We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Efficient Staff”
Review of Ski Rider Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ski Rider Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the efficiency and friendly service received by the young staff. The bar and dining room service was excellent and fast, for both dinner and breakfast. Great atmosphere in the lounge area. The room was clean and very cosy with great heating, which managed to dry our wet ski clothing within a few hours. The one downfall was the very hard bed on my aching muscles (haven't been skiing for awhile) and pillow. The bedding needs to be updated. All in all had a nice stay. Get new beds or thicker mattress and pillows and I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Great location. Close to Perisher, providing shuttle service. Wifi available in the grill/bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CarolineS848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed the level of service and efficiency of our staff . Thank you for your comments in relation to our beds. Several of our rooms have differing mattresses - some softer than others. To enable us to continue to provide a satisfactory service to all our guests, we welcome your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

Perfect location. Staff are overly friendly, go out of their way to help you and your family. Rooms are basic just beds and a bathroom, no tv or fridges. I highly recommended that ski rider look into at least a bar fridge in the future, the TVs we can live without! Although there's always bring an esky and throw some snow it in and leave it outside your door! Definitely returning every year my kids loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyandbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thanks for your great review. We look forward to seeing you and your kids again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I did a lot of homework on where to stay for my first trip to Perisher and made the choice to stay at Ski Rider. I am so glad I did, they made it one of the best ski trips I've had. The service was awesome with the staff always cheerful and willing to help. The food in Guppies was absolutely incredible and being able to rent all the equipment,purchase lift tickets, and having transportation to and from the mountain made the trip perfect. Thanks to all the the people at Ski Rider for making it a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 903darylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Hi DarylB - we are pleaed to hear that Ski Rider was all you expected it to be and that "doing your homework" paid off! Thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a great weekend staying at Ski Rider - the rooms are basic but fine for a ski weekend, you don't really spend much time there anyway :) The dinner was fantastic in the Grill (cook your own meat and the cuts were very high quality, salads and hot sides were delicious). We enjoyed dinner there so much that we requested it the next night - can't comment on the 'dining room' for dinner.
The only negatives i would say:
1. breakfast was very school kitchen... spaghetti, hash browns etc. the only fruit was tinned fruit so i didn't enjoy breakfast anywhere near as much as dinner.
2. without realising on booking we had to buy a park entry pass which adds up if you're staying for 3 days. nothing Ski Rider can do about it but it was a slight annoyance to us.
3. this is consistent with most hotels at perisher but how do they get away with charging per person for a room?!?!!
All in all i would definitely go back - make sure you request the grill!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

As you enjoyed Guppies Grill so much, please remember to request it at the time of booking next time you stay at Ski Rider.

We do charge per person - as do most hotels at the ski fields. We try to keep costs per person affordable. If we charged per room, then a two share whould need to be as expensive as a six person room. Unfortunately the nature of seasonal accommodation compared to city hotels means we need to structure our rates this way.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at a lot of places in perisher and around the world for snowboarding and this must be one of the best. All of the staff are super friendly and you immediately feel very welcome. The food is awesome with top quality cuts of meat every night in the grill bar. The snow has been so good this year in Aus (finally) so I think we will be heading back again in a month and will definitely be staying at the ski rider again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thanks for your comments Brett. We regularly receive great comments about our staff and it is also nice to hear you appreciated the quality of meats we provide. Our Head Chef has been at Ski Rider for many years and takes pride in assuring the quality of food presented here. We too hope the great snow continues and to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Staff were great - they were without a doubt the best thing about the place. The beds were very uncomfortable and the linen was old and dated. The rooms were very noisy, strange banging noises all night and we were easily awoken early in the morning by the neighbouring rooms. The bathroom was ridiculously tiny, less than a metre square of floor space which made life difficult as when sharing a room with 5 people you need to get changed in the bathroom. The shower was not very good which was disappointing as all you want after a day on the slopes is a nice long hot shower. Some guests I overheard complained that their showers were even cold! The bathroom light and fan are connected so when you finish your shower it is then freezing cold whilst you dry yourself and get dressed. We ate in the grill most nights, the food was good but the children's meals were very small servings (only 3 chipolota sausages for meat content, which is not enough for a teenager) and the cost to upgrade to an adults meal was an extra $17 per day - a bit steep! We would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamwa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Ski Rider. We endeavour to ensure all our guests enjoy their time here and strive to continually improve our services. We are unable to ascertain which room you stayed in, however strange banging noises all night is concerning to us. We would like to ensure that this unusual problem is rectified and would have done so had this issue been brought to our attention during your stay. Similarly, we do not expect our guests to have cold showers. If this is the case we would resolve the problem as soon as it is brought to our attention. If you feel comfortable doing so, we ask that you contact us at your convenience to discuss how we might otherwise have improved your stay. Our free call number is 1800023558. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Yes it's a relatively basic accommodation experience, but the important things are done well, hot heating and showers, good food ( not much choice) and very friendly staff. Birthday cake for our son with enthusiastic singing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for your review and for choosing Ski Rider for your snow holiday. If you choose to stay at Ski Rider again remember that we have two dining areas, our dining room with a 3 course meal or the grill. (Request your preference when booking). Menu's in each area change daily and it is possible to experience both areas. Any feedback on the choices availble is always welcomed by our chefs. Thanks for your positive comment towards our staff. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
7.6 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
87 reviews
7.5 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
108 reviews
7.6 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
16.4 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
198 reviews
7.6 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Rider Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Rider Hotel

Address: Kosciuszko Road | Wilsons Valley, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range: $214 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ski Rider Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 11kms from Perisher. Free parking and Free guest shuttle to lifts. Stay close to the snow without paying on-snow prices. Delicious meals, warm comfortable rooms, Free entertainment & onsite hire. Luggage holding facilities and change rooms with hot showers available for before check in or after check out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ski Rider Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing