We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable day with a knowledgable host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of James' Hunter Valley Wine and Vineyard Tours

James' Hunter Valley Wine and Vineyard Tours
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Singleton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: James' Vineyard Tours operate small wine tours in our 12 seat minibuses within the Lower Hunter Valley area visiting the smaller hidden away boutique vineyards. We also stop for chocolate, cheese and olive oil tastings. Also available are private tours in our 4WD Land Cruiser allowing passengers to plan the day and timings as they wish or our dedicated driver/guide can arrange all or part of the day for you. Pickups available from Pokolbin, Lovedale, Branxton, Cessnock, Singleton and Broke.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day with a knowledgable host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our day with James and fellow tour-goers. Found this good value for money and not too structured. As we were the first pick up and last drop off, we had a very good chat with James who is very familiar with the area and had lots of stories to tell. I also appreciated that he sought our feedback on what we had enjoyed (and what we didn't) that day, and was genuinely interested in our response and suggestions.
On this particular day, we visited Ernest Hill, Leo Gate, Irongate and Wynyard... although the itinerary does change regularly with approximately 24 wineries available to visit on this tour. If you have visited the Hunter in the past, I recommend mentioning this when booking so he can ensure you don't duplicate wineries.
Our trip had 12 people (max group 13) but was still a fairly personal experience and we weren't too squished either! Pick ups were right on time.
I would definitely use this tour again if in the Hunter Valley.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwimeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    19
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I recently did a tour in Hunter Valley with another tour company and was so disappointed I thought I would write about the tour I did with James VineyardTours last year which was excellent.

I did the tour as part of a group of 6 women and had a fabulous time with Adrien our host.

Nothing was a bother and it was a very relaxing and informative day.

All of our visits were organised in advance and there was no queueing or waiting at any of the venues - even at some of the more popular ones.
Lunch at Blaxland's was ordered while we were out tasting so it was ready for us when we arrived to eat.

We visited a variety of wineries as well as olive, cheese, chocolate and fudge tastings. A great day overall.

i would recommend this tour to everyone.

Cheers!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sk2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fab day in the Hunter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We both like a bit of a drink so thought it worth booking a wine tour for the day. Adrian picked us up right on time and away we went. It was a fantastic day, we were with a really fun bunch of people, went to some fab wineries & had a terrific time. Thanks Adrian for a great day!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank csm941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I had an excellent day on this tour! It was so fun we met some great people and came home with lots of great wine. Would recommend this to anyone!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashy_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“James is awesome and the tour was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We booked this tour after reading the reviews since there are so many competitors out there, James was super helpful in keeping in touch and giving us all the infos via email . picked us up from our hotel and made the tour funny and interesting, great value for money and excellent for few glasses of wine and a good laugh! Cheers! :)

Helpful?
1 Thank trustmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James' Hunter Valley Wine and Vineyard Tours also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to James' Hunter Valley Wine and Vineyard Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing