We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The standard never changes.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Sea Restaurant

High Sea Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 89 Restaurants in Shellharbour
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shellharbour
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The standard never changes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant has been around for a long time - but the standard never slips. A really good mix of Chinese and Thai on the menu and they do both well. Good sized meals at a reasonable price and they home deliver as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pelican713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great local choice for Asian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Tried this restaurant last night for the first time, after having been recommended by a local friend. We were impressed with the excellent taste of the food, and have to admit we were a bit surprised as we weren't expecting too much from such a Western-looking restaurant that covers such a broad menu.

The service was excellent, the girl serving us was super friendly and helpful but not too in-your-face.

The Singapore noodles (we requested no chilli) were some of the best we have tried in a long time (compared even to much pricier restaurants in Sydney), and the roast Peking Duck was delicious. The chicken omelette was incredibly tasty - we finished all the plates (3 dishes between 3 adults and a 3yr old) and we were all very well fed.

We are looking forward to coming back again, and are stoked that we have such a delicious restaurant serving food we love, so close to home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anget123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I live alone and eat out quite a lot. I found High Seas to provide a very friendly and prompt service. As a friend of mine once said " when you eat out its all about the food"
The meals at High Seas are just delicious. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Nash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I had picked this place for dinner in hopes of a quick meal before seeing a movie. After 10min of waiting to be seated, in a half empty restaurant, we were sat at an uncomfortable table right between the front door and the front desk area. We felt rather awkward eating with people standing in line right next to our table. The service was slow and inattentive, and after ordering we ended up waiting a fair bit before our meals arrived. The food itself was very good, and despite the poor service, I do recommend ordering take away to give their food a try.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I decided to finally give this restaurant a go, not being great Asian food lovers. Well I wish we had tried it long before this, the ambience is quite basic but the staff were a delight, the food was lovely and the price very reasonable.
There is a large choice of food, Thai, Chinese and Vietnamese, it is licensed and also wine BYO. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to all the locals.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GWJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Sea Restaurant also viewed

Shellharbour, New South Wales
 
Shellharbour, New South Wales
Shellharbour, New South Wales
 

Been to High Sea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing