We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally overpriced, has the charm of an over-the-hill retirement home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salamander Beach Accommodation
Ranked #17 of 19 Port Stephens B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Totally overpriced, has the charm of an over-the-hill retirement home”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed at this place for one night in January. The "Oriental Room" had red and yellow walls and otherwise awful furniture. Not sure about the Chinese/Japanese theme but it was definitely off. The proprietor was unsmiling and very businesslike. Don't expect a warm welcome. Maybe the reason for this was that we had already prepaid the ridiculous rate of 220 AUD -- had we known what exactly expected us, we would not have stayed. The whole house looks like a re-arranged concrete mess of a place from the 70s. The location is not exactly great; there are no decent dining places around. (The "country club" down the street that was recommended to us by the owner was more of a bowling alley.) The beach on the other side of the street is on the inside of the bay -- so no surf or anything; however, the real beach is a short ten-minute drive away. As for the room itself -- everything was worn and dated. On top of that, it had a very unclean feel to it. Apart from the shower area that had hair all over it and the soap jar that had been filled up with half soap half water, the carpets were dingy. The bed wasn't very comfortable and there was a light shining on the outside that couldn't be turned off and made sleeping somewhat difficult. There was some "breakfast" in the fridge, but nothing was fresh and the bread was borderline stale. The pool in the back was tiny and felt more like a jacuzzi temperature-wise -- we didn't go in because it also didn't look too clean. Still can't believe we stayed there and spent that amount of money on it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife for a short break in the Garden room. Enjoyed it! Let me sum it up

PROS
=====
- huge, spacious rooms
- very clean (one of the key important things for me)
- new furniture, bathrooms etc. (nothing old and falling apart)
- nice flatscreen TV
- warm pool (perfect after a cold boom net ride on a boat haha)
- whisper quiet air con

CONS
=====
- breakfast was very basic - only toast/crumpets, little packs of jam, plain cornflakes/weetbix. Expected at least some juice and fruit.
- our room was next to the reception area and in the morning we were woken up by people talking loudly, kids running around etc.

all up, a very nice place to stay - and it cost us under $300 for 2 nights so great value! (it looks a lot nicer in real life than on the website)
Its a bit of a drive to Nelson Bay town centre but if you just want to chill out in a more secluded area, than its great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iggz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed in the Country room for 3 nights. The rooms are located at the back of the owner's house near the pool area. The pool area is very pretty with lots of trees and ferns. The pool itself is clean and big enough for a backyard pool. The room was very clean and tasteful but nothing to write home about. The breakfast was ok. The owern's disappeared after they gave us the key and we never heard from them again. Overall I would say that this is a good place to rest your head for a couple of nights but not a lot more than that. The location is across from other houses that are waterfront. It is unlikely that you would swim right there rather than the beach. I didn't see anyone swimming in this area. The swimming beaches, shops and restaurants aren't too far away but you definitely need a car to get around.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaikoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

If you want a perfect break don't let this place escape. The property has four huge private rooms each with its own ensuite (one has its own private balcony) The rooms which are tastefully decorated are spotlessly clean and serviced each day. There is a heated salt water pool but as the weather was quite cool it was not in use. Outdoor area was perfect for our group of nine to sit and relax with a drink in the afternoon. It is located opposite the beach and within walking of the local shops. The property does not cater for children so it is perfect for couples or a small group such as ours.
Also within walking distance is the Soldiers Point Bowling Club which has meals at a very reasonable rate (don't miss the seafood platter)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Stephens hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
4.3 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
194 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Anchorage Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens
#1 of 3 in Corlette
871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Soldiers Point
Ingenia Holidays Soldiers Point
#1 of 2 in Soldiers Point
341 reviews
5.1 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamander Beach Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Beach Accommodation

Property: Salamander Beach Accommodation
Address: 196 Soldiers Point Rd | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salamander Beach Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our serviced apartments are located directly across from picturesque Salamander Beach and close to shops and restaurants. Our guest rooms are very large, non-smoking, air-conditioned and have private entrances and large ensuite bathrooms. In addition, all guest rooms have a TV and DVD players, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee and tea making facilities and access to the solar heated pool & garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Salamander Beach Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamander Beach Accommodation South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing