We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Petit Palais Villas
Erina, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very memorable stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in the Villa Mediterranee and it was quite delightful. Our villa was full of French furniture, lot of DVD's, and travel and cooking books galore! The villa was very quaint and pretty inside, there has been so much attention to detail. It had everything that we needed in it, especially the air conditioning which was very much appreciated as it was 43oC one day. We enjoyed the outdoor spa in the evening. The kangaroo bounding by the spa (at dusk, while we were in the spa) was an added bonus! Sue is an amazing hostess and went out of her way to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The tree outside our villa was just lovely to sit under and we felt the entire two days that we were there that we were in provincial France. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we went home very happy and refreshed! Thank you Sue! We hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I felt such delight when Sue showed me to my "French home" for the night. The French provincial decor charmed me immediately and the French magazines, books, French music on CDs and TV promised me such wonderful entertainment.

The air conditioner kept the room very pleasantly cool despite the January heat. The kitchen was a delight; full of French cookbooks to inspire me once I returned home. The gardens were beautiful and the privacy and quiet on the veranda delighted me.

Sue and Kevin are the friendliest hosts I've ever met and made sure my every need was catered for. There were animals, trees, and flowering plants everywhere. There was even a charming atelier space full of interesting furniture.

Speaking of furniture, I had a wonderful visit to the many antique furniture shops in Bowral, Berrima and Mittagong.

I wanted to stay at Le Petit Palais for weeks -- no, actually, I wanted to LIVE there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

What a delightful surprise it was to find this lovely little property hidden away in a nice quiet location. Sue and Kevin have gone to an amazing amount of trouble to recreate a little bit of France on their property and the attention to detail is fantastic. The gardens are beautiful and we greatly enjoyed the outdoor spa as well as our breakfast under the huge oak tree. Sue is a superb host who has now raised the bar almost impossibly high for anyone else to match! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ringlets71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I knew it was a different place to stay when I booked and Sue asked the name of everyone in my family, including our 3 children. When we arrived she welcomed us all and my children fed the horse, chickens and ducks. We felt like we were staying with friends from the first moment. We had a lovely room with a fire and comfy beds. The breakfast basket was wonderful. In the morning after breakfast our children ran around with the dogs for hours and we then went into Sue and Kevin's house for coffee. They spoke to and entertained our children the whole time and gave us wonderful tips and maps for our day's activities. We are already planning on when we can visit again.

Room Tip: We went to the train museum in Thirlmere and then spent the Saturday night there. It was a fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

A must for any francophile this little bit of heaven, tucked away in a fantastic location provides a very good opportunity to relax, unwind and just have a break away from city living for a bit.
The owners, Sue and Kevin, as well as their animals (special mention to the dogs and a very nice horse indeed) went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and even went as far as helping us satisfy the whims of two young children.
Stayed at Villa Mediterranee which is perfect for a couple with one or two young children. While the bedroom was just a fantastically decorated romantic room, we ended up swapping the kids....the wood burning heater in the main room was just too much of a temptation!
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is most definitely the place to go when you can't get to France. The gracious and extremely hospitable hosts, Sue and Kevin, have transformed their property into a charming haven of tranquility. The villas' provincial decor is certainly a feast for the eyes, with colourful and eclectic artwork, fabric and nic nacs everywhere. Even the CD player was loaded with French cabaret music for our listening pleasure. Our family stayed just one night, so that we could enjoy a leisurely visit to the nearbyThirlmere Rail Heritage Centre (highly recommended). Would suggest staying 2 nights or longer, just to relax and soak up the ambience and "country" hospitality.

Room Tip: Not really suitable for small children as there were simply too many "breakables" and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Sue and Kevin at Le Petit Palais deliver exactly what the website says ... and so much more.
The other reviews have covered the beautiful, cosy décor of the charming villas, fragrant gardens, wrens and finches frolicking in the bird baths ... And it's wonderful, but the real magic of this place is its hosts Sue and Kevin. They have created an environment of relaxed class and serene pleasure that is rare and makes a guest feel as though they are neighbours who have lived next door for years. My wife and I came away feeling as if we'd robbed Sue and Kevin, as we were never bored, uncomfortable or hungry (the food, oh the fooooood - definitely eat in!), and yet we paid half what we would pay anywhere else, but received so much more.

My wife can attest to the wonderful massage she got from Sue and has no doubt anything this woman does is first-rate. This was supported by the food, the mountain of food, we enjoyed - chocolate croissants and apple juice to start breakfast, smoked salmon, scrambled eggs and capers on toast to top it off. Back that up with the in-house silver service dinner - we had salad aux noix with croutons, slow roasted salmon with buttered potatoes and lemon tarte with creme fraiche et un petit grand marnier!! Oh yeah! Breakfast our second day was even better, but I'll let you discover how that is possible. It's almost all local produce and it is fantastic.

And speaking of local, you're a short drive from great antique and gift shops at Mittagong, Berrima, Bowral, Picton etc.

Upon arrival we were welcomed into Sue and Kevin's home for a welcome drink, but this was after being greeted by the chickens - yeah, even the chicklens are friendly!

This was a romantic escape for us, and it was perfect, but just when we thought it couldn't get better, Sue told us we're more than welcome to bring the kids and the dog next time ... and we definitely will be going back ... with or without the kids.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
19.4 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
23.6 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
20.3 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
#1 of 3 in Campbelltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
21.0 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
6.5 mi away
No photo provided
Bargo Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bargo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Palais Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Palais Villas

Property: Le Petit Palais Villas
Address: 150 Michell Rd | Thirlmere, Picton, New South Wales 2572, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Petit Palais Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Petit Palais Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing