We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heritage experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belltrees

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belltrees
Ranked #4 of 5 Scone B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Heritage experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

It was possibly the worst weekend to choose a weekend at Belltrees near Scone because of the incredible storms and flash floods. Despite the drought- breaking weather, we loved our weekend on this historic property. We stayed at White Cottage, which is the original building on the 9,000- ha station. It is set under the trees on the banks of the river. We cooked dinner ourselves on arrival although it is possible to have meals prepared. A tour of the homestead and the chapel the next day gave us an insight into pioneering life in rural New South Wales. The cottage was beautifully furnished and was very comfortable. A highlight was feeding the little donkey family in the neighbouring paddock. The only difficulty was the lack of cell phone coverage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Qld
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a lovely stay in one of the cottages at Belltrees Station- Mitchell Cottage. It was comfortably and elegantly furnished, in an idyllic spot next to a river. Dinner was catered on our first night (at our request) - delicious roast beef and potato bake, with poached pears for dessert (we went to a nearby pub on the second night). The complimentary tour of the property was extremely interesting - the Belltrees story is a riveting part of Australian history, and the Homestead is, to say the least, impressive! Our host, Serena White, provided impeccable hospitality - just the right balance of being helpful but not too intrusive. If you are looking for an authentic country experience with a touch of luxury, then I would thoroughly recommend staying at Belltrees. It is useful to know that there is no mobile phone reception as you approach the property and while you are on the property (it cuts out just after you pass the town of Gundy if you are coming from Scone) - we rang to let Serena know we were about to arrive as we were getting close so she was able to give us instructions on which Cottage we were staying in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCAlderley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We cannot really comment on the Cottages because we never got to see them... I booked a group of friends in the cottages here and made arrangements to arrive and pick up the keys etc. To cut a long story short, we arrived and there was no one to be found anywhere. No, notes, signs or anything to direct us to where we were supposed to go. Mobile phones did not work there so were unable to call anyone. After an hour we all left and went to Scone to find a motel. I eventually contacted the host who frankly was the rudest person I'd ever encountered in the hospitality industry. She is certainly in the wrong line of work is all I'll say.

So to sum up, the Belltrees Cottages probably are beautiful, but the organization is a shambles and guest are certainly regarded as an inconvenience, as they apparently keep the hostess away from the polo, as was curtly pointed out to me.

Room Tip: Avoid the place entirely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conakry, Guinea
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

What a great way to spend a interesting relaxing weekend. We stayed in a quaint cozy little cottage in idealic, peaceful surroundings. We arrived Friday evening to a delicious evening meal that we enjoyed in the comfortable and impressive dinning room in the Belltrees Guest House a bonus being we could take our own wine!!!!. Saturday we enjoyed a tour of Coolmore Stud followed by a tour of Belltrees estate and Homestead. Saturday's evening meal was catered for in our cottage. The only thing I would suggest is to take some form of entertainment such as a board game, cards etc. The cottage was clean,warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1307boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scone hotels
1.9 mi away
Scone Motor Inn
Scone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Scone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strathearn Park Lodge
1.2 mi away
Isis Motel Scone
Isis Motel Scone
#2 of 5 in Scone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Airlie House Motor Inn
1.8 mi away
Colonial Motor Lodge
Colonial Motor Lodge
#2 of 3 in Scone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portman House
Portman House
#1 of 4 in Scone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belltrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belltrees

Property: Belltrees
Address: Gundy Road | Upper Hunter Valley, Scone, New South Wales 2337, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Scone
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Scone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing