We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perisher...please just be honest”

Perisher Blue Ski Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
$249.59*
and up
3-Day Thredbo or Perisher Midweek Madness Snow Adventure from Sydney
More Info
$467.67*
and up
6-Day Thredbo or Perisher Snow Adventure from Sydney
More Info
$201.12*
and up
Thredbo or Perisher Weekend Snow Trip
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perisher...please just be honest”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have been going to perisher for years so thankfully I know not to trust the Perisher website for an honest appraisal of snow conditions.

Granted - they have no power over the weather and the the amount of snowfall however I really feel that they openly mislead people on their website, especially vulnerable first timers. We recently came back from a week on the slopes for the Interschools Snowsports Comp. Being school holidays it was packed and the wait time for lifts was horrendous! Basically it took a solid hour to get 5 minutes of boarding in!

For most of the time there only the Front Valley V8 and (at times) the Centre Valley Quad Express were the only chairs running. Other than this there were some T-bars (that only took you to the exact same areas as the chairs) and the very beginner moving carpets....yet you jump online and get fooled into thinking most of the mountain was open!

As I mentioned I completely understand that actual weather conditions are out of their hands, but please be HONEST so that you don't raise peoples expectations before they arrive...or at least don't charge FULL PRICE when the conditions are so bad... $115 per day for a few 5 minute runs on an icey mess?? Really how can you justify it?

Tip - Always checkout the correct weather on other websites like Mountainwatch or Snowatch etc and take a good long look at the webcams to get a more accurate idea of the conditions or better still think of heading to NZ instead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank delores_mcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    130
    43
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive and busy”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Went to perisher for the first time this year. Family of four stayed in jindabyne and drove to the ski field each day. Lots of parking and free tobogganing area. Gets a bit wild and crazy though with people coming down with no control... Saw lots of people run into and knocked over. Going to the snow early in the season was a disappointment as there was only two lifts open (then one due to wind). Not much choice in ski areas as most of it was closed off. Still pay full price for tickets yet spend ages waiting in queues for the lifts. After lunch is worse, can wait 40 minutes for a lift then to just be able to ski front valley. Gets boring pretty quickly. Definitely consider nz over perisher for next time, much better

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KM1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Four Days at the Snow”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Went snowboarding for the first time for four days. Awesome beginners facilities at Blue Cow would definitely recommend it for anyone starting off. The instructors there were awesome, can not speak highly enough of Tomas Nocentini, if you need a lesson with anyone choose him! Snow was a little bit mushy by the end but still had lots of fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank heger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First time skier”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just great. Lessons are so worthwhile doesnt matter what you level is, they cater for all. Food and beverage readily available however be prepared to pay. Very helpful with tickets and enquiries before we hit the snow. Do it all on line. It all works

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Don't prebook!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We prebooked out ski lift tickets and ski school two months prior at Smiggins. However, as our holiday approached we were concerned there was no snow at Smiggins and requested to be changed to Perisher. Our requested was repeatedly declined asking us to wait until just before our arrival date. Once there, it was very disorganised. I was told to catch a bus to Smiggins for my group lesson only to be put back on a bus to Perisher. Grrrr. What a waste of time! This only happened to the people who pre-booked! Perisher treat the customers who are loyal and hand them their money early the WORST. I felt I wasted so much of my ski time due to this disorganisation. Perisher - when I go on a ski holiday I want to spend my time SKIING - not being led on a wild goose chase. Never again! Go Thredbo or turn up on the day to get the best options.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank freyjablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perisher Blue Ski Resort also viewed

Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Jindabyne, New South Wales
New South Wales, Australia
 

Been to Perisher Blue Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing