We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long overdue time out from a busy life.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Long overdue time out from a busy life.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our stay at Mowbray Farm was our first family holiday. The experience left us recharged, reconnected with one another and relaxed.
Mowbray Farm is only a 45 minute drive away from our home in Sydney. We felt we were a world away from our usual routine driven, hectic lifestyle. Our children enjoyed all the activities from playground, tractor drives, feeding the animals, pony rides, Kids Club, making damper around a camp fire and spending quality time with their parents.
The fresh air and the beautiful nature surrounds did us a world of good.
We vowed we would return as often as we could.

Room Tip: The Chapel Cottage is quaint, functional and located close to all activities and meals areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 261ElizabethD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, Owner at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi Elizabeth, glad you gained so much from your break. We try hard to find a balance between keeping the kids busy and not being intrusive. I really love the way kids gravitate to the animals & watch the farmers as they go about their work.
Whilst the farm will always have that historic feel we are pretty excited about some of the farming innovations we are introducing we look forward to sharing these with you during your visits. Thank you so much for being part of our life that weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    45
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
109
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What can I say? It was fantastic. I don't say this lightly. There were 8 adults and 9 children, 5 and under in age for the weekend. We enjoyed tractor rides, feeding the animals, milking cows, horse riding, canoeing, walks around the farm. Sharon was teaching the kids all about the farm and animals, the kids loved her, especially my 3year old son who had a million and one questions for her, all of which she answered with patience and humour. The kids made their own damper over an open fire. We had a couple of brushes with nature that the kids loved, a horse started eating my 1 and half year olds biscuit from her hand. The kids saw a snake while canoing and a HUGE ant was walking on me, I've never seen anything so big!! The accomodation was big! Lot's of rooms and seeting. It wasn't 5 star luxury but it was all clean and exactly what we wanted from a farm stay. I have not stopped talking about how fabulous our weekend was. I have already recommended it to friends and family who are interested in going on farmstays. We went home exhausted but very happy. The best part of the weekend for us was the enjoyment on the kids faces. That was priceless!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenr841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, General Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Helen, how funny was the Q&A Sharon had a ball, like us she gets a real buzz from people who get right into the theme of things. As you point out it is a farm, a working farm there are things going on all the time and you know to involve kids in that is a real pleasure. Any opportunity to link fun and a bit of learning is a gain for our children ,it's easy to go through life never knowing or needing to know where our food comes from. Parents like you have made the choice to broaden your kids knowledge. well done to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went to Mowbray PArk with 12 adults and 12 children and enjoyed every moment of the experience. The team there put on an excellent array of farm based activities from riding on a tractor, feeding goats, llamas, ducks and bunnies, to milking a cow, cuddling a guinea pig and riding a pony. Horse rides are available for those who are keen, while there are plenty of other activities to keep the kids amused. Archery, swimming, walking, whip cracking, boomerang throwing. An afternoon of damper making and billy tea drinking was followed by an evening barn dance with live music, topped off with marshmallows over the open fire. Don't go expecting luxury. You're comfortable enough, but the whole point is to give you a real farm experience and by the end of the weekend, we felt as tired as farmers. A brilliant time was had by all. Would highly recommend this as a weekend out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Guy's I'm glad you had a good weekend, we try to just tire the kids out not you as well!
It really was a smooth weekend, again because you engaged you got a lot back from the experience. Cheddington is the ideal lodge for a big family and friends gathering, it is basic but has all the comforts you need for a few days away.
Hope to have you back again sometime. Cheers Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent the weekend in the Chapel Cottage which is self-catering and we had a super time. My kids have never been so tired! Our Saturday was filled with farm fun - tractor ride, feeding the animals, collecting eggs, pony rides, canoeing and play. We did a lunch BBQ at the cottage. We then joined the other visitors for dinner in the dining room and the kids attended Kids Club. Although we did not partake with 2 young kids sleeping, the campfire sing-a-long sounds like a good time. We will be back again. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, Owner at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Guy's, thanks heaps for coming down to spend some time on our farm. Your two beautiful children really got amongst it that's for sure. Interesting that it reminded you of home a bit.
I hope you can get back down here some time in the future, plenty of things going on to always keep it interesting. Thanks again and safe travels. Blair & Jacqui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randwick
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My 3-y-o daughter and I spent 4 days at Mowbray Park and absolutely loved it! The owner and staff were really enthusiastic, warm, friendly and patient with us. They shared their love of farm activities showing great respect for their animals. We got very involved in farm activities because we wanted to, and got to know and appreciate a lot about the farm area and its history. Our cottage was comfortable and quiet.
I would highly recommend a stay at Mowbray Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieRandwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, General Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Emilie,
We had some fun with you and Chloe here, it makes us very happy indeed when our guests want to know so much about farming. It was good that we had some other families here as well so Chloe had some kids to meet. I thought your stock whip cracking showed promise. We do hope you can get back down here with your partner and we'll have some fun again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed at Mowbray Park twice now. It feels like a farm and the farming activities are fun and the children (and the adults) love going on the tractor, meeting the animals and horseriding. The accomodation is what you would expect on a farm, basic but it's clean. The highlight of this visit for us is the staff and customer service which is offered. From Blair to Elise to the famers who run the sessions to the kitchen staff, they give you the highest quality of customer service which they should pride themselves in.. Thank you Mowbray Farm for valueing your customer!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, General Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Tanya, great having you back here again and so pleased you valued our customer service. I am very lucky to have such wonderful staff who share our passion for engagement. We want Mowbray Park to be a place where childhood memories are cherished as a place that takes pride of place in the holiday photo album.
One of the truly amazing things is that we have literally a lifetime of things we want to do and share with people, we want good old story telling to feature in the lives of our young there is much to talk about when it comes to farming and animals. Thank you again, safe travels. Blair & Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is one of the best family holidays if you want something authentic and close to Sydney. The team at Mowbray are absolutely gorgeous. From the moment you arrive, till the time you leave, it is a wonderful experience for kids and parents.

The days are filled with exciting farm activities for the kids, the kids club is excellent and it allows parents some time together.

The accommodation is clean and simple and the food is homemade and enjoyable.

I would recommend this as a fantastic experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, Owner at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Natalie we hope you can come back, as I have mentioned to other guests we get our energy from you, when you get 'into' it and enjoy the place this is the best job you could imagine. Our days are long and it always seems there is something to fix, I feel like Bob the Builder but come those days when we have the families in you're away again and loving it. Thanks for being part of this. Blair & Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
23.0 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
10.0 mi away
No photo provided
Bargo Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bargo
30 reviews
4.5 mi away
Picton Valley Motel
Picton Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Picton
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Camden Valley Inn
Camden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Camden
156 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Petit Palais Villas
13.4 mi away
Narellan Motor Inn
Narellan Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Narellan
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays

Property: Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays
Address: 745 Barkers Lodge Rd, Picton, New South Wales 2571, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Picton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mowbray Park Farm is a genuine working farm, we produce Beef and Sheep. Our pasture fed Beef is part of the 'paddock to plate' experience at Mowbray Park Farm. We have an activities program that runs from 9.15am until 4.30pm daily then camp fires at night. Horse & pony rides, animal nursery, cattle feeding, milking, the list goes on we have a 9.5km recreational running / mountain bike track. En-suited family rooms, dorm lodges for schools, conference room, dinning room, free parking and WiFi. Authentic experiential tourism alongside real farmers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing