We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left feeling unclean”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Stephens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horizons Golf Resort
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Port Stephens
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here recently for a wedding, so I was really lucky to see more than just the rooms at the resort. The golf course was stunning, staff were nice and the venue (which was held at the golf course) was beautiful. Also, it's a nice short drive to anywhere.

The real downside was the uncleanliness of the rooms. Stains, dirty bench-tops, mouldy shower...it wasn't very nice. Also, for the $100+ we spent a night for the room, we had to make up our own beds such as putting the sheets on, pillow cases on, doona cover on etc. You see some pretty horrible stains on the bed sheets, mattresses and such when you make your own bed, yuck!

In all honesty, I wouldn't stay here again only because of the dirtiness. I really liked the grounds and I like the venue and staff, but not again!

Room Tip: Ask for something closer to the guest car park as it is a good walking distance from the venue, pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife ad I spent a week at Horizons (Condo 108) in late October. Fantastic view out over the golf course, which was in excellent condition. Both pools were heated and although there were often swimming classes in the smaller pool, the lap pool was usually empty. The health club about 100m away was functioning and offering a range of exercise classes incl Pilates and Yoga, which my wife took advantage of. We also took our bicycles on this holiday and there are plenty of cycle paths to enjoy in the Port Stephens area. One morning we cycled to Fingal Bay for brekky and back. All in all, after a week of bush walking, cycling, golf and Pilates (and laps in the pool!) we were knackered and glad to get home for a rest! Condo 108 needs a freshen up but was clean and Tomaree Linen hire was great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanBron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

great place to stay for location and groups (we had a 2 bed apartment). Size was good but needs a little updating. Well located for getting to sights around plus decent shopping centre up the road as well as tavern

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The first thing i noticed of our condo 108 was the horrible smell when opening the front door.. For 3 hours drive and $160 a night I thought the furnishings were very budget.. The cleanliness was poor!! The lamps were either missing bulbs or broken.. The glass coffee table was covered in finger prints.. There was no welcome book, just notes everywhere threatening to fine us if we left the condo unclean on exit.. So your stay is determined by the previous occupants cleanliness!?! The blow up bed was broken...My 3 children were heart broken by both pools and spa being out of order, not heated, and dirty, when our whole reasoning for booking this condo was to spend time in the heated pool AS ADVERTISED.. On sight cafe was poor burnt eggs with snot on top... Rubber sausages!! We were only given 2 toilet rolls, and when we ran out we used the pool toilets...had no idea who to talk to about all these things as we booked online through the weekenda.. Thank God for the surrounding bays and things to do away from the condo.. Won't be staying there again...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misssamijo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent 2x bedroom apartment with all internal amenities one would want although NO Wifi/Internet or Foxtel, this apparently due to premises being under Administration. On ground floor therefore no views of golf course or surrounding area. Good directions due to no receptionist on site. 500mtrs from shopping centre, so no problems there, nor the drive to Nelsons Bay and surrounding attractions & beaches. Golf Club restaurant hours unreasonable, no spa or sauna in use and to cold to use swimming pool. All in all just a very relaxing 3x nights away work.

Room Tip: Upper floor apartments would have a better view of surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanvic8250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Two good sized bedrooms, a decent sized living area, all opening onto the outdoors, and add in two good sized bathrooms, and a reasonably well equipped kitchen, a full laundry, plus lots of cupboard space and one could happily move in for a month or more, in my opinion.... but we just had three nights.

A car is absolutely necessary... this is not somewhere you'd want to be relying on public transport or hoofing it about, as the things to do in the vicinity (unless you just want to stay put and play golf) and geographically quite spread out.

I should mention that I came here as a Worldmark owner, so obviously got the best of the best type of accommodation, compared to some of the horrifying reviews.

There is no service to speak of. It's all down remotely, hence the score!!! Never got close enough to the pool (despite pleasant weather... it is mid~winter) to comment on it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed with another couple over the Easter long weekend. We booked this resort due to the price and other people's reviews of Port Stephens. The unit was big but the Foxtel did not work which was annoying when there was nothing at all to do there (lucky we bought board games!) No air conditioning in the rooms. There was a bar/restaurant at the resort but that was never opened. There was a shopping centre nearby but the pans and cooking equipment wasn't very good. The pool was occupied by learn to swim the gold course was lovely though. We had to travel to get something to eat but the choice of restaurants was super limited. The local club was your best bet. But the leagues club was so busy and the food was average. I don't think I would return to this resort of Port Stephens.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aus-vick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Stephens hotels
3.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
154 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
87 reviews
4.4 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,147 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizons Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizons Golf Resort

Address: 5 Horizons Dr, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Stephens
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizons Golf Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizons Golf Resort is an 18 hole championship golf course located in Salamander Bay, Port Stephens. It is an enjoyable and challenging course for any golfer; and is open to members, guests and visitors 7 days a week. Designed by Graham Marsh and Ross Watson, top professionals have enjoyed tournament golf here, but golfers of all abilities will relish the challenge that unfolds on each hole. Boasting a world-class layout, intricate lakes system, an abundance of wildlife and some of the best greens you will find anywhere, it is surrounded by natural bushland and only minutes from the crystal clear waters of Port Stephens. Horizons Golf Resort, now under new management encompasses the golf course, outdoor car park, club house, cafe, function center, driving range and practice putting green. Horizons Golf Resort does not own or manage any of the accommodation properties onsite. These are all privately owned and do not operate under the Horizons Golf Resort brand. Any reviews specific to the accommodation are not reflective of Horizons Golf Resort as such. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horizons Golf Resort South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing