We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable night's accommodation”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Singleton
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Comfortable night's accommodation”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here on business in October 2013 for 1 night. I had passed this place plenty of times over the years and when I chose to stay in Singleton for the night to break up a trip from Sydney to Tamworth, it was Francis Phillip Motor Inn that came to mind.
The rooms are very spacious, if somewhat sparsely decorated. In saying that, everything was clean, neat and tidy. So, from that perspective, there's not much else that you want for an overnight stay for business really.
I quite liked the touch of a recliner rocker to sit and watch the TV - not that I'm much of a TV person, but it was a more comfortable option than your typical, hard cushioned motel sofa.
Breakfast in the morning was served in the main dining room - the usual selection of continental or hot breakfast options, except that hot was "fresh" hot and made to order. It was a nice alternative to the usual hot breakfast option that has been laying around in a bain-marie.
The road noise from the New England Highway can be a little constant if you are a light sleeper, even through the night. I noticed it a little, but I couldn't say it disturbed me - it was more like I noticed it if I woke in the night, rather than it being the cause of me waking up.
I quite liked the cover car park - it is a massive sail spanning the two motel buildings. It helped to keep the heat out of the rooms, and the car as well.
All in all, a pleasant, comfortable place to stay in Singleton.

Room Tip: The scrambled eggs are great - a layered, almost omelette style. Yum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
5
14
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
405 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I was booked in by a business colleague, I did notice many other motels were fully booked that night.
Yes there was a site office in place of the usual reception but the lady and cat were friendly and prompt to get me signed in in.
The room was spacious, clean and warm.
Large spa and a separate toilet shower room with a great shower head!
The highway nearby didn't generate too much noise, more of a distant constant rumble. Double glazing is a nice touch.
If in Singleton again on business and looking for a bed I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
977 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Good reviews on Tripadvisor led me to choose this motel. If circumstances had been normal at the motel I expect I'd be giving it a positive review. The rooms are spacious, the heating works well (important in this region in winter), and the resident cat is chummy. However, unfortunately for the owners/management, there had been a serious fire at the place, and the way in which the proprietors were handling this matter left a bad taste in my mouth. There should have been full disclosure before I booked that there was noisy reconstruction work underway. But I was told nothing about this when I phoned to enquire about accommodation, and I saw nothing about it online when I was checking details. Nor was there any offer of lowered rates during the reconstruction period.
I was in Singleton for a family celebration and booked a room for overnight. Relatives booked another room. The motel's office was in an antiquated caravan, and the whole front reception/admin structure appeared to be affected by reconstructive work, with workers' vehicles and machinery on site on Saturday afternoon. We were not informed that there would be any more work happening over the weekend. However, on Sunday morning we were woken by extremely loud construction noise. Large quantities of masonry and tiles were being removed and transferred into a skip. Whether the proprietors had council permission to carry out this work on a Sunday I don't know.
When I went to check out, I was told that the workers had turned up to start at 6 am and had been persuaded to wait until a little later. I was also told that had I wanted breakfast I would have been offered it for free by way of compensation. However since I had not wanted breakfast ...
When my relatives checked out they were given the same story.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alys-Schatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed in $169 Standard room with Double Bed (should be Queen really), but has nice pillows! Although on the main highway the rooms have double glazed windows, thus the truck noise is dulled out. Room is a good size. Internet is $15 extra. Free newspapers is good. Just single but comfortable lounge chairs to watch 32" LCD TV, but no foxtel in my room. Shower has water saver head and hot water flow restrictor, thus on a cold winter morning.....and no soap - just dispensers. Restaurant had a simple menu and food was great.

Room Tip: Perhaps they have better rooms than standard? Also ground floor if you need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had no plans to stay in Singleton - but glad I did as the Francis Phillip Motor Inn provided me with a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

The rooms are huge - very clean - modern and comfortable. I had a double bed and I think a room of this size should have a queen - but a good rest regardless.

The restaurant is just lovely and the food is very nice for a "motor inn" grade acomodation. The ladies at the front desk and the restaurant/bar were very friendly and the fod was just right.

Other reviews say there was road noise - I did not notice this as a problem. I stayed at the Motor Inn - not the apartments.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed in The Lodge Apartments
Very Quiet
Excellent decor
Very comfortable bed
Large shower with plenty of amenities
Good restaurant

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millers Point
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Ordered twin room didn't get light globe out no intenet lucky just needed a bed

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sekip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singleton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singleton
0.2 mi away
Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton
17.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
9.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mid City Motor Inn
Mid City Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Singleton
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Country Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Singleton
46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Singleton
Quest Singleton
#1 of 4 in Singleton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments

Property: Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments
Address: 18 New England Hwy, Singleton, New South Wales 2330, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Singleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Singleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing