We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some love and attention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Robertson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Reviewed December 12, 2013

It is such a pity this old building has been left to rot. I have stayed in places a lot older and heaps better maintained. It looks like a cheap b & b in London that you pay half the price to stay. I hope somebody helps this old girl out, it could be an amazing place. The staff are some what friendly, just don't ask for a piece of paper. They keep tabs on the paper and will tell you if you ask for more then one. They also seem worried that you will take their pen. My bed was uncomfortable, could feel every spring, but somebody else I know had a much more comfortable bed. You need the shower on full hot to have a warm temp. Very run down in the rooms, everything looks dirty. Was not keen on the food either, very plain. They should consider lowering the price, can get better in sydney for the price paid.

Room Tip: Try and get the price down, not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nat326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol p, Owner at The Robertson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

I struggle with these types of reviews and have taken time to write this response so I get write it not from the heart but in a commonsense type of view.
Ignorance comes to mind when people do not do do their homework and find out facts before they write their reviews. Also honesty and writing all the facts goes a long way.
For the staff and management of Fountaindale , all their hard work and long hours seems to be dismissed in a moment due to someone writing a review in ignorance Disappointing and disheartening if my initial reaction.
As a team, we have worked hard, bringing a local icon back for the majority of Australians to enjoy for centuries to come, therefore when we hear comments like this one, it is depressing.
I would not like you to have you as friends - enough said!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 187 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

How anyone could dislike this grand old lady is beyond me. From the moment you turn into the drive, it is magical. I was skeptical after reading the reviews and wondered how bad it would be, but I LOVED it. It is very grand indeed. The reception staff are VERY friendly (I guess if you are nice, they will be nice. Have a think about that). Yes the bathrooms are original but wow, what a view from a lovely old fashioned hot shower! The bedrooms were light and airy and very comfortable. The main staircase is breathtaking, and with piped music from the 1930s and 1940s it was pure magic. The function room was lovely too along with the catering. I am coeliac and was catered for extremely well. Would I stay there again? Definitely.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leannepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The best and only good thing I can say about this place is the gardens are gorgeous. Lovely to stroll through and sit a read a book which is exactly what I did to escape the mouldy unpleasant room and unfriendly staff inside the 'grand manor'. I love an old building with original features and its own quirkiness so felt excited to be staying there. Only my excitement was short lived when I was meet with a grunt from the receptionist staff and then left unattended for way too long before being given my room key. Once in my room I could've cried. It was dark and dingy and the bathroom was manky and mouldy but after seeing the share showers reminded myself things can always be worse... Robertson itself is a lovely little town and enjoyed strolling through the lush country side.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ordella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

went there with friends for Christmas in July - it was freezing! no heating unless you asked for it, the open fires were totally inefficient, even when the place was full.
The people, food were great, and the accommodation was fairly basic.

Room Tip: give winter a miss..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My three adult children and their partner went their courtesy of me as a Christmas present. They are all very different and one couple vegetarian - they all loved it. The food was great , the building in its time and the people very friendly . They all went at different times

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ensuite as there are some with shared bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PMD801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

After our amazing dinner at Fountaindale, I had to write a review. We had a table for 4 set up in front on the fire place and enjoyed a set three course meal by the chef. Every meal was beautifully presented and tasted devine. My friend said it was the best beef she ever had. The service was excellent! We will definitely go back.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Geenes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lovely building, lots of aged character, but lets itself down with inadequate attention to detail in several respects. Common areas inside as nice and comfortable for relaxing, as as the grounds at the front. However broader grounds are not that well maintained. Big area to the left upon entry is really not much more than a field, although there is some nice mature growth around. Pool was a mess when we visited, totally unusable, water opaque with algae/slime, grass overgrown - disappointing as it was a warm weekend.

Rooms have a lot of charm, but patchy finishing in some is a minor disappointment in terms of overall appearance. Grout in our bathroom was black from age, but clean. Enamel on sink was chipped and chrome on much of the piping and taps showing significant discoloration. Just visual disappointments but things that detract from the overall image of the place.

Hot water on a Sunday morning took about 5-10 minutes to come through. No room heating only electric blankets!

Dinner was bland but filling, food lacked any special touches in terms of choice, taste and presentation. Good service though.

Wine list is quite poor, just a narrow range of basic Griffith region wines, entry level stuff, nothing special by any means (although there is one Grant Burge sparkly on offer, but $60 - ouch!). Wine is also expensive for what it is: bar prices $25-35 a bottle, retail value equivalents under $10.

Sad range of port for after dinner. Just a half used bottle of Penfolds Club port. No other port to choose from and not even a fresh bottle available on request.

When you sign for your room you have to sign acknowledging a $200 fine (!) for drinking own alcohol onsite (other than in own room, although people were allowed to drink free wine on arrival outside on request). A bit off-putting on arrival, although in fairness it is also mentioned in initial booking paperwork. Better wine list and prices or BYO option would help make for a more enjoyable stay. Service was efficient and pleasant.

Overall a charming only building let down by lack of attention to the above issues. On a package deal it's fair value but if paying normal rates and then for dinner on top, I'd be disappointed in terms of value for money.

This place has the potential to really shine if the above issues are addressed - I wish the owners well in bringing the place up to the yesteryear glory potential that's definitely there!!

Room Tip: Get one with its own bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GizmothecatCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
15.2 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
997 reviews
14.5 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
13.2 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
15.9 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
759 reviews
13.4 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Golf & Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robertson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robertson Hotel

Address: 4575 Illawarra Hwy | Conner of Illawarra Highway, Robertson, New South Wales, Australia (Formerly Fountaindale Grand Manor)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Price Range: $133 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Robertson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Robertson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountaindale Grand Manor Hotel Robertson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing