We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I highly recommend this holiday park. We camped there over the Easter long weekend with a large group of friends. The sites were large, the park is close to all amenities and the toilet/shower blocks were thoroughly cleaned daily. We'll be back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Shoal Bay Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 199 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

We recently stayed at Shoal Bay Holiday Park in one of their new ensuite bathrooms with our family in our caravan.It was very well laid out and a perfect weekend away.The kids loved the beach and the wife loved the ensuite bathroom,the shops and pub down the road.We got up early and climbed Tomaree Headland a short walk down the road.What a spectacular view
Planning our return trip already

Room Tip: ask for one of the new ensuites
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denn1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've been going there as a big group for a couple of years because the Safari tents are good and reasonably priced however this year was definitely my last as once again our BBQ was out of order and once again the staff were rude to me. I was told that there are plenty of other BBQs in the park (true, but we don't enoy carrying our food through the park in the rain) and they didn't even send anyone to check on it, and there was no apology (as usual). We book out the whole Safari tent area, and this year we even paid for the last one to sit empty so we could have exclusive use of that area and staff once again went and put somebody else in the area even though that space is not available to hire. They know we come every year and they know we book out the whole area, an explanation or apology would be nice but nothing was said. They don't seem to care about our experience or our booking since we come in high season and they would be full anyway. The only thing for the kids to do is hang out in the recreation room where there is nothing to do that doesn't cost money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rachelle_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Shoal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Rachelle,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor for Shoal Bay Holiday Park. We do look at all reviews seriously and use the feedback as a way to improve our park and service from staff. We would like to apologise that we did not exceed your expectations during your last stay. Unfortunately there is no guarantee that you will obtain exclusive use of the Safari Tent area as we do have one site available in the same area for tents or vans during our busy periods. In relation to the BBQ, this was checked by staff during your stay although due to the weather with heavy rain, the small shelter over this BBQ meant the hot plate would not stay dry, therefore would not work efficiently. The BBQ was also checked once the storm had passed and there were no problems. For more information regarding your stay, please don't hesitate to contact the manager directly on FREECALL 1800 600 200.
Kind regards, Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just got back from a long weekend , and what a weekend it was! This was the very first time that we had ever gone camping, as I was always nervous that there would be a lot of insects about, and had visions of myself fighting off cockroaches ..LOL

But that was not the case at all, the park was spotless clean, and the staff were very helpful, especially the two ladies at reception, who were lovely, smiling and down to earth.

We originally thought we might stay at the Catamaran villas, but I am delighted we finally took the plunge and camped, It was so relaxing and free, I think we would have felt a little to closed in if we had taken a villa, We did have a look at the Safari tents, and will definately be booking them for our next visit..they were fantastic, 5 star camping all the way.


The beach is just across the street and shops restaurents and bars are just a stroll away,We were very surprised at how clean and organised everything was, a credit to the managers and cleaners, there was even a bath in the toilet block, for those not partial to a shower..Noice!

Loved the little rabbits hopping around, they were almost tame.My daughter will be bringing her dogs next time as the tents are dog friendly..All in all we had a fantastic time and felt very refreshed after our lovely stay..Well done Shoal Bay Holiday park, I think you have created a monster as I now think camping is the only way to holiday.


Who needs a pool with a glorious beach on your doorstep!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Shoal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to post your amazing review of Shoal Bay Holiday Park. We loved reading that you enjoyed your stay and you will be back again soon. Your positive comments have been passed onto all staff.
Kind regards, Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've had a powered site in that park. Unfortunately the site wasn't well looked after. There was a lot of rubbish lying around our site. But the facilities were clean. The best thing of course was the location. You had to cross the road and you were right on the beach. The beach is quite clean. One disturbing thing was the noise of the main road outside, but otherwise the park is a good choice, but also a bit expensive (AUD 40.- per nite and powered site).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbundanReisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Shoal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review Shoal Bay Holiday Park. The park is located in a fabulous spot across from Shoal Bay beach, plus only a short walk to local shops, restaurants and a pub. The prices do vary depending on the time of year and are very competitive with surrounding holiday parks in Port Stephens and the North Coast. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Shoal Bay Holiday Park again.
Kind regards, Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights over Christmas this year and the first thing that surprised us was how quiet the park was. There are no kids scootin or riding around before about 8am (we are used to them being out at 6). The park is very well run and the facilities spotless. Its in a great position straight across the road from Shoal Bay which is great for the kids. Its also in walking distance to a few take away's (all nice) and a pub and bottlo. All in all a really great park.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Shoal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Hi Samantha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Shoal Bay Holiday Park. We were delighted to read that you loved your 10 night stay over Christmas. Your comments have been passed onto all our team. You are right the park is located in a fantastic spot across the road from the stunning beach and a short walk to shops and restaurants. We hope to welcome you back to Shoal Bay again soon.

Kind regards, Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend and his mum. We stayed in a 2 br cabin which is perfect for that mix of people as my boyfriend's mum had her own room but we had a communal space to share. The room was spotless and surprisingly spacious. You have a car park right next to the cabin that would fit two cars: one in front, one behind.
The location of the holiday park is stunning, right across the road from the best beach in Port Stevens. The staff were very friendly and the grounds were clean.
I imagine the holiday park would be very busy on the peak season (although it was quiet when we went in late August) but that is what you would expect staying at a holiday park!

I would definitely recommend anyone looking for a value for money beach break holiday to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alicialicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Stephens hotels
1.5 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Halifax Holiday Park
Halifax Holiday Park
#1 of 8 in Nelson Bay
307 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Fingal Bay
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,065 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Soldiers Point
Ingenia Holidays Soldiers Point
#1 of 2 in Soldiers Point
405 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoal Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoal Bay Holiday Park

Address: Shoal Bay Road | Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Port Stephens
Price Range: $27 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoal Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Holiday Park is directly opposite one of the most beautiful beaches on the east coast of Australia. The gentle, aquamarine waters & clean white sand of Shoal Bay provide a perfect swimming beach that the kids will love and within just two minutes walk, you'll find the beachside village of Shoal Bay with cafes, shops, restaurants & clubs. Facilities include:* half size tennis / basketball court* conference room* camp kitchen* games room* playground* disabled assisted living cabin* BBQs* guest laundry* school holiday activities program* powered sites* luxury one and two bedroom cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Shoal Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Holiday Park South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing