We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coolangatta Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coolangatta Estate
Bomaderry
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in the Convicts Cottage while attending a wedding at Coolangatta Estate.

The Cottage is lovely with a separate bedroom with brass four poster bed and excellent linen. The bathroom has a double shower and was very clean.

We saw a few of the other rooms as we had family staying as well and they all looked very nice and there were no complaints from our group.

The grounds are very pretty and perfect for a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monkeywhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    42
    17
    13
See reviews for
25
80
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at Coolangatta Estate over the Easter weekend. This Estate is really very beautiful, interesting and relaxing. Coolangatta Estate is a well located on the South Coast in the northern gateway to the Shoalhaven region. It is a both a fascinating heritage estate and well established high class winery. The property is a refurbished 1800s first settler and convict built village. The history of this place is fascinating. Be sure to grab one of the Coolangatta booklets from reception and read all about the history of this settlement and its pioneering people. I would imagine the buildings are not easy to maintain given their age and history, however, it is great to see so much of the original architecture retained. It was great to be able to get a sense of what the village was once like. Taking the opportunity to experience staying in the restored buildings which are now functioning as the estate accommodation is worthwhile. The pioneer architecture of these buildings is delightful. I wandered around the property as the sun was dropping in the afternoon. The combination of afternoon light in the clean country air, with the heritage architecture and winery and garden backdrops provided some wonderful photographs. The Estate also sits at the base of Coolangatta Mountain which is completely natural vegetation and provides a lovely scenic outlook towards the coastline, and the Shoalhaven River.
There’s lots of great things to do at the Estate and nearby. Some of the things I did were:
- Visited the estate cellar door for a wine tasting
- Took advantage of the picnic food offerings, with a bottle of Coolangatta Estate wine, and found a lovely picnic spot on the estate grounds where I could and soak up the atmosphere
- Visited beautiful 7mile beach at Shoalhaven Heads – a beach with National Park along almost its full length
- A nice 10 minute drive through rolling green paddocks to the lovely township of Berry
- Watched some talented golfers on the Estate golf course
- Played some table tennis and pool in the Estate games room
- Laid on a sunchair by the swimming pool to read my book. There’s also a self catering bbq area by the pool.
- Enjoyed the yummy buffet breakfast in the dining hall

My accommodation was in the Servants Quarters – a lovely refurbished space, which retains some heritage features, including fab high ceilings, and original alcoves. It was spacious, light and comfortable, having a separate bedroom and living area, flat screen tv and couches. There is also a small private outdoor garden area – lovely to sit back and read with a glass of the estate wine while the sun was setting.

I can highly recommend this property for a taste of real Australian heritage coupled with a high class winery, and enjoyable relaxing surrounds.

Room Tip: Choose a different room each time you go, to get the full experience of the heritage buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEB0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,410 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 599 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at Coolangatta for a friends wedding and found it to be a great spot. The wife had a wine tasteing in the Cellar during the afternoon and the staff were extremely friendly. The Estate is a blend of Winery, B & B , Restaurant and Function Centre and offers tours during the season . For an extended stay there is a pool , 9 hole golf couse , tennis court , croquet , bush walks and the beach just over the road ! The rooms are in a variety of styles but all in refurbished rooms in original outbuildings. The Estate was originally dairy farm with horse agistment and had the first grapes grown back in the mid 1800's. The place is steeped in History , the Reception was very good , the breakfast awesome , and the whole package works for me ! Will be back in Sept for the nephew and keen to stay again !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, 4 days. Found out the restaurant only open Wednesday night for snacks, and then Thursday to Sunday for expensive dinner NO breakfast available in house. Rooms very shabby and basic I would not consider going back in a hurry

Room Tip: I cottage we stayed in was small, poorly serviced, no microwave to ccok the breakfast we had to brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shoalhaven hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel/b&b is located in lovely surroundings. The views are nice. The room we stayed in was ok, but not something I would go back to. It was quite dirty in general. Lots of cockroaches, spiders and mosquitos which you don't like to have in your room. The windows didn't close and didn't have fly screens, which could explain the insect habitat inside.

We also had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Dinner was a 2 out of 5 as well, service was very poor and the two waitresses seemed to be very confused and stressed, despite the restaurant being almost empty (which should have been a warning sign, especially during Easter Long weekend). The food wasn't good and expensive, $150 for two ppl.

The breakfast buffet was really good. Lots of stuff to pick from. It was a nice ending to our stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mi0soer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in Lodge 33 at The Coolangatta Estate. Some of the people in our group had excellent accommodation, as their lodgings had been refurbished, unfortunately our's was not.
The pluses:
1:Very comfortable bed
2:Secluded accommodation
3:Pleasing setting

The minuses :
1: Poorly cleaned and maintained Suite, when we arrived there were Mosquitoes in the rooms, they entered via the torn flywire screens. There were cobwebs in nearly every corner of the suite, these were not removed during our stay. There were bits and pieces in the drawers in the ensuite, including tablets, left by previous occupants.
2: Reception area staff were unhelpful and unprofessional, particularly the older woman
3: The filter coffee maker was encrusted with old coffee grounds, when I pointed this out to the cleaner, she just shrugged her shoulders.
4:There were food stains on two cushions, I reported this to Reception, the cushions were removed, but not replaced.
5: The 5 minute walk from the Lodge to the Restaurant was hazardous, because it is ill-lit. We purchased a torch on the second day and that was a necessity.
6: The pillows were dreadful.
7: The lighting in our lounge / dining room was so inadequate , we couldn't read at night.
8: The Refrigerator door was badly rusted.

We recommend a visit to the nearby town of Berry for breakfast and / or lunch at The Deli Café, this is a gem, very well run, delightful staff, delicious fresh food and excellent coffee.

Room Tip: Because of the location, The Coolangatta Estate is a good place to stay, but if you do, I suggest yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We attended a family wedding on site and stayed overnight in a suite situated in one of the more "modern" buildings. The grounds, grapevines and historic buildings at Coolangatta Estate are charming. The wine was enjoyable. Handy hint: BYO mossie repellant if you spend any time outdoors here.The bed in our suite was very comfortable, sheets and towels very clean and of good quality.

BUT...$250/night accommodation incl buffet breakfast and rat droppings on the bathroom floor. You have to be kidding!! Management has to have a really serious look at the accommodation standards. Our room smelt REVOLTING and looked v e r y tired. I can overlook outdated decor but there is no excuse for accommodation that smells like this. It needs a thorough spring clean but demolition would be better. We were not the only guests to feel the same way. I did not wish to complain to management as I didn't want to ruin the weekend for my family members.

Our air con did not work, nor did the air con in several other units. I opened the glass sliding doors on either side of our suite in the morning to get a cool breeze through and all I got was the smell of sewer or septic to mix with the ambient stench already in our suite.

You cannnot compete with other accommodation and wedding venues by serving this up!!!

Room Tip: Don't even think of staying in accommodation there. Keep driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoalhaven
10.0 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
6.1 mi away
Broughton Mill Farm Guesthouse B&B
3.7 mi away
Anchor Bay Motel
Anchor Bay Motel
#1 of 1 in Greenwell Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Culburra Beach Motel
Culburra Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Culburra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
9.4 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bellawongarah at Berry
Bellawongarah at Berry
#1 of 1 in Bellawongarah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolangatta Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolangatta Estate

Property: Coolangatta Estate
Address: 1335 Bolong Road 2535, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 1335, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Shoalhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coolangatta Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coolangatta Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing