We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Port Stephens
Kurrajong, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, peaceful”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed on the 5th floor in a spa room which had a balcony overlooking a lovely jungle garden. We were woken in the mornings by bird songs and enjoyed watching a great variety of bird life. The room decor is outdated as is a lot of the resort, but the bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. The shower was great as was the spa in our room. The reception staff were welcoming and efficient as were the wait staff. We ate in the restaurant each night and the food was delicious. We would recommend the steaks. Breakfast was also quite nice, especially being outdoors under the umbrellas where you can watch the wildlife(even the odd bush rat). You do need to be able to climb a few stairs from the lower level where the bar and restaurant are before you can access the lift to get up to your room. Overall a very relaxing pleasant place to stay but don't expect a modern resort and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms on the ocean side would have great view, garden view also nice as you get to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderShores, Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay - "Beautiful location & peaceful", describers the property perfectly! We are very proud of the feedback we receive on all our staff from reception to restaurant and will pass on your lovely comments.

We do hope you will stay with us again next time you visit Port Stephens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    201
    211
    91
    55
See reviews for
152
346
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Pros : Friendly staff, Nice Food A1,great views,friday night band great, Be prepared to "drink" before heading back to the room.

Con's: tacky cheap 80's cane decor, dirty carpet, bed bugs, unappealing 80's bathroom, small Analog television Very bad "reception" soo frustrating!, No free WIFI, No privacy on Balconies.

Room Tip: If your fussy about your sleeping environment.. not a good place. If your not..the food was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderShores, Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the property following your recent stay. Glad you enjoyed the food and the views, we certainly are in an enviable location. We do hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Stephens hotels

sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Clean and convenient Hotel in Soldiers Point. Quiet location for relaxing. Older style hotel that needs renovation. Staff polite and helpful. Food is quite good and service OK. Recommend it for couples and families.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderShores, Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Many thanks for your review and recommendation of the property following your recent stay. The bushland surroundings ensures all guests enjoy the peaceful, quiet location and with the beach on our doorstep, what more could you ask for! We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel last weekend and found the hotel is very old. Carpet is very dirty but it has nice view. Bed is very springy.Is it worth paying full price for a weekend getaway? Probably not .. Better stay at other accomodation for similar price

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our group of older travellers spend 2 nights here. While the room is a little dated, it was spacious and clean. Our outside terrace overlooked an amazing gardens and water views. Meals were delicious and the staff really looked after us. Well done Salamander Resort

Room Tip: The higher your room the more sea views you will have. We were on the ground floor, which is 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joybell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderShores, Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Many thanks for reviewing our property following your recent stay, I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed as part of a large coach group of disabled travellers, based at the Salamander Shores for 7 days.
The staff were very helpful & made the effort to ensure our stay was comfortable.

The meals, served in our own group room, were tasty, varied & hot, considering they were cooked elsewhere on the premises. The buffet breakfast was a huge hit with our travellers, along with the packed lunches supplied freshly made & our evening meals as well. The wait staff were wonderful, mixing with our group & making them feel special....particularly on NYE, when we had our own disco. The bar staff were great, getting into the swing of things & dancing with our group members. Well done guys.

The rooms were a little dated, but were clean & the beds freshly made every day.
The TVs...they were old analogue sets with poor reception.
New TVs would make a huge difference.

The disabled room was great, but was the furthest from the dining areas of the hotel.
This made it difficult for our travellers on walking frames.
The upper car park ramp entry to the accomodation wing was dangerous...no rails for support & very narrow. We had to go the "long" way via the lift to ensure none of our travellers fell.

The pool was well maintained & a pleasure to relax in.
There was plenty of room for 2 coaches in the upper car park.

Overall we were very happy with the Ibis Salamander Shores & would recommend it.
I would certainly return :)

Room Tip: The higher levels have great views of Port Stephens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Stephens hotels
5.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores

Property: Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
Address: 147 Soldiers Point Rd, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia (Formerly All Seasons)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores - affordable waterfront accommodation. Nestled in three acres of manicured gardens, the Hotel is a secluded hideaway 2.5 hours from Sydney. Close to attractions, the great value All Seasons Port Stephens Salamander Shores offers direct beach access and coastal fun for the whole family. Its 80 accommodation rooms boast garden or bay views and its many facilities make it ideal for a relaxing holiday or weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Stephens
Port Stephens Comfort Inn
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores South Pacific - Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing