We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 4th visit and I will be back ...!!”
Review of Crowne Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Terrigal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 3, 2012

spa-swimming pool-sauna-steam room-gym (a bit old-fashioned but ok) .. food shops and the beach are just a stone's throw from the hotel.
breakfast buffet is $30 per person in hotel ... but I found it cheaper and a range of choices in the shops near by.

Room Tip: Keep your eyes on the promotions they offer... every now and then..!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenith78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Zenith78,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am glad to see you enjoyed the unique charm of the hotel, with all of its local attractions.

We have continual improvements taking place in and around the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy them.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

We came up from Sydney overnight to stay for a football match. Usually we stay in Gosford itself, but the accommodation options are poor there (to say the least). This time we decided to stay at the Crown Plaza thinking it a slightly more salubrious option than the Best Western Motor Inn at Gosford <shudder>. We ended up very happy with our decision.

We booked a guest room (given we were only staying overnight) and were happily surprised. The staff on the front desk were happy, engaging and efficient. They arranged transport to the game for us, and let us check in a couple of hours early.

The Hotel is a stone's throw away from Terrigal Beach and we spent a beautiful early summer day in the surf and sand.

For food, there are plenty of restaraunts in the area with a great variety, from indian and mexican, to fish and chips, to traditional frech cuisine. Plenty to choose from and something for everyone.

The bar downstairs was disappointing. We had lunch (the food was good pub grub), but the beer lines need a good clean and the inhouse entertainment was cringe worthy. Come nightfall, the local hipsters were out in force and this looked like the place to be (or not, depending on your tastes).

The rooms are very clean and contain everything one expects in hotel style accommodation. There was simply nothing to complain about, and we usually find something.

The things that really impressed us were the bed/bedding and the ocean. We left the balcony door open over night and the sound of the waves breaking on the beach was simply devine to go to sleep to. To often in locations such as this, traffic ruins the ambience. But not in Terrigal on a Sunday night. Falling into the bed and the devine down filled pillows was pure luxury. We awoke refreshed and sad to say good bye so soon.

We came for the game, but we will certainly come back again for a get away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Karl E,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

I was delighted to read that your expectations were surpassed.
We do take pride in receiving great comments about our guests’ experiences, and have shared your feedback with our colleagues.

We do look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back, perhaps in between games.


Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Arriving at the Crowne Plaza was a little lack luster as there weren't any staff outside at the main entrance to welcome guests or any sign of life! Check in was quick and we immediately got upgraded to a poolside room with ocean views. The room was spacious, clean and modern but I wouldn't say luxurious. Hearing the ocean from our room was quite a treat. Pleasantly surprised there was one robe and pair of slippers in the wardrobe.

Customer service at the Crowne Plaza stood out at a high standard - I was very impressed. Waitstaff at Seasalt restaurant, bar staff, and front desk were friendly and professional, even cleaning staff said hello to us in the hallways.

Being so close to Sydney it was a relaxing getaway for us and I would recommend it if you can get a decent rate.

Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank tiachill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Tiachill,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on arrival, but thrilled we could change your first impressions.
We take great pride in your kind comments about the high standards you encountered from our staff.
Terrigal is a great weekend getaway and we hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed 3 nights during a conference. I enjoyed all of it. The breakfast is great. Make your own juice, hot food was fresh, good selection. All the staff were friendly and interested, and they were willing to help. The room was large and comfortable. Good size bathroom - lots of hot water. Nice view from the 7th floor. The pool was heated and opens at 6am. It was clean and well maintained as were the surrounds.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear RedPuffin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am delighted to note that you had an enjoyable time during your work conference.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon on another occasion with family and friends.

Best regards

Cameron Abbott

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our time here. The breakfast offering was great and the room was more than adaquate. However, there was a hen party booked in on the saturday night of our visit which got out of hand as the night went on. The night staff were slow in getting things under control and the next morning there was a holdup when checking out due to the amount of people complaining about the noise. Overall, a nice, clean hotel in a good location worth the money but worthwhile checking to see if any hen or stag groups are booked in at the same time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_and_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Alan_and_Linda,

Thank you for your feedback.
We share your disappointment in regards to the noise disruption you experienced.
Please accept my apologies that this was not resolved in a timely manner.
I was, however, delighted to read how satisfied you were with our hotel and its facilities.
If I may be of any assistance with a future booking, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in November 2012. Our room had a good view, was clean and spacious. The staff was excellent. However, the room facilities could be better. For example, there was not fridge, no microwave; in the beverage cooler (+5-9) you could not keep either your medication or any food at all. A room service dinner which we ordered appeared quite small (!) but was very much overpriced. The same was their breakfast - with no good choice of food but priced at $38. The room TV often lost signal and the remote control was not working properly. The wardrobe light burnt out on the second day. In the lobby, there were practically no information brochures about what to do in the area. The gym was just awful, very small with only a few cardio machines, half of them not working.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tortie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Tortie C,

Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to note that we were unable to meet both your needs and expectations with our facilities, but was delighted to read how satisfied you were with our staff.
If I may be of any assistance with a future booking, please feel free to contact me directly.


Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I must admit to not having particularly high expectations of this hotel that I stayed at for a recent 3 day conference, but it really turned out to be an excellent experience. Room was lovely and well appointed, the catering for the conference was terrific (although a few more veggies wouldn't go astray...) and the actual conference facilities were just right for our smallish event. Above all the staff were fantastic - friendly, helpful and totally accommodating of all our diverse requests. And it's right on that lovely beach! An unexpected gem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lach54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Lach54,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations during your event.
It was fantastic to note that our staff delivered a seamless experience in which we take great pride in.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terrigal
0.7 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
0.1 mi away
Terrigal Sails Serviced Apartments
7.9 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiarri Terrigal
Tiarri Terrigal
#3 of 6 in Terrigal
97 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
0.5 mi away
The Clan Terrigal
The Clan Terrigal
#5 of 6 in Terrigal
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza

Address: Pine Tree Lane, Terrigal, New South Wales 2260, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Terrigal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Terrigal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Terrigal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Terrigal
Price Range: $134 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Terrigal’s serene ocean-side location is ideal for singles, couples, groups and families seeking a memorable Central Coast experience. Select from a choice of 199 modern rooms, each boasting up-to-date amenities, and enjoy spectacular ocean views or an idyllic outlook onto Terrigal proper. Indulge in a sumptuous meal at elegant Seasalt Restaurant, famous for fresh-caught seafood and dishes prepared from the finest local produce. Enjoy a cocktail and catch-up with friends in the beautifully refurbished Lord Ashley Lounge or catch a live band and watch the sunset on the outdoor deck at Florida Beach Bar. The Concierge’s at Crowne Plaza Terrigal are knowledgeable across a wide and diverse range of Terrigal activities, including the best Terrigal dive sites, local attractions and local golf courses. Wander to the top of the Skillion for panoramic views of the coastline or find top-class surfing on Terrigal Beach. Deep-sea fishing trips leave from The Haven, a peaceful area 10 minutes' walk away. We're 15 minutes' drive to the Erina Fair mall and 20km from Ettalong's weekend beach market. We’re also just 115km from Sydney International Airport and Newcastle Airport. Let the complimentary Kids' Club entertain the children during school holidays while you browse the fashions and antiques in our boutiques. Energise in the outdoor pool or work out in the Fitness Centre. You'll look forward to conducting business in our meeting rooms and we'll leave you with golden memories of your wedding. Make Crowne Plaza Terrigal your base for exploring the Central Coast or simply relaxing on its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Terrigal
Terrigal Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Terrigal, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing