We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, clean and a kangaroo pet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melaleuca Surfside Backpackers
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, clean and a kangaroo pet”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in a 6 share dorm for 3 nights. The dorms are pretty nice and clean wooden cabins with a fridge in each room. The place is a kind of a camping with cabins in the forest. Showers and toilet are ok. Cooking building is big and nice. Close to one of the many beaches, but a bit far away (aprox. 10 km) from the shops and other beaches around Salamander, Nelson and Shoal Bay. The kangaroo pet (named Josephine) is awesome and you'll see a few other wildlife.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RickH1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
18
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Really cool place away from everything. Good faciltities. I liked the big open space lounge/kitchen area. Only a 5 minuite walk from a practically private beach. The owners are really friendly and chatty

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The setting is really very nice, and we were welcomed by the owner? and given a quick tour. On the up side, there is a resident kangaroo who is very tame and you can get quite close and enjoy her presence. Also saw plenty of other wildlife. On the down side, the owner has 2 dogs, and one decided that we were not leaving our cabin at night, it growled at my husband and acted like it was not going to let him go to the bathroom. He did go but it was unsettling. (And we are complete dog lovers, but still a growling dog in the night is not pleasant). Also, we were there for 2 days and there was dog poop in the walkway the whole time which no one bothered to clean up. My second complaint was the noise at night. We were woken up in the middle of the night by VERY rowdy partiers who screamed, laughed etc. the night away. I thought surely someone would ask them to be quiet since the quiet policy is stated clearly in the paperwork. Nope. Also there is a resident rooster who starts to crow at approximately 4 am. You can imagine what sleep was like. My 3rd complaint is that I felt our belongings were completely unsecure in the cabin. Yes, there is a lock on the door but the small balcony in the room has a sliding door which does not lock and would be very easy to access. I also observed what previous travelers stated regarding the lack of cleaning in the bathrooms.
All this being said, I admit we never complained to the manager/owner. I blame this on the fact that once we checked in, we never saw them- every time we went by to speak to them there was a chain across their walkway stating they were not available.
Probably a good place to go if you stay in the hostel area and don't mind being up late. We rented a private cabin to avoid that but didn't work out.

Room Tip: probably a great place to stay if you are young, are with a group of friends etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimseib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great place to stay! Stayed in one of the cabins and had a wonderful, relaxed time in a fantastic setting.
Owners Mick and Michelle are probably the best thing about this place as they make you feel at home from the first minute you arrive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABattocchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We didn't have our own tent, so opted for the tent hire, which was clean and spacious. When we got there, we talked to Michelle, who was super friendly and gave us wonderful tips about local places to visit and to-do things - very useful, as we didn't know much about the area.

There is a lovely kangaroo on the property, besides other animals and birds that can be spotted all around. At night, you can also see the possums. There is a communal kitchen area in which you can use the oven, microwave, dishes and etc. We had a great time and would recommend this to all interested in a relaxed accommodation close to nature.

My only issue would be the fact that there is no reception there for 3g internet (even if you walk outside the camping area, it is still several meters until you can actually get a signal), and no free wi-fi available. There is paid wi-fi if you really need it, though. However, I think, as most backpackers offer free wi-fi, this would be a great advantage for travelers who are on a break but still would like to be connected for any reason.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emdaphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I loved staying on one of the cabins, it was so relaxing! The cabin had a fridge which was handy for booze and water. Loved having photos taken with Josie the kangaroo who lives on the camp. It was surreal sharing with animals but it was cool. Went exploring the sand dunes by 4WD, sand-boarding and dolphin cruise. I would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Came with our son who was leading a group. Wonderful place to stay with Josie the kangaroo on property, koalas in the trees, kookaburras flying around. Owners Mick and Michelle were wonderful. Did the sandboarding trip which is out of thi world, climbed Tomaree at Nelsons Bay, did the Dolphin Cruise and all in all had a great time.

Room Tip: My wife and I had our own room, so call ahead to get what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Stephens hotels
0.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays One Mile Beach
2.9 mi away
Bays Holiday Park
Bays Holiday Park
#6 of 8 in Anna Bay
50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,008 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
502 reviews
4.2 mi away
Anchorage Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens
#1 of 3 in Corlette
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melaleuca Surfside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melaleuca Surfside Backpackers

Property: Melaleuca Surfside Backpackers
Address: 2 Koala Pl | One Mile Beach, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melaleuca is an architecturally designed adult backpackers retreat set upon 6 acres of natural Australian bushland and located five minutes’ walk from the sparkling waters of One Mile Beach in Port Stephens.The boutique style accommodation has been created using wood and glass to maximise light, space and harmony with nature. Sliding walls open to balconies with views to the stars, stay in a cabin or camp out in bushland with the local wildlife.A tranquil property in a natural bush setting with accommodation ranging from cabins, dormitory rooms, car free camp ground, tent hire (Dec-Apr)and Kombi van sites.For our guests the magnificent main building houses double kitchens, with all crockery and cutlery, a lounge area with Wi-Fi and internet access, television and DVD. Decked areas surround with tables, chairs and free barbecues. A laundry and clothes line is available for guests.If you’re looking for some fun try one of the Melaleuca tours; including a sand boarding adventure or relax on the winery and brewery tour.Only 3 minutes drive to the village of Anna Bay and the amazing Stockton Bight sand system in Worimi Conservation Lands; the largest moving Sand mass in the Southern hemisphere; or 7 minutes drive to beautiful Nelson Bay, we are the only hostel to operate an animal rehabilitation facility on site. We are also home to a large variety of native wildlife including Koala's, birds, sugar gliders and possums. Plenty to see and do, don't forget your camera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Melaleuca Surfside Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca Surfside Backpackers South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing