We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well equipped but a bit out of the way and some road noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Clean, well equipped but a bit out of the way and some road noise”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend recently with a young baby. Found the bedrooms clean and comfortable - a little small but not enough to be an issue. The kitchen was very good and well equipped (stone tops and even an oven!) for those who like to or have to cook. The adjoining lounge was ok, the sofa was a sofabed and not the comfiest i've sat on.

The road facing balconies are a bit noisy as the road is surprisingly busy - though inside with windows closed it's fine. The pool is a small plunge pool, but the beach is only 5 minutes away.

Being between Nelson Bay and Shoal Bay centres it does mean things are a bit far away - no chance of popping out for a coffee, especially with a baby in tow - but it can be walked and if you have to drive parking is pretty easy.

We didn't use the facilities (games room etc) but they looked well maintained.

Overall pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
34
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Found the facilities impeccable, loved the Wii sports room, the place was well maintained and upkeep was sensational. Still as fresh and clean as the day it was built. The kitchen has everything you need, but be aware that not every unit has a bbq.

Nice place but not fit for family of 5. Three young children plus two adults in a two bedroom apartment means there is no real room or space. Found it very cramped for a 3 day stay, we were lucky it didn't rain - i'd have no idea how we'd cope! Pool lovely but fits two families if your lucky, with only enough room for two deck chairs.
There were no outdoor area's for the kids to play at this property and no undercover parking or security.

I had a nice time and the owners were lovely, but its not enough room for a family of 5 so we won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBBCA, Manager at Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
We are extremeley happy to hear that you were happy with the majority of things during your stay.
Unfortunately we only have 5 apartments that do have BBQ facilities on the balconies, this is however publicised in all forms of advertising. The only apartments with BBQ facilities are the Beachside Family BBQ Apartment and the Beachclub entertainer apartments.
We are not sure if this particular booking was made over the internet or over the phone, however a simple phone enquiry would have had us recommending the Beachclub entertainer apartment for groups staying with more then 4 guests. These apartments have double the size living area, and extra lounge in the living area and a BBQ on the balcony. These are our premium apartments and definately the most popular.
All floor plans are readily available in all forms of our online advertsing, including room dimensions and layouts with pictures, to ensure that our guests are choosing the accommodation that will best suit their needs.
Im sure that if it had of rained we would have been able to find plenty to keep the kids entertained with Playstations 2, movies and games available for free from reception :)
The pool we have onsite is a plunge pool and is only designed as a convenient cool of for guests with the majority of people ending up at the beach which is only a 2 minute walk away.
As we are categorised as Self-Catered accommodation we have a fresh approach, where guests can come and check in and be left to relax without interuption, whilst still having staff onhand when needed.
Parking is available onsite, offstreet in a carpark.
It is unfortunate that the apartment type you have booked has not lived up to your expectations, however we would love to have you back at another time to experience the Beachclub Apartment with its extra space.
Kind Regards
Grant and Shelley Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Woke the morning of our trip to a phone call to agnowledge our booking ( a nice touch, but a bit too early for those who like a sleep in :p ) and we set off. Checked in around 4:30 in the afternoon to be greeted by the lovely Tracey. She booked us in for our whale watching tour (included in the package) and we set up to our room

Working in the business myself I can be very over crticial, but everything was lovely. Lovely, modern, large apartment, 2 bedrooms and bathroom. The balcony was also a nice touch, especially consideirng the quiet neighbourhood the apartments are in

Short drive to the marina, where there are literally 10 or so lovely resturants and cafes, we certainly never had a problem with breakfast, lunch or dinner

One major plus for this property is the whale watching tour that was included. A lovely 3 and a half hour trip guided by 2 genuinely interested and enjoyable guides, certainly made for a great trip

We had a great time and would def reccomend this to any couple travelling for a relaxing get away or a small family as it was very comfortable, both hosts were lovely and helpful and the location is great

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfcdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBBCA, Manager at Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Hi
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in the area and especially the time you spent at Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments.
We will also pass this on to the team at Imagine Cruises as i am sure they would be pleased to know you enjoyed your whale watch.
We look forward to welcoming you again. (not sure who Tracey is..... you must mean Shelley... lol)
Many Thanks
Grant and Shelley Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed in a two bedroom one bathroom apartment. The bathroom was tiny and not very clean - there is no bath, bedrooms are very small (no shelves in bedroom cupboards), the kitchen does not have a pantry if you buy groceries, and the cupboards are full. The only place within walking distance is the beach - everything lese you need to drive. We have stayed at other places in Port Stephens that are same price or cheaper and much better. The hosts were very helpful and professional

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally2639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBBCA, Manager at Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
We thankyou for your review, however we would like to address a few points.
If a guest staying inhouse finds any problems with the cleanliness of the rooms this matter should be brought to management immediately. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and service as you would see from our other guest reviews. If there was a problem this would have been rectified straight away.
Unfortunately none of our rooms have bath tubs and this is advised in all forms of our advertising. Our bathrooms vary in size and design throughout the building.
Everyone has a different perception of what they call walking distance. Shoal bay shops, cafes and restaurants are only a 7-10 minute walk along a fully pathed walkway. Little Beach Cafe and Nelson Head Heritage Lighthouse and Tea Rooms are also a 10 minute walk. Nelson Bay Marina is 2 minutes in a car or a 25 minute walk. This information is also available on all forms of our advertising.
We are glad that you found our staff helpful and professional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Stephens hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed here last year, and found the property to be just what we were after. While we had to take a car to get anywhere, we were fine with this, and knew going to the property what to expect.
Friendly service and great ammenities. Spacious apartments and reasonably priced.
We would stay again any time.

(The date wasn't set correctly on my photos)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The accommodation was advertised as having 2 pet friendly apartments. We were travelling with 2 small dogs, 2 adults and a teenager. Im not sure what exactly which part was pet friendly or how this apartment would differ from any other. It had a tiled outdoor small patio and a gate through which you had to take the dogs out onto the street to the toilet. We asked for directions to the beach, and walked the dogs down there only to find that there were no dogs allowed on the beach or in the adjacent parkland. It might have been nice to know that before we walked all the way down there. So then we decided to go have some fish and chips and sit somewhere so the dogs could stretch their legs. Every single piece of grass, picnic table, bench and beach we went to there were signs to say no dogs allowed. In summary I guess if you have pets Shoal Bay in general is not the place to visit!!!! The apartment was clean and the staff were nice but I would definitely not classify it as Pet Friendly especially for the extra price!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfiedog21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBBCA, Grant & Shelley - Managers at Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
We do advertise our complex as having 2 pet friendly apartments. These apartments differ from our others in that they are situated on the ground floor with gate access off a balcony to a grassed area. We pride ourselves on the fact that these are the only differences to our other apartments. As having animals ourselves we know what it is like to book a 'pet friendly' apartment only to find that you are in a small, run down room at the back corner of the property. Our pet friendly apartments have exactly the same fixtures and fittings as all of our other aparments. We now offer 3 rooms as pet friendly and all of these have direct access to a fully enclosed shared grassed area that the dogs are free to play in.

We are sad to hear that you didnt find anywhere where you were able to enjoy your holiday with your pets, however if asked we would have been able to suggest ample beaches that allow dogs to run off the lead and the majority of cafes at Shoal Bay do not mind a dog sitting under the table whilst the owners enjoy a hot breakfast or relaxing lunch. Our pet friendly apartments are always the first ones to book out and we have never before had a guest say that they didnt think Shoal Bay was a Pet Friendly area. All it would take was a morning walk to see the amount of locals that have pets and enjoy them as part of their daily life.

We are very glad to hear that your apartment was clean and you were happy with the service you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Me and my partner went away for romantic weekend and we could not have found a better place to stay. Not to talk about the beautiful Shoal Bay.

Very well priced (even though a information centre in Nelson Bay - $120 per night per room; it is cheaper if you book directly with the Beachclub by 5 or 10 dollars.) Walking distance to Shoal Bay, very quick car trip to Nelson Bay. If you don't mind to walk a bit, it is the place to go. Nice a quite. Even though it is right by the road.
The apartment was clean (i really liked that), very very well equipped. We cooked quite a bit and found all the things we needed. Also it had the TV and DVD etc

One of the things we liked the most was Grant and Shelley. Our most common sentence was "Let's ask Grant". Whatever we did not know we asked and Grant answered. He was like a little Ports Stephens encyclopedia. Including how not to get seasick and what time is the sunset. They were friendly, helpful and fun.

We look forward to going there again, we have no reason to look for anything else. Our experience with the Beachclub was awesome. We give it 5 out 5 for everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarJir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Stephens hotels
0.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
83 reviews
1.0 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
#1 of 1 in Shoal Bay
963 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments

Property: Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments
Address: Cnr Shoal Bay Rd & Harwood Ave | Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Beach Club offers modern stylish one and two bedroom fully self contained luxury apartments. Catering for your every holiday need these apartments are beautifully appointed with the latest equipment to ensure your stay is both memorable and completely relaxing. Shoal Bay Beach Club apartments are ideally positioned conveniently between Nelson Bay and Shoal Bay, located just 200m from the north end of Shoal Bay beach set just behind Anzac Park reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing