We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The children are still talking about it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The children are still talking about it!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights in August 2013 and had a really lovely time at Mowbray Park. Sharon hosted us for the weekend, taking us around the animal nursery and answering all our city-folk questions about chickens hatching and when the lambing season started and finished. She was such a lovely host - totally welcoming and patient with the kids and a lot of fun. Here is someone who really takes joy in her job and knows the art of hospitality!

We stayed in the Chapel Cottage which was great for our party comprising three adults (including Nanna) and two boys 2 and 4. Accommodation is basic so don't expect the Four Seasons but the style befitted the surrounds. Everything was certainly clean and the kitchenette was equipped with everything you could need for a quick stay, We couldn't complain about the warmth as there was an excellent gas heater in the Chapel which warmed it up in just a couple of minutes. I'd recommend the Chapel for smaller families as the playground is steps away and you can sit out the front and watch the little ones play. The dining room is also metres away.

We bought the all-inclusive package so had all meals catered for which were hearty and simple. Dinner the first night was an entree of crumbed prawns and Chinese dim sims, then mild butter chicken, rice and veges and a slice of cheesecake. Dinner on night two was pumpkin soup, roast beef and veges and ice cream. Hot cooked breakfasts greeted us every morning. Definitely the way to do it if you (i.e. Mum!) would like a break from planning meals, cooking and cleaning-up and want to really relax and enjoy the experience. Bring a few snacks and fruit for morning and afternoon tea especially if you have little ones. Tea/coffee is always available for the grown-ups.

We paid extra for a horse ride around the property and Elise arranged a very lovely girl, Bethany to look after our boys for an extra charge. They were so happy back up at the house in the kids club area with lots of toys and a simple morning tea.

The children really loved all the nursery animals, collecting the still-warm eggs, milking the cow, the pony rides (lots of pony time to go around - not a rush), the tractor-trailer ride, roasting marshmallows and making damper with golden syrup..the list goes on. Best of all was the opportunity to get away from it, pop on your gumboots and kick around and enjoy the simple things in life.

Congratulations to the team at Mowbray Park. I haven't stopped recommending your farm experience for its simplicity and warm welcome.

Room Tip: I rated a little lower on value but only because the all-inclusive catering package made it a relati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, Owner at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Jennifer, thanks so much for going into such detail, great to hear Sharon looked after you she really is a gem. You got very involved with everything here and that's the way to enjoy an experience like this, we are a working farm so there is much to observe even beyond the activities.
Fair comment re the catered package it amazes me how much it costs to run a kitchen it's about a third of the total of your stay and if you were heading into town for meals I think it's pretty similar. Self cater has met a market need there but the vast majority of our guests want a complete break and prefer we supply meals. Hope you can get back down here sometime soon, we have our running track and mountain bike track in now, 9k's before breakfast, perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    44
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
107
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our family has been 3 times now, in both winter and warmer weather. There is a great range of activities, from animal nursery for the littler kids to horse riding and whip cracking for the older ones. It is only about 90 minutes drive from Sydney and really easy to get to. Picton is a few minutes drive away, where you can top up on cafes if you need them. Meals are all included, and guaranteed you will not leave the table still hungry! Kids club was a bonus for us parents. It's a farmstay, so don't expect 5 star rooms - if you want resort style accommodation and room service you're shopping in the wrong store.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuySanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, General Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
G'day Guy sorry it's taken me a while to reply, thanks heaps for your review we love having you come stay. It's important to us that we can keep the experience relevant for our regulars, we are a working farm as you know and at different times of the year different things are going on. What I would like to do is get you closer to some farming things be it with cattle horses or sheep. We have the orchard in now so over the years this will be a busy place. Hope you can get back down here some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was a first time to stay in a farm for two nights and was a lifetime experience. I have especially a wonderful experience in horse riding around the whole farm area, spent 1 and 1/2 hours ride slowly on a naughty but lovely horse named Prince. It was the first time for a real ride on horse by myself, and I really have great fun. The coach Leny is really nice and taught us a lot in controlling when riding on horse.
I missed the lovely sheep there and the passionate black cat who always stand in front of our balcony. I hope there will have another chance to visit again in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, General Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Stella, thanks for sharing your experience with us. Prince is a real character but he always looks after his riders. I'm glad you enjoyed our 'natural' approach to horsemanship. To ride without a bridle and bit is different for many people but once you take the pressure and discomfort away from the horse it really enjoys being with us humans as a partner, not a prisoner.
I hope you are able to come back to the farm when next traveling in this part of the world, safe travels.Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids) spent 3 wonderful fun-filled days at Mowbray Park Farmstay in early June.

To be honest, we were initially apprehensive about this trip, given that our youngest was only nine months. Plus, it was to be his first overseas trip, and it was winter! (Note: In Singapore, temperatures average 25-30 degrees all year round; daily temperatures in Picton while we were there ranged from 12 to 19 degrees, and fell to as low as 7 at night.)

Fortunately, our trepidations proved unfounded, thanks in great part to the good people of MPF, who went out of their way to settle us in and ensuring we were well looked after.

In Singapore, much emphasis is placed on academic excellence, and inevitably, some simple pleasures in life get passed on by. A case in point: our 3.5-year-old daughter rode a tractor, hand-fed hens, geese, rabbits, alpacas(?), cows and a goat (Scooter), collected eggs from the coops, milked the resident cow (Lucy), boiled billy tea and roasted damper bread over a campfire, witnessed sheep shearing, and even found time to embark on her first ever pony ride... twice! Activities she would never have dreamed of experiencing back home.

Special mention goes out to Leny our guide, who made all the above activities possible, and for gamely leading Mira out on her first pony ride... in the rain (although I tagged along behind!); Elise, for the reassurances and her impressively, impossibly quick email replies (does she even sleep?); the wonderful trio of Dani, Christine and Birgit, who took turns to cook our daily meals; John, who brought us out on the second morning; and last but not least, Blair, who instantly made us feel at home, and for generously organising (and personally demonstrating) a sheep shearing session at our request. Alas, though he gamely offered Mira a free hair cut with his shears, she refused. Next time, Blair? I heard about your latest sheep shearing exploits, so this could be the perfect opportunity to showcase your newly honed skills!

The farmstay itself was not cheap (a fixed rate per person/child per night), but in terms of value for money, it is bang on the buck, and more. To be honest, this was THE experience of a lifetime for us.

Will we be back again? You bet.
P.S.: Blair: You will be glad to know that your soap survived its 8-hour ordeal to Singapore, in one piece. Unfortunately, I'm not sure where exactly it is now... will have to go look for it. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregLee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, General Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Greg, sorry it's taken me a while to reply, Elise is away so I'm the office boy, farmer, daily planner & sheep shearer.
I hope you have found your soap, where ever it is it will smell nice. So glad you had such a great time, the Kids were so engaging and interested in everything, that's a wonderful way to experience life.
I say this from time to time and I really mean it we are so lucky to do what we do. To have families like yours come to a place like this which is not familiar ground for most and get so involved. The memories that children take from here it really is humbling to be part of that space and time.
Thank you again, safe travels and when next in Australia you MUST call and say G'day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our second sleepover visit to the farm. As always, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. My children were thrilled to see Hannah who had brought her baby to the farm for a visit as last time she was still pregnant. Hannah- you are still the most patient and wonderful host- the children love your stories and we thoroughly appreciate your patience and friendly disposition.
The activities are non-stop and the children absolutely love the 'hands on' farm experience! They milked, cuddled, fed, baked, and smiled non stop!
Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aylee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, General Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Aylee, thanks for coming back to the farm ,we love that. What a thrill that Hannah was on when you were here. She is just getting back into it with the odd day here and there. She is the most wonderful person around both kids and animals.
Glad you had a good time again and we hope you can get back down here some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

From sunny Singapore, our 2 families who only knew of big city living chose Mowbray from all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed.

Elise was on the other side of the phone call when I called to make inquiries then the reservation. We were 2 families, with 3 kids under 10 and a toddler. Elise was fantastic to explain what to expect, and even offered to hold lunch for us the day we arrive as we had to drive from Sydney airport after landing. Blair was at the farm office when we checked in. Everything was casual and Blair made sure we all had a good lunch before settling down. Christine from the kitchen was amazing with her selection of home cooking. The food was amazing, but in just too large servings. We had to tell Christine to make us smaller portions.

Justin was great. We did the damper and billy tea right after settling down into our rooms. The damper bread was something the children thoroughly enjoyed doing with their hands, then eating what they cooked over the wood fire. The rooms In the Megallan Lodge were simple and plain, it's a farmstay after all. More importantly the rooms and sheets were clean. Later in the afternoon Justin brought us to the nursery where the farm animals were kept. The children were thrilled as we have no farms in tiny Singapore. It's the first time they've gotten so up close and personal to the chickens, the pigs, the goats, the cows, the llamas.

The 2nd day we did the pony rides with Justin. But that afternoon we did the horse trail. Took almost an hour, being lead by Dani. The rest of the afternoon we just chilled by the playground with the kids running and playing on the swings while the adults sipped hot tea and chatted. The winter cold and sun was definitely refreshing. The nights were cold though. Dipped as low as 9 degress Celsius but the days rose from 11 degrees to 18 degress midday. I guess we brought the sun with us from Singapore, as Blair told us it was raining the last few days before we arrived.

Mowbray is definitely a fantastic experience for families with smaller children. It's relatively small number of guests so the staff can easily improvise to fit each family's flexible timings and fancies. It's an experience I will readily recommend to my friends with kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greglok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, General Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Greg, glad you enjoyed your stay at the farm, we enjoyed your company and had fun as well which is what we all like when you're on holiday. That is one of the great things about what we do, we get to see the joy on the kids faces when they get up close to the animals or the joy of standing around a camp fire, things that used to be a normal part of life. Thanks for coming to share this with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very good place for farm stay. My host, Dani and Justin were really helpful and passionate. our host sacrificed their off- day just to accommodate us,as we were the only people on the farm that day.Justin brought us to the nursery on the next day,it was really an eye opener as it was a farm away from all the city distraction.They had ALOT of animals in the nursery,I got to milk the cows,feed the sheep,feed the chicken,and saw many different types and species of animals from all the the world.They had lots of activity lined up for you.Eg.archery,tennis,table tennis,horse riding,pony riding and canoeing.Recommended for all ages and all nationalities.Very tranquil and peaceful place to stay at.-Harold Lu

Room Tip: Choose a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, General Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Joyce150, well things really worked out well. I was not surprised that Justin and Dani wanted to stay around and have some fun on the farm with you. They are committed to ensuring that our guests have a great farm experience and that's what you had. Thanks so much for coming to Mowbray Park and I hope you are able to get back here some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
15.8 mi away
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
#1 of 3 in Campbelltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Petit Palais Villas
4.5 mi away
Picton Valley Motel
Picton Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Camden Valley Inn
Camden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Camden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
13.4 mi away
Narellan Motor Inn
Narellan Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Narellan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays

Property: Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays
Address: 745 Barkers Lodge Rd, Picton, New South Wales 2571, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Picton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mowbray Park Farm is a genuine working farm, we produce Beef and Sheep. Our pasture fed Beef is part of the 'paddock to plate' experience at Mowbray Park Farm. We have an activities program that runs from 9.15am until 4.30pm daily then camp fires at night. Horse & pony rides, animal nursery, cattle feeding, milking, the list goes on we have a 9.5km recreational running / mountain bike track. En-suited family rooms, dorm lodges for schools, conference room, dinning room, free parking and WiFi. Authentic experiential tourism alongside real farmers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing