We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every possible way”
Review of Tathra Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tathra Beach House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tathra
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent in every possible way”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I arrived in Tathra late one afternoon with no prior booking. After inspecting a few different options, Tathra Beach House was easily the most inviting. And what a great choice! I stayed in one of the motel-style rooms, which was spacious, exceptionally well equipped and spotlessly clean. I had one of the most comfortable and refreshing night's sleep that I've had for a long time. I think I got a winter special rate, but it was extremely good value. Did I mention free wi-fi too? I was sorry to leave after just one night. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmetcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Tathra Beach House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Gormet Cyclist
Thank you for you review and kind comments. Our motel style units are a great option for an ovenight stay for 1 or 2 persons. During the quieter months we able to offer some realy good rates for guest booking directly with us. You made me envious watching you rideing away on your bike to Merimbula. If you come back to Tathra make sure you bring a mountain bike and try some of the great local tracks built by our local bike club.
Thanks again and we hope the rest of your bike journey goes well.
Regards
Rob White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
50
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

i have been camping/ house renting in Tathra for the past 45 years.

This was the first time in the beach house apartments.

We stayed for 2 weeks firstly in the back apartments and then in the ocean view apt.

Sharon and Dave made us feel very welcome. (the owners were in france). The rooms very comfortable, the kitchen was well fitted out and the deck spa was a great place to enjoy a cuppa to warm up after a morning swim and a lazy place to kick back at the end of the day.

My wife spent a hour a day in the outside spa with occasional dips in the cold pool.

The carports worked well to store kayaks,fishing gear and even a car.

Room Tip: beach views was worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brett r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Tathra Beach House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Brett,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Tathra Beach House and thank you for your kind words.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very please that our staff looked after you so well while we were enjoying our holiday in France. We have a great teem working with us at Tathra Beach House, we all try hard to do what ever it takes to make our guests stay an enjoyable experience.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight. The front desk reception was good, assisted us with what was around. Stayed in an ocean view apartment. Parking was a bit of a walk to the apartment, which was a bit of a pain carrying all the gear in. The view was great. The apartment had everything you could ask for. Fully functioning kitchen, laundry with wash machine & dryer. The reverse cycle aircon struggled to keep up the heat as the apartment was very big. Would love to stay in this place in summer it would be great. Tathra is a great little town with some great shops just down the road.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nomadsby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Tathra Beach House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Nomads
Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your recent stay in one of our Ocean View Spa Apartments at Tathra Beach House.
We are please you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunatly their are a few stairs to access some of our Ocean View Spa Apartments. We do have some other options with fewer stairs however, we apreciate the opertunity to discuss our guests preference prior to arrival. Sorry you encounted a problem with the heating we will investigate this further and install aditional heating if required.
We hope you do have an opertunity to return again in summer, February and March is a great time, the beach is perfect and the water nice and warm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in the ocean-view apartment and were very impressed with the set-up.
The view from the balcony was great. Tathra is a lovely place to visit - a quiet coastal escape in the cooler months and the Beach House the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Tathra Beach House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Katrina C
Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in Tathra and enjoyed your accommodation at Tathra Beach House.
The Ocean View Spa apartments are a great option for couples or a family who don't get to the coast often and appreciate waking each morning to a view over the beach.
Even in the cooler months there is plenty to do in Tathra. From Tathra it is only a couple of hours to the snowfields. In winter many of our guests arrive in Tathra for a few days relaxing after their snow holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have just returned from a three day stay at the Tathra Beach House and we were so thrilled with our stay that we feel compelled to write a review.
We stayed in apartment no. 2. It was perfectly clean and fresh. Lovely spacious accommodation that comprised of: a 'rumpus' room with TV, laundry/toilet and a well equipped courtyard- BBQ, outdoor undercover dining area plus clothes line- on the first floor.
On the top floor was a lovely open plan kitchen/dining/ balcony area. All very modern and clean. Off this was a lovely bathroom and two bedrooms.
We loved and appreciated the high level of maintainence taken with the apartment.
Fresh towels were delivered on our second day. The gardens are gorgeous and we loved the little shop attached. Made some good purchases there!
We loved exploring Tathra. The beach is perfect for a young family. Great pizza at Mimosa. Awesome lunch at the restaurant on Tathra beach.
We were sorry to leave and will most certainly be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissyeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Tathra Beach House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Lissyeast
Thank you for taking the time to review Tathra Beach House apartments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our 2 bedroom Town House apartments, as well as enjoying eating out in some of the great local restaurants in Tathra.
We have had the best weather the last couple of months in Tathra, this I am sure helped to make your holiday even more enjoyable, still days, clear blue sky's and warm beach weather.
We look forward to you returning to Tathra.
Thanks again.
Regards
Rob White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed over here for an evening and a night during our travel along the coast and - like so many places - loved it.
Rooms are good, people are friendly and the area is a beautiful place to have a walk-about.

Room Tip: keep as far away from the main road as possible - it can be noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Tathra Beach House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Rob,
Thank you taking time to comment on your short stay with us in Tathra.
More and more guests are taking the road trip between Sydney & Melbourne, a little longer than the Hume Highway but much more scenic. Tathra is about half way so a perfect location for an overnight or longer stop.
While our motel options are ideal for a couple staying overnight, we also have larger self contained options for family groups.
It is very unusual to encounter any significant noise from the street, as it is not a busy road, however we do have a number of accommodation options located in the rear section that are well away from the road.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and hope you have the opportunity to return.
Regards
Rob White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our holiday at Tathra Beach House was the best ever!! The townhouse accommodation was perfect, and we really appreciated the "little things", such as the courtyard with BBQ and clothes line!! The staff were terrific and the alternate day change of towels, etc was appreciated. It was great to be so close to the beach, and we slept very soundly every night listening to the waves. Being very keen golfers, we managed to play 5 games during our 11 day stay. All golf courses are within an easy drive and the scenery at each course was magnificent. We look forward to making a return trip to Tathra Beach House for another holiday.

Room Tip: The townhouse has a lock-up garage, which is very useful for storing golf clubs and buggies on non g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfcrazyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Tathra Beach House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Golfcrazy,
Thank you for your kind words relating to your stay with us at Tathra Beach House.
Our Town House Apartments are an excellent option when you need a little extra room, and enjoy being a little closer to the beach. The interconnected lock up garages are great for storing bikes, surf boards, golf clubs and fishing gear. Everything you need to enjoy an active holiday in Tathra!.
Tathra is fairly unique in that within half an hour you can drive to 5 golf courses, Tathra, Bega, Bermagui, Tura Beach and Merimbula. The 9 hole, 18 tee Tathra course is a very friendly country golf club, visitors are always welcomed!
Thanks again, we hope you have the opportunity to return to Tathra again soon.
Regards
Rob White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tathra
0.1 mi away
BIG4 Tathra Beach Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Tathra Beachside
Tathra Beachside
#1 of 6 in Tathra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kianinny Bush Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
23.9 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
14.6 mi away
Best Western Fairway Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tathra Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tathra Beach House

Property: Tathra Beach House
Address: 57 Andy Poole Dr, Tathra, New South Wales 2550, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tathra
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tathra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tathra Beach House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located directly opposite Tathra Beach, set in beautifully landscaped grounds featuring native gardens, ponds and waterfalls. Other features include 2 swimming pools, 2 spa pools and a hydrotherapy swim spa. Accommodation available from motel style units, ideal for an over night stay up to large villas and apartments for longer stays and larger family groups. Business facilities including a 20 seat conference room are available. Excellent restaurants and cafes are located close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Tathra Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing