We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and educational at eco farmstay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My 3-y-o daughter and I spent 4 days at Mowbray Park and absolutely loved it! The owner and staff were really enthusiastic, warm, friendly and patient with us. They shared their love of farm activities showing great respect for their animals. We got very involved in farm activities because we wanted to, and got to know and appreciate a lot about the farm area and its history. Our cottage was comfortable and quiet.
I would highly recommend a stay at Mowbray Park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilieRandwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, General Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi Emilie,
We had some fun with you and Chloe here, it makes us very happy indeed when our guests want to know so much about farming. It was good that we had some other families here as well so Chloe had some kids to meet. I thought your stock whip cracking showed promise. We do hope you can get back down here with your partner and we'll have some fun again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 144 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed at Mowbray Park twice now. It feels like a farm and the farming activities are fun and the children (and the adults) love going on the tractor, meeting the animals and horseriding. The accomodation is what you would expect on a farm, basic but it's clean. The highlight of this visit for us is the staff and customer service which is offered. From Blair to Elise to the famers who run the sessions to the kitchen staff, they give you the highest quality of customer service which they should pride themselves in.. Thank you Mowbray Farm for valueing your customer!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, General Manager at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi Tanya, great having you back here again and so pleased you valued our customer service. I am very lucky to have such wonderful staff who share our passion for engagement. We want Mowbray Park to be a place where childhood memories are cherished as a place that takes pride of place in the holiday photo album.
One of the truly amazing things is that we have literally a lifetime of things we want to do and share with people, we want good old story telling to feature in the lives of our young there is much to talk about when it comes to farming and animals. Thank you again, safe travels. Blair & Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is one of the best family holidays if you want something authentic and close to Sydney. The team at Mowbray are absolutely gorgeous. From the moment you arrive, till the time you leave, it is a wonderful experience for kids and parents.

The days are filled with exciting farm activities for the kids, the kids club is excellent and it allows parents some time together.

The accommodation is clean and simple and the food is homemade and enjoyable.

I would recommend this as a fantastic experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, Owner at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Natalie we hope you can come back, as I have mentioned to other guests we get our energy from you, when you get 'into' it and enjoy the place this is the best job you could imagine. Our days are long and it always seems there is something to fix, I feel like Bob the Builder but come those days when we have the families in you're away again and loving it. Thanks for being part of this. Blair & Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Fabulous experiential holiday. Well organised, lots to do, totally interactive and engaging. My children thought it was truly magical. Highly recommended. Oh - and I can't not mention the handsome and charming Farmer Blair! :-)

Room Tip: i think the chapel looks like a great little set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, Owner at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thanks Kate, means a lot to us that we could meet your expectations. When guests enjoy and appreciate what we have and do then it makes our job so rewarding. To see your Kid's engage so much with life on the farm I think that add's some balance to our busy lives. I hope you can come back and if so lets try and get you into the Chapel. Thanks again Blair & the Mowbray team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Reading some of the reviews as I am about to recommend Mowbray Farm to friends I wonder what people think farm life is about!
My husband and I have been taking our grandchildren to Mowbray Farm every year for about the last ten years. It started out as a birthday present for 2 children. The following Christmas they asked me if they could have the same birthday present as last year. Since then (although no longer a birthday present - just something 'we do') we take every grandchild out of nappies to 'the farm'. Last time we had 6 (5 boys, 1 girl) grandchildren and linked up with another grandmother/friend with 4 grandsons (the kids didn't know each other before). The adults & kids had a great time and joined in with other guests. We love the bush dance, cooking damper, toasting marshmallows, throwing boomerangs, cracking whips, milking cows, feeding farm animals, being free...
We have stayed in the various types of accommodation except the chapel. The kids love the whole experience. They are learning lobbying skills in trying to persuade us to extend our stay over the 3 days/ 2 nights or leave Sydney around 5.30 am on the 1st day!
The staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating. We plan to go this year and our youngest grandson is now eligible. We know it is not 5 star but that is part of its charm. The parents of the children love it. My husband & I are building great memories with our grandchildren. For city children especially under 13 Mowbray Farm is great.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
Thank RRL623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, Owner at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hi Robin, you know it's hard not to get a bit emotional when reading your review, you have been a part of our journey and we a part of yours. To see the children grow each year in character and confidence to watch the older kids guide the younger ones, who wouldn't want to see that? we are so lucky.
As I mentioned in an earlier review we know there are things around the farm that need to be fixed up and you more than anyone can see the progress that we've made.
We do not want to change Mowbray Park it gives joy to so many, it is our role to find the balance, this balance though will always favour our guests the experiences they have, the memories they take away. Thank you for being such an integral part of our journey. Blair & Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first trip to a working farm and we absolutely loved it! It was summed up by my daughters (7&8yrs of age) asking whether we could sell up out of the city and live on the farm, Mowbray has a very rustic feel to the place and there is plenty to do with tennis, archery, foos ball, horse riding etc and if you want to cool off the swimming pool & jacuzzi were great, what made the experience exceptional was the engagement by staff, especially Blair who is a great story teller walking us through the history of the area and is very engaging, you can tell he is living his dream and that this place isn't just a job for him but rather a passion, it's also the little touches that make your trip memorable such as when we were alone by the camp fire after the festivities had finished and one of the staff members brought out marsh mellows for my girls, John was also very helpful and going out of his way to ensured we enjoyed our stay, we were left wanting for nothing and wished we had more time there, thanks for a great holiday guys and no doubt we'll be back again soon

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, Owner at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hi Newton, we wish you could have stayed longer as well, what a great weekend we had. Glad you enjoyed the history and some of the stories about Australian agriculture as it relates to this area and this farm in particular. I really believe these stories should be told, this was once the way we humans learned things, we can do it without an 'app'
Hope you can get back down here soon. Cheers Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Great experience for those wanting a hands on farm experience. Loved the horse riding. The track was fun and the horses were well behaved. All other activities were great too - making damper, feeding the cattle, milking the cow, feeding the Lammas, cuddling the rabbits...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair B, Owner at Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Kate, you deserve your own review to have so many wonderful kids under your care what a delight having you all on the farm. Sorry we couldn't do the rabbit thing I had no idea about the Qld regulations (feeling bad about Cane Toads I guess)
Hope you were not impacted by the floods up there, we finally got some rain and now all the animals are jumping around like it's spring! it got so dry I was out early each morning feeding and again at night. We hope you can make it back down here again, we should have our mountain bike track in soon so something else for the kids to take on. Cheers Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
9.6 mi away
Camden Valley Inn
Camden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Camden
164 reviews
4.4 mi away
Picton Valley Motel
Picton Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Picton
98 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peppertree Ridge B&B
Peppertree Ridge B&B
#1 of 2 in Picton
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Le Petit Palais Villas
Show Prices

Been to Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays

Address: 745 Barkers Lodge Rd, Picton, New South Wales 2571, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Picton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range: $75 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mowbray Park Farm is a genuine working farm, we produce Beef and Sheep. Our pasture fed Beef is part of the 'paddock to plate' experience at Mowbray Park Farm. We have an activities program that runs from 9.15am until 4.30pm daily then camp fires at night. Horse & pony rides, animal nursery, cattle feeding, milking, the list goes on we have a 9.5km recreational running / mountain bike track. En-suited family rooms, dorm lodges for schools, conference room, dinning room, free parking and WiFi. Authentic experiential tourism alongside real farmers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mowbray Park Farmstay Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing