We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Francis Drake Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn(Raymond Terrace)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mayfield Motel(Newcastle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Gateway Inn(Newcastle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Molly Morgan Motor Inn(East Maitland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
31
57
27
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
57
27
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge roomcontinental breakfastseen better dayslight fittingslarge groundsdriven past this placecomfortable bedfast food outletsfamily roomgold coastpacific highwaynew ownerslast minute bookingovernight stopstay there againair conconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 142 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Right up until my mid teens, this is the hotel pur family would stay at every year on our road trip up to QLD.
Everything about the place was the same.. Beautiful grounds, same look inside the rooms and still had the paddocks of animals behind - which as kids we loved - but as now adults, were slightly turned off by the smell. Mind you, we visited during the massive downpour NSW had, so the ground was sodden which probably made smells more prominent.

Mosquito's were always an issue - i remember having to use repellant even as kids.

I loved visiting a place that held memories - but was a little let down with the room. The air con didn't work in the main bedroom, which forced us to sleep in single beds to remain in an airconditioned room. The bathroom tiles are DEADLY when wet.. Especially in the shower when their shampoo and conditioner dispensers drip onto the tiles.

I did address issues with housekeeping upon checkout - as I could smell smoke from the drain when showering, only to notice cigarette butts along the sil. The staff member was appreciative of feedback.

I would stay again because I hold the memories dear to heart.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The was a three night stay for a business visit in the area. Huge room, opening onto peaceful internal courtyard garden. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is an on-site restaurant with an adequate menu - the nearest dining alternatives are 10 mins drive away, in Raymond Terrace.

However, the rooms urgently need refreshing. The furniture is very worn - the sole arm chair (the room had bedding for three people) sagged to the point of being uncomfortable; the bathroom basin was cracked and chipped, and the room cabinets were quite tired. There is a work bench, but no light over it. The room lighting was two very low wattage down-lights, and two small bed side lights - if I stay here again, I'll bring my own!

Next time I'm in the area, I might try Nelson Bay - about half an hour away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Have been staying here for a while, travellling from Gold Coast to Sydney also make this one a break. Price is great, restaurant is good although we have our meals in the room, breakfast is big and good priced.
Rooms are exceptionally clean everything works, large tv. No real noise from the road so you get a good sleep.
All in all recomend this one to others without hesitation.
will stay again soon

Room Tip: any room is good, all on ground floor and parking at the door
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We love staying here on our way through to the northern coast. It is tired like people say, but the rooms are very generous with one set of doors opening out to a huge internal garden and pool. Bed very comfortable and the room quiet. It is what it is, clean with a very nice feel about it, best that we have been able to find mid point on our travels. Staff lovely and we paid for a 'bed &breakfast' which included a huge breakfast in our room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our room was very spacious, the inn's surrounds are lovely and although the restaurant was closed the staff were very accommodating, taking both our room service order and our breakfast order although we were 20 minutes past the deadline for both. Sir Francis Drake is an exceptionally reliable option.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews