We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let's ask the manager, he will know.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Let's ask the manager, he will know.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

Me and my partner went away for romantic weekend and we could not have found a better place to stay. Not to talk about the beautiful Shoal Bay.

Very well priced (even though a information centre in Nelson Bay - $120 per night per room; it is cheaper if you book directly with the Beachclub by 5 or 10 dollars.) Walking distance to Shoal Bay, very quick car trip to Nelson Bay. If you don't mind to walk a bit, it is the place to go. Nice a quite. Even though it is right by the road.
The apartment was clean (i really liked that), very very well equipped. We cooked quite a bit and found all the things we needed. Also it had the TV and DVD etc

One of the things we liked the most was Grant and Shelley. Our most common sentence was "Let's ask Grant". Whatever we did not know we asked and Grant answered. He was like a little Ports Stephens encyclopedia. Including how not to get seasick and what time is the sunset. They were friendly, helpful and fun.

We look forward to going there again, we have no reason to look for anything else. Our experience with the Beachclub was awesome. We give it 5 out 5 for everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarJir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
34
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed at Shoal Bay Beach Club Apts over w/kend and had great time. The hosts Grant & Shelley are very courteous & helpful. RSL club nearby and Nelson Bay for dolphin/whale watching plus the modern apts with well equipped facilities including the large entertainment room for hire made our stay a pleasant & memorable one. Highly recommended place of stay if visiting Ports Stephen.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

I booked a beachclub entertainer room (the biggest size unit). It's new building 3 story with lift, room etc are new too. It's short drive (5 mins) to nelson bay or shoal bay town centre. If you need something you need drive to the towns to buy. It is because this hotel is located at quiet area (surrounding residential area). We found the toilet is a bit small other than that are good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

Website: http://www.shoalbaybeachclub.com.au/

We booked a 1 bedroom Starfish apartment at a price of $140 per night, the weekend before Christmas. We found it cheaper going to them directly for the booking as other accommodation sites were quoting $180 per night. They were a little difficult to reach by phone but very prompt via email. I suspect its owner/manager and the couple who we had dealings with were great. They were very accommodation, friendly and helpful.

The building is only a few years old and has lift access. The room was a self contained apartment, with full kitchen and laundry. Furniture was modern and looked very new. We had a lovely view from our balcony of bushland. They have a small pool and a gym with several pieces of equipment. The rooms also had a plasma TV & DVD player. There is no cable TV but the free to air is digital. They do have a selection of free DVDs on offer. While we were only there for 3 days it would be very comfortable for a week+.

This place is in a great location. Its only a short walk (3min) to the beach through a bush reserve. Shoal Bay is probably a 10 minute walk and Nelson Bay is only a short drive away.

We were also looking at the Shoal Bay Resort but were turned off by its high prices and potential crowds/noise associated with a complex of this size. After going for a walk around here, we were glad we chose where we did.

  • Liked — Room amenities & location
  • Disliked — To be picky, no cable TV
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoJamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Stephens hotels
0.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
#1 of 1 in Shoal Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
#6 of 33 in Port Stephens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halifax Holiday Park
Halifax Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments

Property: Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments
Address: Cnr Shoal Bay Rd & Harwood Ave | Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Beach Club offers modern stylish one and two bedroom fully self contained luxury apartments. Catering for your every holiday need these apartments are beautifully appointed with the latest equipment to ensure your stay is both memorable and completely relaxing. Shoal Bay Beach Club apartments are ideally positioned conveniently between Nelson Bay and Shoal Bay, located just 200m from the north end of Shoal Bay beach set just behind Anzac Park reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing