I dont mind paying for quality but the price doesn't match the quality. Overall the hotel is nice but isn't great value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are directly above the bar area as noise would be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juddie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Juddie73

Thank you for your feedback.

I was disappointed to read of your poolside experience, this not the experience I would wish any of our guests to walk away with. I do note however that you found the hotels proximity to the beach and location was fantastic.

We hope you will consider the hotel again in the future.

Best Regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Terrigal is a beautiful little beach town, great hotel location right amonst all the action, best seafood in nsw. Our hotel room was very nice with gorgeous views of the ocean and little bays, the hotel breakfast was delicious and the staff were very friendly and helpful, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess300883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear jess300883

Thank you for your favourable feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The hotel team pride themselves on the friendly service they provide and we are pleased you experienced this whilst enjoying the very popular Seasalt buffet breakfast and the hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Best Regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Crowne Plaza Terrigal is well located just opposite the Terrigal beach and close to a variety of shops and restaurants.

It's ideal if you have small children who are well catered for, and pretty good even if you don't have children and want a romantic interlude.

It's noisy as the most popular waterhole for locals and holiday makers is located just underneath the hotel. The pool is also very popular and therefore if you have a room overlooking the pool then of course it will be noisy. The pool itself is large enough at most times to handle the volume of people wanting to swim. There are times when you can have the pool to yourself, the best times being early in the morning prior to breakfast.

Over the three days we were at the hotel we swam each morning at 8am, then had breakfast, then off to the beach, and then back to the pool. There is also a spa pool. Towels are plentiful and the pool staff are most obliging.

In fact, all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and this was the busy period over the Christmas long weekend. In spite of the hotel being full there were little or no queues waiting to have breakfast. Breakfast is very well organised and if you do want to have a speciality dish such as a baby spinach, mushroom and salmon omelette then you give your order, take a number and continue your meal whilst they cook your dish. There is a wide variety of food including many different type of fruit and vegetables to make your own juice. There is plenty of space and very little queueing as the dining room is big and well designed.

Breakfast is expensive ($38) but if you make a brunch of it then it is good value. There is a fancy restaurant in the hotel if you want to have lunch or dinner without leaving the hotel but there is probably no need to do so as you have such a variety of cafes and restaurants (and takeaways) just across the road.

Parking is easy and free - just park across the road in the municipal carpark for as long as you like, anytime you like. If you park in the hotel then it is $18 per night - there is no need to do that.

All in all, management is to be congratulated for making our stay so pleasurable. We will be back!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the pool area facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear WellTravelledAussie2

Thank you for your kind comments. The team are delighted that your holiday was pleasurable and very proud that their friendly service was appreciated.

The hotel has many features that are very popular with guests including our menu offerings and ability to relax and enjoy all of the hotel facilities.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Best Regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Rooms all have a view which is great. Friendly staff. Good rooms. Great breakfast although the coffee queue of 15 mins is unacceptable. Enjoyed the sauna, gym and pool. The spa was not hot, even though we asked a couple of times about it and we're told that it was being warmed up. That was disappointing. Could do with a makeover. Hotel bar is great.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank JenJenSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear

Thank you for your feedback.

Crowne Plaza Terrigal feels privileged to be situated so close to the beach and provide accommodation rooms that take advantage of the stunning scenery.

We look forward to your return escape visit.

Best Regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The place is very crowded on summer weekends, and also for the couple of weeks around Christmas?New Year. But the Crowne Plaza is a pretty good spot. We stayed in an Ocean View room with two Queen sized beds, overlooking the pool, with the beach in the near foreground. The only real downside of this position is that there can be a lot of noise from the beer garden, and even from functions beside the pool.

Speaking of the pool, it can get ridiculously crowded at this time of year. The gym needs an upgrade, some of the equipment has been there since I first started using it, ten years ago.

"Body Fuel" cafe, just up the hill opposite the hotel is highly recommended for breakfast and lunch, as is the tiny Thai cafe opposite the beer garden ("Spice", if memory serves). There is a Vintage Cellars in the beachfront shopping centre.

Wamberal Surf Club has a beaut cafe, and the Terrigal Rugby Club, just a short walk up the hill, also has a cafe that friends have recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a view, it costs more, also those rooms are noisier in the holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wamberal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Wamberal99,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Crowne Plaza Terrigal feels privileged to be located in a vibrant busy location.

It was great to see that you enjoyed some of our local offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and Terrigal.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

What can one say It is a large hotel with all the options, We held our end of year party here for staff and partners. the rooms were of good standard along with the Gym, Pool and Night Club.
Food was middle of the road at breakfast lunch was better and Dinner again was good, the Seafood was very nice with ample amounts even for Desperate Dan. There are other options in Terrigal, like the Post Office, excellent food. The location is a dream and within easy reach of Sydney CBD

Room Tip: A sea view is a must but most overlook the pool as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Jodiesoz,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback,

It was wonderful to see you had an enjoyable time at your Christmas event, that we were privileged to hold.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point before your next Christmas party.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

spa-swimming pool-sauna-steam room-gym (a bit old-fashioned but ok) .. food shops and the beach are just a stone's throw from the hotel.
breakfast buffet is $30 per person in hotel ... but I found it cheaper and a range of choices in the shops near by.

Room Tip: Keep your eyes on the promotions they offer... every now and then..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenith78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Zenith78,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am glad to see you enjoyed the unique charm of the hotel, with all of its local attractions.

We have continual improvements taking place in and around the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy them.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terrigal
0.7 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
0.1 mi away
Terrigal Sails Serviced Apartments
7.9 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiarri Terrigal
Tiarri Terrigal
#3 of 6 in Terrigal
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clan Terrigal
The Clan Terrigal
#5 of 6 in Terrigal
90 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific

Address: Pine Tree Lane, Terrigal, New South Wales 2260, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Terrigal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Terrigal
#1 Green Hotel in Terrigal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Terrigal
Price Range: $129 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific offers the ultimate beach accommodation on the Central Coast, NSW, with all the facilities and comforts for a memorable stay. Our stunning 4.5 star Central Coast accommodation facing Terrigal beach includes panoramic views of the sea, 199 hotel rooms each with its own balcony and 3 ocean-facing restaurants and bars. This slice of paradise, located between Sydney and Newcastle, is blessed with pristine beaches, stunning coastline and lush bushland. Experience the delights of Terrigal Village such as boutique shopping, gourmet eateries, entertainment venues, and stunning local attractions including The Skillion and The Haven, all within walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Terrigal
Terrigal Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing