We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REPEAT GUEST”

Black Swan Waterfront Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Swan Waterfront Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swansea
Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“REPEAT GUEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just cant seem to get away from the Black Swan, recently up North for a bit of pleasure and some business. Again booked Black Swan.....what can I say, I would not usually stay at the same place more than once, as I am a born traveller and love to explore. Black Swan is an older establishment, extremely well looked after, very clean and most of all friendly and safe. This is the only place where I always come back to. I guess its the position on Swansea fringe, easy walking, love the Clubs and Pubs, feel safe, the general atmosphere especially sitting out the back, and watching the locals in their boats, the fishos, the surf lifesavers practicing there rowing, and evenings the quiet with the only sounds are the fish jumping, its to me like another world, relaxed, I enjoy my beer, at the end of my day, I sit out there, have a quiet beer, and take it all in. My hosts are fabulous, always checking, wanting to be of assistance, so friendly. Highly recommend, and of course ' I'll Be Back'

Room Tip: If possible get the water view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxieOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Owner at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Glad to hear that you returned home safely. As with many of our regular customers once again it was our pleasure to have you as a guest. It is always good to hear when people enjoy a stay and use the facilities of the waterfront. Guests with your well manners, kindness and courtesy not only to us, staff but other guests will always be welcome - look forward to meeting again - travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
20
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lithgow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Have always found this venue to be clean, quiet and friendly. The location is great - public transport at the door, Coles and specialty shops a cross the road, lake at the back door and beach 2 min drive away (or walk if you like). The rooms are clean and even with its convenient location its very quiet. The staff are really helpful recommending places to eat and things to do. I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Owner at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thankyou Lorraine for your kind words - it is a pleasure to have guests such as yourself stay with us - hope you have a great 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woollongong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good location, price good but lots of buts...service was appalling. The older lady was so rude, couldn't even crack a smile, made me feel so uncomfortable like we were a bother being there. Seriously, if she is that miserable she shouldn't be in the accommodation industry where talking to people is required. We heard her speaking to other guests about noise level like they were disobedient children. The rooms are extremely outdated. The bedding was sticky, felt like it hadn't been washed for months. The rooms smelled damp and was difficult to air out as it was very hot and humid. The furniture is so outdated with old chipboard/laminate or malemine furniture and the colour scheme ridiculously off putting. We stayed two nights and tried to stay away as much as possible. If the hospitality was better it would have made the experience less painfull. As a whole I would never stay here again although it is in a good spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandS_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Owner at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I believe that you have posted this report to the wrong property as none of your comments re: staff, property discription, events ring true and there is no record of your stay - surely if a property was so bad one would not stay one night let alone two - please check your receipt of purchase for where ever you did stay or is it the fact that you may have been refused entry to this property and a using Tripadvisor as a b grade tool to vent - wotif and booking.com show more accurate reporting as these sites do require proof of purchase to publish a report.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

You shouild act like responsible adults. My husband and I have been staying at the mpotel twice a year for the past 12 years. The proprietors are lovely people, will do amnything for you at any time. The rooms are always spotless and contain everything you need. I wopu;ld reccomend this motel to anyone who is passing through Swansea.
Gwen and Bill

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen and Bill U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Owner at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thankyou for your kind words - it is a pleasure to have guests such as yourself stay at our business may guests we look forward to seeing again - people with the good manners and courtesy you show makes it easy to work in this industry - hope 2013 is kind to both of you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to the Black Swan Waterfront Motel for approx. 8years now and we stay for about 4-5 days. We have NEVER had anything but GREAT SERVICE, nothing is too small to ask of any staff member. They are always very friendley and helpful and the Motel is aways spotless, what more can you want. We will be back there this November (2012) and looking forward to our time at the Black Swan Motel.

Lorraine & Ray from Victoria

Room Tip: When booking this motel ask the friendley staff for a room on the waters edge. The views are just wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thankyou for booking again and your lovely comments - sadly people who are refused entry and have not stayed at our property are able to write reports - look forward to meeting you again and have a sage trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I laughed when I read others have found the staff to be rude here too. Simple transactions seem to result in being talked over, informed you're English isnt' good enough (I'm a native English speaker), rediculed (implying I am stupid) and treated considerably poorly (talking over me, not listening, arguementative). Having stayed in numerous motels, I've never come across such behaviour in the motel industry!
As other comments indicate, there are lots of other accom options in this area, and it's a beautiful area. Seek elsewhere if you want to relax!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Customer255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Glad to hear the the mcfarlane eagle landed safely back in Armidale. Sad when a person uses the facilities of a property such as early checkin, waterfront, jetty, free inhouse movies, fee wifi and becomes upset and abusive to staff when they do not have the funds to pay their account. Thankfully a third party paid your account and you were able to checkout it was unfortunate that on doing so you became abusive and racial to staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the BlackSwan Waterfront Motel on Saturday Oct 2012. Until we were rudely woken after midnight by the neighbouring room. There seem to be several drunk people and when the Manager came out to request the people who were not staying at the motel leave they became very loud and aggresive. The management stayed until these people left and the police arrived then all became quiet again and we were able to return to bed. The motel is older but very well maintained and is set on a lovely bay that is from the ocean-we found the staff very helpful and were sad that they had to deal with such people as the ones in the rooms nearby to us but glad that they stopped the party-some people should not stay with the public and just go home after weddings...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Once again I apologise for the rude and offencive people that disturbed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your kind words - we do try to screen who stays at the motel as being a smaller B & B guest usually enjoy the peace and quite of the area - thankfully there is a "Guests Behaving Badly" site that these types can be named and shamed on. I do hope that if you are in this area again you will still enjoy a peaceful night with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.4 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
6.8 mi away
Bay Hotel Motel
Bay Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Morisset
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aquarius Motel Belmont
Aquarius Motel Belmont
#3 of 5 in Belmont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caves Beachside Hotel
Caves Beachside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caves Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Raffertys Resort
Raffertys Resort
#1 of 1 in Cams Wharf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Waterfront Motel

Property: Black Swan Waterfront Motel
Address: 137 Bowman St, Swansea, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Swan Waterfront Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute water frontage in the heart of Swansea. Walking distance to all facilities in Swansea/Caves Beach. Jetty for guests use. All ground floor units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Black Swan Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing