We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calm Waters Holiday Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Sussex Inlet Motel(Sussex Inlet)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Bay n Basin Lodge(Sanctuary Point)(Great Value!)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Shores(Vincentia)(Great Value!)
$97
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jervis Bay Motel(Huskisson)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allure on Ocean Motel(Mollymook)(Great Value!)
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golf View Motel(Sanctuary Point)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
2
3
2
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
3
2
5
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 17 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

After reading the other reviews we were hesitant about staying at Calm Waters but a phone call from the manager changed our minds as they explained that they have just taken over the site and they gave a good price to stay there. We were also on a budget and had our dog with us as a lot of places don't allow pets. They also asked us to let them know of any issues we found.

We stayed in cabin number 5 which has a little kennel for dogs and has an enclosed veranda although We didn't use the kennel. It was nice and quiet we were the only ones on site so it was nice although it is winter as well! The cabin was clean but there were a few spots of mould in the bathroom but only a little bit on one wall and on the net curtain in there but as it is winter properties get damp and unless they are in use regularly it's to be expected.

The aircon heated up the living room fairly well but the bedrooms got rather cold at night so make sure to wrap up warm if you go during the winter months.

The site could do with being updated and the hire boat looks like it has seen better days and probably won't be going anywhere anytime soon. There is a 4 burner gas BBQ now on site which we used several times. We also thought it was quite dark on the site at night so maybe bring a torch.

We enjoyed seeing the Kangaroos close to the site as we saw one close to the cinema and also around the residential areas. They is also a play area for children close to the site which our son loved.

We do plan to revisit the site again in the future and look forward to what changes the new management make

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank juliemarkvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very disappointed with the condition of our cabin. Broken lights, Bbq not working, two broken doors, rags for curtains, stained bed covers, stale mouldy smell, etc. Should of paid attention to previous review. Way overpriced compared to other properties close by. Location to clubs, shops, water
and having air cond. is all your paying for. Definitely wont be going back.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

$1000 down the drain .This place is terrible, it was filthy dirty, old and shabby (nothing like the photos on web site) and to top it all the place have fleas, yes fleas. We rang to complain as soon as we got there and we were promised a refund which we are still waiting for even after more promises they would return our money. This place should be taken off the internet so more people do not lose their money

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petethelorrikeet, Manager at Calm Waters Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

This property is under new Management (since 2013) and has had extensive work done since the old owners left. We encourage you to check more current reviews on the Weekenda Website

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two weeks in February 2012. We found our cottage a little small but sufficient to meet our needs. We were able to enjoy one of the most scenic views one could find and the wlidlife that frequented the area.
The location has ample parking for cars and boats and is a short walk to the shops and clubs.
We found the owner/manager very helpful addressing minor issues such as providing a full gas bottle for a BBQ etc when required. It was interesting to note that at the time of our stay there people from as far away as Western Australia and the United States there also.

Room Tip: Pick one close to the water
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I am motivated to write a review to counter the negative, first review from someone who didn't even visit the property. I agree with everything the second reviewer has written. We visited in May '12, my wife, myself and two small dogs. While the cabins are 1940's cottages, they lack nothing for modern convenience. The reverse cycle heating came in handy with the first real cold snap of the year. The cold and wind hampered beach and water activities somewhat but the long riverside and beach walks were lovely and I could still throw a line out from the cottages wharf. They have moorings if you like to bring your boat and leave it in the water for your stay. Also plenty of boat and trailer parking on site. There is a pontoon boat available for hire as well.
You can truely drive in and not get back in your car for the rest of your stay. Three clubs and a pub in walking distance. The Sports Club is 2 doors away and the restaurant is recommended (new management). Fishing out front. Hire boats about 75 meters away. A 5 min drive for a surf. Also, check out the Ocean & Earth factory outlet at 12(?) The Springs Rd, Sussex Inlet for great discounts in surf and snow aparrel.
The Owner left some lovely touches, including a bottle of wine and sweets, to make you feel welcome. We will return and recommend the cottages highly. I think it is a great location for a group of families to book a few cottages. Plenty of room, a lovely river outlook and if you have little 4 legged or 2 legged ones with you - the river frontage is well fenced.

Room Tip: Cottages 1 - 4 are close to the water, river facing. Cottage 5 is set back (maybe 25 mtrs) but still has river views - It also has a fenced-off dog run.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deemacvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews