We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners. Excellent three course meal for two, with drinks for under ninety dollars.”

Addy's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #6 of 89 Restaurants in Shellharbour
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oztraylya
Level Contributor
263 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“New owners. Excellent three course meal for two, with drinks for under ninety dollars.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The first thing that I have to tell you is that this restaurant has changed hands within the last few weeks and It appears that this is he first review after the change of ownership.

My wife and I had an excellent three course meal (as has always been the case) on the first Sunday in May and it was all that it could be.

We added a focaccia topped with feta, olives and pesto (to share as an entree), to the two course lunch special, making it into a three course meal.

My wife had the pork belly for a main and was more that suitably impressed. I had the flathead in beer batter with hand cut chips, salad and homemade tartare sauce. It was great; I could have eaten the salad all day. We both had the passion fruit, crème brûlée for desert and it was tres yummy.

We had arrived without a booking and in retrospect we shouldn’t have. I noticed a slight hesitation from the staff before they showed us to our seats. It quickly became apparent that they had quite a lot of bookings for lunch and we were glad that they accepted us on short notice. Staff was attentive and our meal was delivered promptly, well presented and of generous proportions; neither of us could eat anymore.

We really should come more often than we have in the past.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TuckerFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    77
    18
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“poor service poor food and overcharging”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went for tea on a friday night for a combined birthday party. booked for 7.00 pm, took until 9.00 pm to even get a menu to the table even after several requests. entree did not appear until 9.30 pm and main meal till about 10.00 pm..
Fillet steaks were tough and under cooked ( all were asked to be medium to well done)
one person could not even eat their meal it was that rare ! and sent it back to the kitchen.
We were not prepared to wait possibly another half hour to get our sweets, so we cancelled them.
We had prepaid for a 3 course meal and only got 2 courses in 3 hours, plus one inedible meal.
No refund or compromise was offered on the meal price!!
When the bill arrived we had been overcharged about $32.00 on the drinks bill, after negotiations the drinks bill was waived, but nothing was offered in the way of compensation for the poor service and meal quality.
If we had not prepaid ($450.00) we would have walked out hours earlier and gone to one of the other restaurants in the area
We will never go back to this restaurant again and will make sure that all our aquaintences know about the appalling service and reccomend that they give it a wide berth.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank kingcheeseAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Menu.. That's about it..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Seafood was not great! I had prawns for entree and gave them straight to my partner.. He had prawns for main also which smelt a little too much for my liking and didn't taste fresh. Pretty disappointing overall, especially considering it is not cheap.. Wouldn't mind paying over $100 for lunch for two people if the food is good. Service was ok but there were things we asked for that the waiter forgot to bring.. Wouldn't really recommend unfortunately.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For a Special Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Nice place to go with friends. The food is good with a wide choice of menu. The wine list is better than most restaurants. Why not have a Penfolds bin 707.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malua Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Took the 2 grandkids. 2 and 4. Staff were accommodating and understanding! Seafood was to die for! The soup taster that was brought out as we sat down was a massive tease for what was to come YUMO! Highly recommend the entree seafood tasting plate. The $59 3 Course Deal is good value with a great selection of entrees, mains and desert. YUMO!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squirrel0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addy's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Shellharbour, New South Wales
Shellharbour, New South Wales
 
Shellharbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Addy's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing