We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad hotel!”

Blue Pacific Swansea
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Pacific Swansea
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very bad hotel!”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

While the room was clean, it looked like something out of the 70s, the TV did not have a remote control and the channels did not work anyway, the bed had hard pillows and a very sagging mattress, the wireless internet was not working - restaurant service was appalling. My wife's fish was served uncooked. When she asked for it to be prepared better it would appear that they popped it in the oven for a couple of minutes and then gave it back to us on the same plate with hot salad! At the same time I also indicated that the rusty salt shaker was not dispensing salt. While they were reheating the fish I heard them banging the salt shaker in the kitchen until it started dispensing something, salt or rust I am unsure of. The menu was terrible anyway. We asked for water at dinner and it had black spots in it. Breakfast was worse then what you might expect at a youth hostel with no preparation whatsoever. - Facilities like spa and sauna were not operational, outdoor furniture was generally unclean and there was rubbish left around including cigarette butts and alcohol bottles. - While they claim to be under new management I can only guess from other reviews that the new management is at least as bad as the old. AVOID THIS PLACE!!!! We thought we had a weekend getaway with their half price deal. It was well overpriced at this rate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGumnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    8
    9
    42
See reviews for
21
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosford
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2011

My first impression of the place lacked maintenance and TLC but staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were a bit old fashioned but that's the norm for Swansea. Beds were comfortable. It was great to see the maintenance had been started with 2 men painting the rooms. Would definatley stay again as the staff made our visit enjoyable. Shall return and am excited to see the changes next time we come!

Room Tip: amazing staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Absolutely disgusting, would NEVER stay here again or reccomend to ANYONE. We had booked and paid in advance for 3 nights, after the 1st night we wanted out but they would not refund our money even with 24 hours notice. Worst mattress on the beds, felt like sleeping on the springs underneath. No toilet paper, spoons, face washers, hand towels, remote, phone, dodgy light switches, tv channels did not work, power cords running through the room. In the 3 nights we stayed we didnt have our beds made once and never receieved any fresh towels. DISGUSTING MOTEL.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank taylah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

VERY VERY disappointing... I work very hard for my money and we don't go away often, because it can be expensive so when we saw their website we were very surprised to get our Living Social deal for half price the normal price. When we arrived we were somewhat surprised to say the least.
We needed a Hummer 4x4 with extra ground clearance just to get down the driveway due to crater sized pot holes. On trying to park our car, we had to dodge old car rims equiped with rotting tires, weeds that would make expert gardener Don Burke proud, rubbish in the car park, an old doona hanging on their dilapidated clothes line which has been there since another review here 2 months ago.....straight off we knew we were in for a good stay. Rubbish everywhere. Cardboard boxes, an old microwave oven and non working bar fridge waiting to go to the tip, just rubbish everywhere. Broken plastic pot plants everywhere with half dead plants, empty vodka bottles lying in the gardens everywhere. Once game enough to enter the room, we stepped back in time to the 70's. It looked like my grandma's lounge-room and slept like a tobacconists. Vintage furniture in both look and comfort too. The bed was like sleeping on a massive wet hot dog roll. No matter where you lay, you end up rolling into the centre of the mattress. The pillow ( yes THE pillow, not pillows...) felt like an oversized dish washing cloth. Did have a bar fridge ( covered in old tea/coffee stains but no drinks in it, not even complimentary water ( even though when booked they said we receive complimentary drinks by the pool ). Speaking of the pool, it was a lovely cloudy colour due to a combination of both too much chlorine and no filter going, chlorine powder spilt all over the tiles which had been there for some considerable time, chlorine buckets sitting everywhere, covers off the side of the spa, just mess everywhere. The ferals running around upstairs made sleeping hard as all the noise transferred through the roof down to our room.
Staff smoking as they wander around in areas where they shouldn't be smoking does not look good on any business. Especially not smoking near or in the rooms while house cleaning. As non-smokers we ended up smelling like smokers and that's not right.
The place just needs a good clean up.
Dinner was OK, nothing to make Gordon Ramsey jealous but decent clean food. Although having said that, it did worry me when there was a shirtless smoking guy wandering around in the kitchen, great for health standards. The Living Social voucher did say a 2 course meal for two which it was however it was not quite what I expected. Again a little disappointing.
The staff were friendly enough and welcoming.
All in all the place just needs some TLC. Even in quiet times you need to spend money to make money. When businesses are quiet, there's no excuse for not keeping the place tidy. Get out and do some weeding, do some cleaning up in the car park. No excuses for untidiness ever.
The impression I got was the people running it have maybe inherited the business from someone and really just don't want to be there nor do they really care. It coul be a fantastic money maker but they're letting it slip down hill. Don't complain you're quiet yet not maintain to a standard of service.

I certainly wouldn't want to have paid full price, I'd be very cheesed off.
The best advice to them, either clean it up and make it work or bulldoze and sell the land to developers......
Overall rating out of 10 - would be 3 at best and that's even a little generous.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aceman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port macquarie au
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

NO!!
Again a victim of LivingSocial Promotion. First appearance, was in need for some basic TLC, eg, mow lawn, tidy garden and surrounds, remove rubbish. Access road badly pot holed. Lopsided clothes line draped with old quilts. Lock on room very stiff. Included dinner was served with limp vegies, we decided to forgo breakfast. Two story design allowed any noise upstairs to reverberate through room (until about 2.30am). Receptionist on duty when we booked in was friendly and helpful. Pointed out path to Swansea RSL which would be the place for a meal, if there was a next time.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N0_Legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We arrived in the area to attend a party. The Motel does seem to be in need of some renovating, but having stayed in the area before, this seems to be normal for the other motels in the area also. The majority of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, with one exception of the younger receptionist who seemed to lack personality or the willingness to help. However, should you be booking or staying at the Motel, ask for Kim or Michelle who were two of the lovliest people I have come across. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they even drove us to our party that night to save us on cab fare. Overall, i find this motel to be in need of some repairs and updating, however for the price and the help afforded to us, I will continue to use this Motel as my choice of Motel while in the area.

Room Tip: Again, ask for Michelle or Kim if you require anything. They are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We arrived with great hope during our 10 week stay in Australia
This was an overnight stay booked via LivingSocial
The staff were friendly working with limited resources we understand.
Room was dreadful,dinner over cooked,breakfast meagre - do not stay here even if it's free!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackkeogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
6.9 mi away
No photo provided
Bay Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Morisset
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aquarius Motel Belmont
Aquarius Motel Belmont
#3 of 5 in Belmont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Caves Beachside Hotel
Caves Beachside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caves Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Swan Waterfront Motel
2.8 mi away
Belmont Palms Motel
Belmont Palms Motel
#2 of 6 in Belmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pacific Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pacific Swansea

Property: Blue Pacific Swansea
Address: 82 Pacific Hwy, Swansea, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Pacific Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Pacific Swansea is just 1 hr 40 minutes from Sydney. Surrounded by water, we have the Nine Miles of Glorious Beach at Blacksmiths on one side, and the very beautiful Lake Macquarie, the largest lake in the Southern Hemisphere on the other. The area is blessed by an abundance of natural wonders and local attractions. We have our very own Elevation Bridge majestically connecting Swansea to Little Pelican where the hotel is located... The waterways are magnificent, including the Swansea Channel, Lake Macquarie, or the choice of several very nice beaches close by, with good surf, fishing spots, walking and cycling tracks, and loads of public access. Go for an exhilarating Jet Boating Ride, Sail on a Yacht, Hire or bring your Motor boat, Learn to Kite Surf, or get a Beach Surfing lesson, Or stay dry and explore the endless options for sightseeing, cycling, horse riding and more. All of these activities can be booked with our friendly staff at the hotel.Blue Pacific Swansea offers 27 spacious rooms, a large in-ground pool, a fully licensed restaurant, a bar/lounge area, and a BBQ area set amongst the palms and ferns in a lovely outdoor pool garden.Call us today at Blue Pacific Swansea to book your precious time you need, for a Holiday, Romantic Escape, Wedding or Corporate function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Pacific Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing