We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
James' Hunter Valley Wine and Vineyard Tours
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Singleton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: James' Vineyard Tours operate small wine tours in our 12 seat minibuses within the Lower Hunter Valley area visiting the smaller hidden away boutique vineyards. We also stop for chocolate, cheese and olive oil tastings. Also available are private tours in our 4WD Land Cruiser allowing passengers to plan the day and timings as they wish or our dedicated driver/guide can arrange all or part of the day for you. Pickups available from Pokolbin, Lovedale, Branxton, Cessnock, Singleton and Broke.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've been on a wine tasting tour with James' tours twice now and I would do it every day if I could! A great way to experience the Hunter Valley. James and Adrienne both make you feel at home and are very friendly and knowledgeable. James has a great rapport with all of the winery staff and they almost always offer a large selection of wines to taste with an attentiveness which you just wouldn't get visiting a cellar door on your own. Plus the small, boutique wineries you visit really make you feel like you're taking some special and unique purchases home with you. James knows some real hidden gems.
I plan to go back to the Hunter Valley again and again and I will always book a tour with James' tours. It's just one of the most fun and interesting days out you can get!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    19
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best way to explore the Hunter Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

If visiting the Hunter Valley for the first (and probably second, third, etc.) time I would highly recommend booking a wine tour with James. He is extremely knowledgable about wines in general and the Hunter Valley wines and wineries in particular. He picked us up exactly on time and escorted us through a most interesting exploration of five excellent boutique wineries in the area. All were different which provided an excellent insight into Hunter Valley wines and wineries. The tasting were all very well organized and included sampling many wines that would not be included in a "drop in on your own" tasting. At a number of the wineries they also brought out some of their "special bottlings" which I am certain was a result of the special relationship that James has with the various owners and hosts. The chocolate and cheese tastings were pretty much non events but not to worry because the main reason to go with James is to visit excellent boutique wineries and sample their wines. At Lucy's Run it was a treat to meet John, listen to his stories and taste both his wines and olive oils. At the end of the day James was quite apologetic because he got us home a little late. From my side I could not have been happier because we may have missed out on some terrific wines. If I return to the area I would definitely spend another day with James.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederick28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Right from booking James provided exceptional service. Pick up was right on time and the wineries visited showcased the range available in the Hunter (from the luxurious Leogate through to Lucy's Run a shed in a paddock). James knew all the staff and was very knowledgeable... he also carefully stored our wines which saved time at the end of the tour. Lunch at Blaxlands was tasty and good value. The only negative was the Cheese shop where we felt a bit uncomfortable behind the counter and then they had sold out of most cheeses.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Underthesea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussiejim28, Owner at James' Hunter Valley Wine and Vineyard Tours, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and review.
We are concerned about your opinions regarding the cheese tastings and will be looking at changing and improving this expereince.
Kind Regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

James Vine Yard Tours organized a private tour for our group of nine. It was excellent value taking us to 6 cellar doors and even found time for a tasty lunch that our guide Adrienne pre-booked ready for arrival at pub with an excellent deck. This saved us time to visit the smelly cheese shop and chocolate factory. The whole day was excellent, our guide was polite knowledgeable and friendly, going out of her way to help us and providing us options to taylor make our experience. A strong recommendation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank richysmith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were a group of 10 family and friends, and were taken out for our day with the very lovely Leanne. Leanne was keen to combine her local knowledge and our wishes to make for an enjoyable day. We never felt rushed or stressed even when we were running behing schedule! We would definintely recommend this tour company for anyone wanting to explore the Hunter, have a few drinks and be chauffeured around to some of the best Vineyards, Cellar doors and local attractions in the Valley!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kazandloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James' Hunter Valley Wine and Vineyard Tours also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to James' Hunter Valley Wine and Vineyard Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing