We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch”

Guthega Alpine Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guthega Alpine Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My family and I visited the Guthega Hotel for lunch after skiing over from Blue Cow. While the food wasn't cheap it was no more expensive than the resort charges, and it was much better quality. The service was friendly and the views out over the main range were beautiful. It was nice to be away from the crowds and average food at the main resort restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    2
    4
    17
See reviews for
15
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our first trip to the Australian Alps could have ended in disaster, if we didn't have help from the very kind Guthega Alpine Inn staff. We had a problem with our snow chains on the way to Guthega and got stuck in the middle of the road, but everything was sorted out because Nick promptly came to help us, and in the next day, he even offered to go all the way to Jindabyne to have the snow chains changed for us. In addition to this big gesture of kindness, the staff was very welcoming and provided us a really pleasant stay. The Guthega Alpine Inn has a warm atmosphere, great food and stunning views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kfamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stay here on our annual boys ski trip every year. Nick and Jenny provide us with great service and really make sure we are comfortable. As house guests we even have lounges by the fire and bar seating reserved for us when we come in from skiing which is a very nice touch and much apprieciated.

If we need a hand with tuning our gear Nick is always very keen to help.

Stay here and you WILL be looked after!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gamsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

A week at the Guthega Alpine Inn was sensational - so close to the T-Bar - warm boots to put on every morning after a wonderful breakfast that was swift and served by attentive, friendly staff. Upon return, it was great to reminisce with Nick and Jenny about the exhilaration of skiing the mountain. Saturday afternoon live entertainment was akin to any great bar in Canberra. Evenings by the fireside, in deep conversation with other guests, whose professional backgrounds made it an intellectual feast, which complemented Jenny's culinary skills - the 3 course dinner varied every night and the kitchen was only to happy to adapt according to my requests. My room had a spectacular view and was fitted with all one could wish for after a full day's skiing. I would not stay anywhere else. Fantastic hosts, well-trained staff, a wine list clearly selected for quality and an ambience reminiscent of Europe. Thank you Nick and Jenny - I will be a regular returnee and you have my whole hearted recommendation!

Room Tip: Ask for a bath - it is bliss after a full day on the mountain! The views are awesome whereever you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was my first time skiing the Australian Alps using Guthega as a base. I first came across this hotel when I used it as a base for walking the Alps in the summer last year. Nick and Jenny made me feel very welcome back then, and the welcome was just as great this winter. The Alpine Hotel has great food, great service and a great ambience. A big log fire, and an eclectic library if you haven't brought anything to read. And the scenery - right on the snow, and it's stunning. If you want disco, loud music, bars and shops - go to Thredbo or Perisher. But if you're just looking for a great place to stay and ski - try this one!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Echidna-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The current managers of this place are awful people. I had been there a number of times with the previous owners and expected to enjoy the same hospitality. But that was not be! Simple things which we all encounter on a daily basis were perverted and twisted into a big issue by the operators. I just wasn't prepared for what was ahead of me. They are curt rude and aggressive. Now I am away from the place, I've thought of many good retorts I could have thrown at them, but my efforts are in vain as I won't be going back while these managers are there. It’s a difficult place to find on skis and while the view is lovely the operators are ugly.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zipskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perisher Valley hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I'd like to begin by saying that after our night at the Guthega Alpine Hotel we referred to the owner as Wally. This was because he resembles the character from "Where's Wally" (minus the stripes). This would be completely acceptable if he wasn't so rude. He works with his wife and daughter and rudeness must be genetic. At no point did we feel welcome, accept when we were keying in our pin numbers when it came time to pay. Avoid this place at all cost. Unless you intend to urinate all over their bathroom. They are apparently new owners and have offended and disappointed almost all members of the lodges situated in Guthega. I've noticed that the reviews of this hell hole are very hot and cold. Perhaps suffering from bi-polar is also genetic? Just don't go there, tell your friends not to go there. The place is very pleasing to the eye but the Taj Mahal would get horrible reviews if it were run by these sad angry people.

Room Tip: Any room is a bad room, any good review was written by Wally himself. AVOID AVOID AVOID!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
19.7 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sponars Chalet
Sponars Chalet
#12 of 22 in Kosciuszko National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
12.2 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guthega Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guthega Alpine Hotel

Property: Guthega Alpine Hotel
Address: Guthega Rd (Mt Tate Road), Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guthega Alpine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guthega Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing