We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Beach but not a Kangaroo in Sight!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pebbly Beach

Pebbly Beach
Ranked #9 of 98 things to do in Shoalhaven
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
UK
Level Contributor
303 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Grand Beach but not a Kangaroo in Sight!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had been given the 'inside track' on this attraction - Kangaroos galore. Unfortunately having taken the trouble to divert off the main drag there was not a kangaroo in sight. Just our luck and it was mid-morning. I guess best to visit coming up to dusk.

It is another fantastic beach but given the glorious sand (see photographs) I cannot understand the name!!

There are nice little walks in the area also.

The parking charge at $7 is perhaps a shade on the high side.

Oh, and by the way, best to use the paved road off the highway. It is the road to the south and closest to Batemans Bay. The other road on the northern side is a gravel road.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CDinNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    27
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice walk from Merry Beach, approx 20 minutes, need to be mobile as you have to climb some rocks in a few places. Great fishing spots on the way.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spa50Spa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Is a nice little beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Clear water and a great view... although almost every other beach around has pretty good views as well and has less tourists visiting the park.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rodrigoelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot. Terrible Accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were staying close by in Durras Nth and decided to explore the nearby surrounds. We were amazed at how beautiful the entire area is and then we stumbled upon Pebbly Beach. The beach and camping site are beautiful. Then we met the nasty owners o the cabin areas. There is very little information about renting sites there and the very small store was closed. We took a wrong turn into a small private road and before you knew it we were being abused about being on a private rd. we eventually found out these were the owners and instead of recommending a spot to turn around she insisted we were wrong in turning in. She reluctantly gave us a brochure with their prices $1600 + for for nights in peak and here is the kicker there is no powered site or cabins. Not worth a second look in my opinion. Attitude is everything and the owners seem to think its rude to expect a smile on arrival. If its kangaroos, pristine beaches and camp site with power and cabins go a few more km's to Depot Beach. Very disappointed. -5 stars.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank aaronhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pebbly Beach Holiday Cabins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Pebbly Beach Holiday Cabins offer about the most remote cabin experience in driving distance from Sydney. We took the train to North Wollongong, rented a car at Thrifty Car Rental from manager Bill (exceptional human being). Drove the other 3 hrs...

Yvonne and Stuart McFarlane are the hosts, and this is their website: http://www.pebblybeach.com.au/.

Only ten cabins, plus theirs and another one (caretaker) and that's it... and then the two mobs of kangaroos, goanna lizards, birds, possums and serene beach/forest valley like a scene from a dream.

One word: EPIC. Epic people, epic place they run, epic critters, and from my VERY limited kangaroo knowledge/experience, some pretty tame and lovable creatures. Check out our movie, too, on youtube, simply called "Pebbly Beach, Australia". A lovely place and the cabins are so clean, so well-maintained, comfy, great views, was only 125/night, and a magical location that I truly hope to return to one day. The McFarlanes are OUTSTANDING. Cheers, Yvonne and Stuart.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank travels808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pebbly Beach also viewed

New South Wales, Australia
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 
Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Pebbly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing