We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location and delicious food.”
Review of Tathra Beach Tapas

Tathra Beach Tapas
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Tathra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Diner, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tathra Beach Cafe is a tapas style restaurant serving fantasic Gusto coffees, breakfast, lunch, and dinner along with unbeatable views of Tathra Beach. Enjoy a coffee or a beverage from our fully licensed bar while watching your children play on the beach, and then bring them in for a meal made with fresh, local seafood.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stunning location and delicious food.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A lovely casual cafe literally on the beach. The view is beautiful looking out across the sand and to the water. Great for a coffee or quick lunch when at the beach (they also do take aways) otherwise sit, relax and enjoy the friendly service and view. If you want a window seat (and you do!) it's best to book as it can get busy during holiday periods. It is also closed down from Mothers' Day (May) until October as the owners then go to the snow fields. The food is fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. Fresh fish in caper and butter lemon sauce is delicious as is the beer battered fish and the prawn and mango salad. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 255060Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    44
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazing food with a view”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Tathra Beach Cafe has a laid back atmosphere, nestled into the southern corner of the beach. I came early, so got the pick of tables, window with a sweeping view down the beach, would suggest you book particularly on weekends. As a vegetarian I often struggle to get a meal that isn't all pasta and cheese, rather the Mezze was a delightful combination of flavours and had an astounding array of protein...not just egg. They are only open in summer Wed - Sun.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nalissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beachview breakfast”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Beautiful beach views and lovely service! It was quite popular on the Saturday morning we visited; we were lucky to get such a wonderful window seat.

We had fun watching the surfers run onto the beach as we ate our eggs benedict. Both of our poached eggs were lovely and runny and the sourdough toast was delicious. A wonderful breakfast stop!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrivolousFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and service.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Being disabled I couldn't actually make it onto the beach. At this excellent Tathra Beach Cafe I was afforded a window seat where I could view the beautiful beach watching the surfers while munching on a great breakfast and enjoying good coffee. The juice was also freshly squeezed. Also appreciated was the complimentary bottle of cold water and glasses on arrival. Highly recommended and remembered fondly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great coffee and great breakfast. We finished off our trip with breakfast here. We had the eggs benedict and loved it. I am so over ordering poached eggs and having them come out like golf ball ( even when I order them runny) Well these were perfect x 3 serves. The coffees were great. The cafe over looks the patrolled beach at Tathra and offers a kiosk type take away. My husband tried the burgers from here a couple of times and thought they were fantastic. They offer breakfast lunch and dinner over the peak season. Staff were also really warm and friendly

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJMELB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tathra Beach Tapas also viewed

Tathra, New South Wales
Tathra, New South Wales
 
Tathra, New South Wales
Tathra, New South Wales
 

Been to Tathra Beach Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing