We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not recommend”

Tides Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 18 Restaurants in Swansea
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not recommend”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We dined ( I use the term loosely) at Tides today for lunch & it was dreadful. The picture on this page is so very out of date & the place could do with a good clean. The food was so disappointing that we didn't chance coffee or dessert. We didn't expect a gourmet experience but honestly how hard can it be to produce a reasonable steak sandwich & a lamb burger. The steak was grey (1st warning sign) & looked like it had been cooked in the microwave. The chips were cold. The lamb kofta was less than ordinary. The staff were not pleasant. All in all a VERY disappointing experience & we would not go back & will definitely pass the word.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    14
    8
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Munmorah N.SW.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Meltdown at Tides”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This Restaurant is byo, however 10 minutes after being seated, no glasses arrived & we had to get our own, finally our order was taken, three more couples arrived later. Their orders arrived, we were still waiting! We complained several times (politely) our orders were not complicated, & eventually arrived when the other diners were nearly finished. Our meals were dreadful & luke warm.We could not wait to leave, went to pay, & again complained (less politely, but not rude) only to be abused by the manageress, very loudly, & told we would be kept waiting longer elsewhere, she was still shouting as we quickly left,after happily taking our money.This was our worst dining experience ever,& we eat out regularly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanie703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Munmorah
Level Contributor
165 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Four of us had lunch there in April 13
we were using an Entertainment voucher so getting 2 for 1
Meals were large my husband had the Thai Beef Salad which he said was good all meals looked great on the plate, staff were pleasant, we had a table outside great view over the Swansea water only draw back is that its on the bypass road along the lake so quite busy with traffic which does spoil the experience (we were there for lunch )maybe the night would be less busy place is licensed. We booked asked for outside but away from the large electric box that is right there on the corner of the out door dinning, we would return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sixfriends44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely slow and poor service to the point that I had to ask for a table to be cleared and ask for a menu after waiting 10 min”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Extremely poor service seemingly untrained in waiting tables. Tables left uncleared for considerable time after vacated. Attitude was definitely not that the customer is always right. Was trying to give it a second chance as on previous occasion had to ask for service as staff too busy talking about their weekend. Shame as it is in prime location but quality of location is let down by lack of quality of service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“2nd chance, but not again”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

After waiting for table service today, I took our menus inside figuring we needed to order and pay at the counter, as I had made eye contact with two different staff members twice and they just ignored us. I was told when I enquired about service, that it was table service and that one of their staff would get to us as soon as possible, "but we are extremely busy!" with attitude. So I took my menus back to the table only to wait almost as long again and watch other tables be cleared, new patrons seated and have their orders taken before us.
We went for brunch, but after waiting so long, we decided to just get coffees. The coffees came, burnt milk and bitter.
My previous experience here about 8mths ago, was uncleared tables with flies inside, during a quiet period and average service & food. Great location but we won't go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Swansea, Lake Macquarie
Swansea, Lake Macquarie
 
Swansea, Lake Macquarie
Lake Macquarie, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Tides Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing