We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, rude, and very unhelpful staff...... Never again!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Lifestyle Birubi Beach
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting, rude, and very unhelpful staff...... Never again!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was so disappointed to see how rude staff can treat their guests. The owners would drink, smoke, and party around the kids pool. Broken beer bottles everywhere in the caravan park, cabins felt like they were falling apart, hundreds of kids driving scooters on the road from 6am - 2am everyday, and constantly worrying about running a child over while driving. I have visited this place twice and in both occasions had a horrible stay, thought after two years they would have changed but i was wrong, in fact they were worse this time round. It seemed like most of the guests were family of the owners which were the only people who had a good time. NEVER EVER again would i go or take my children and family to such filth. Everybody in Sydney would be notified of the horror holiday from hell this place is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessicagale103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We camped in the unpowered camping section and it was very quiet. The staff were very friendly and courteous. There is nice open space around the camp ground. Its close to the beach. The price is very reasonable. The amenities were clean - just make sure you take your 20c for the hot shower. They even let us leave our camper locked there the following day while we did a tour. A++.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was a beautiful place to stay the cabins were very nice and comfortable..the staff were very nice and helpful..my friend and i had a great time on our short 3 night stay that felt like over a week..we will definatley be returning in the future.. :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here during a 4wd trip on Stockton Beach and shared in 2 standard cabins with 5 guys. The houses were conveniently close to the beach and bar, they were clean, new and practical. The bunkbeds must have been no more than 1.90, too short for us, but fine for kids.
All facilities, kitchen, pool and bathrooms were clean and nearby.
Would probably not stay for long time, but will most certainly come back for short break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcelinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulf islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We came across this Property after spending the day on this beautiful beach, thought we may have to go town. The reception was closed and we rang the bell, the fellow came downstairs, said sure we can look after you, we were settled in our cozy cabin within minutes. Nice looking pool, not to busy there that night, met some nice people at the BBQ...screened area for cooking, some big bugs around too:) we just stayed one quick night, was perfect for us!

Room Tip: Cabins close to trail by beach were the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have been visiting Birubi April and September school holidays for four years now. Cannot fault the place. We stay in an Ensuite powered site with our caravan. The ensuite couldn't be cleaner, nor the 10M x 10M site, The guys get in there and mow and clean up between nearly every person camping. All staff are extremely friendly. The pool, is lovely, a play area for the kids, table tennis, and putt putt golf. A short stroll to the beach and sand dunes, The huge BBQ/camp kitchen area is so clean (with television and fireplace - always lit on a cold night) Saturday night when Newcastle is playing is a great night as everyone watches the game in the camp kitchen. Public toilets and showers are spotless. There is never a drop of water on the vanities. Easy to use laundry is spotless. Everyone is very mindful of the kids riding and playing around and drive very slowly. My in-laws come and stay a couple of nights in one of the two bedroom cabins while we are there. They are spotless with everything needed. Towels, sheets, pillows, kitchen set up for four, etc. Bathroom, double bed in one room and bunks in the other. Overall we cannot speak highly enough of the staff and amenities and park.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are great and central, a couple are near the road and you would probably get the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie333Lithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

My wide and I arrived, tired from our long drive. The next morning we were awoken by a large van starting up right next to us. There is less than a meter gap between the car in the next space and your wall. This happened twice and when asking the management to please ask them to move the car I was told "well it's not like they are doing anything wrong, so I can't do anything."

The following day a large family of Chinese people stayed right next to us and it was constant noise from 7am until 10pm at night. Not only were there people talking loudly, yelling out , kids skating around your front door but there were lawn mowers, loud staff emptying the bin at 8am in the morning calling out to other staff across the park (right outside your door), leaf blowers, kids, four wheel drives, motorbikes....

The showers didn't work 3 times and we were met with apathy by staff every single time. There was no soap in the public toilet block for the last 3 days....I mentioned this once to staff and was met with a very short, curt, impatient "Jesus, alright, we'll get onto it!"

A terrible place and would never stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul1969002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Stephens hotels
1.9 mi away
Bays Holiday Park
Bays Holiday Park
#6 of 8 in Anna Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.1 mi away
Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA
2.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays One Mile Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
#6 of 32 in Port Stephens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
6.7 mi away
Halifax Holiday Park
Halifax Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Fingal Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lifestyle Birubi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lifestyle Birubi Beach

Property: Gateway Lifestyle Birubi Beach
Address: 37 James Paterson St, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia (Formerly Birubi Beach Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gateway Lifestyle Birubi Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lifestyle Birubi Beach is located at Anna Bay in the beautiful Port Stephens region on the North Coast of New South Wales. Set on 14 acres of landscaped grounds the park overlooks beautiful Birubi Beach, a favourite amongst local surfers and fishermen and fully patrolled by the local Birubi Point SLSC. Gateway to the largest sand dunes in the Southern Hemisphere, swap your surfboard for a sandboard or tour the magnificence of this natural attraction by camel or quad bike. And with a variety of dolphins making daily appearances in the bay and visiting humpback whales showing off their babies during their annual migration we've got your holiday covered on land and at sea. Only 2 1/2 hours drive north of Sydney, 40 minutes North of Newcastle and just 10 minutes south of Nelson Bay, Gateway Lifestyle Birubi Beach offers a diverse range of accommodation for your next beach holiday. Gateway Lifestyle Holiday Parks are dedicated to providing you with the best holidays possible and wish to advise some locations are undergoing development as we continue to improve our parks. You may experience some noise during your stay, for further details, please contact our friendly park managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway Lifestyle Birubi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Lifestyle Birubi Beach South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing