We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”
Review of The Clan Terrigal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clan Terrigal
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Terrigal
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We only stayed at the Clan as a one night transit stop, but had an OK night anyway. Was comfortable and clean, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Would imagine it is a great location for longer stays -wedged in between beach and lagoon. But was raining for the one morning we were hoping to do beach walk. Is showing it's age a bit, and inclusive breakfast was a bit limited in range (still tasty and filling), but overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOCKMAC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed one night in a family room. The rooms were large and clean and also included a kitchenette. We had no problems with noise mentioned in the posts below, although the sound of traffic could be heard it was not at all invasive. The noisiest thing about our visit was the very loud air conditioner, that we had to turn off to sleep, despite the fact that the rooms were still very cold and the beds could have done with another blanket each. (A/c to heat rather than cool).

The location is perfect for a beach holiday, with the sand of Terrigal beach only a few meters from the room. Erina Fair is a 5 min drive back up the main road and Avoca Beach is about 10 mins in the opposite direction. Overall a friendly satisfying stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaliExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights, 2 people.
The service was nice, staff were always helpful. Can be a bit noisy, ita a family/friends get away. Will definitely bring more along next time.
30 second walk to main beach or 30 second walk to private beach.
Definately re commend a lagoon view. Buffet breakfast was like a home cooked meal.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keltru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

When we arrived the lady at reception was lovely, the location is excellent but once you walk into your room it's very disappointing. Apparently it had recently been refurbished, I find this hard to believe. The furniture is stained and outdated and the air conditioning and bathrooms are ancient! It was very muggy when we arrived so our first move was to turn the air conditioner on, it was obviously broken (very very old) and receiving no power although the remote seemed fine. We told reception and were told to check the isolation switch near the bed. After looking all over the room and not finding any such switch we rang again and they sent someone to check it out. He had to rip the head board of the bed away from the wall to get to the switch, how were we expected to see it?! He was very nice though don't get me wrong very apologetic but he then went downstairs to look at the switches down there. After half an hour of waiting for that he came back and said he thought it was the batteries in the remote. The remote was clearly working and the air conditioning was just flat out broken so after more time wasting we finally were told we could be moved to another room on the bottom floor which is a bit of a step down from the room we already had but that was fine they were very nice about it. The air conditioner in our new room was also very old but was working however it made a very annoying ticking noise through out our entire stay. We were going out that night and when my partner came out of the shower he was very very annoyed, the water alternated from freezing cold to boiling hot every minute or so and there was a dirty used bandaid left in the shower from a previous guest. It makes you wonder how thoroughly the rooms are cleaned and checked before they have new guests arrive if they don't even know that the air conditioning is broken or if there are disgusting used and bloody bandaids in plain site in the shower. I'd have to say overall the staff are very friendly and the location is great but unless they do some serious renovations and hire better cleaning staff I would not even consider coming here. It is way way overpriced for what you get and it is definitely not a four star establishment I don't see how they are allowed to call it so.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed here to attend a wedding held on the beach nearby. The location was convenient but the noise from the busy intersection and nearby hotel playing very loud music until late was not worth the convenient location. Our room was average, bathroom needed to be renovated. The staff must have been use to the noise complaints as they were off handed about our comments the next morning. If you want a good night sleep I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cellito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

I stayed here one night whilst on a work trip. The location and view is fantastic, you practically step out of your room onto the beach! The rooms were comfortable, but not roomy, the furniture almost looked too big for the room. The only concern I would have is the fact that I stayed there mid-week in November and found it quite noisy at night. I guess it was around the time of schoolies week, maybe a few had come to Terrigal. But there seemed to be a lot of young people down at the beach till all hours. The noise carried straight up to the room. Breakfast was included and was basic, as you would expect from this accommodation. I'd recommend it if you're a heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NellyC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Nice view, room redecorated not long ago, but noise from intersection and late night bogans across the road makes it hard to sleep

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spludgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terrigal
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific
0.3 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
0.7 mi away
Terrigal Sails Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tiarri Terrigal
Tiarri Terrigal
#3 of 6 in Terrigal
99 reviews
8 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
2,328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Avoca Beach Hotel & Resort
Avoca Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Avoca Beach
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clan Terrigal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clan Terrigal

Address: 1 Ocean View Dr, Terrigal, New South Wales 2260, Australia (Formerly Clan Lakeside Lodge)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Terrigal
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Terrigal
Price Range: $104 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clan Terrigal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely positioned where Terrigal meets the ocean, The Clan is the only accommodation where you can walk out your door and onto the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Clan Terrigal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clan Terrigal South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing