We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Ski Rider Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ski Rider Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviewed September 16, 2013

6 days here and the only fault I could find was the weight gain through eating too many OP Ribs at Guppies Bar and Grill. Staff were all friendly and helpful and no request was too much trouble, dining room meals were nice but the grill was amazing, room was basic but hey, its only for sleeping. Proximity to the snow and frequency of shuttle buses was great. Hire boots and skis were better than average. They even turned on 5cm of snow at the hotel for the last night there. Was great to sit in the grill bar with a glass of red and watch the snow fall. Went with my 11 Y.O son and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropical_john1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We are pleased you were able to experience Guppies Grill at it's optimum .... OP ribs, red wine, the fire place AND snow falling outside the window. Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to having you stay with us at Ski Rider again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Si Rider is a convenient hotel in many ways, being both child friendly and close to the ski slopes. Provides everything you need in the form of decent accommodation and meals, ski equipment hire and transport to the slopes. We would definitely come here again with children.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ski Rider is a great place to stay whilst holidaying in the snow. We boarded Perisher, Blue Cow, Guthega (and Smiggins for our first-timer) every day and it was so handy being able to catch the complimentary shuttle bus to travel the 10kms to the resorts each day. The rooms are pretty basic, however more than adequate for the limited amount of time actually spent in the room. Meals were fantastic, the staff and service was great, and the facilities provided were excellent. I'll definitely be booking in to stay again on next years snow holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

It sounds as though you had the perfect holiday. We can't wait to see you back at Ski Rider again. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great heating and shower! Food was amazing! And so too was the big TV screen playing extreme skiing videos during dinner! Ross and the staff at the ski hire were so patient and helpful with getting all the right gear for us. Love the "community" spirit of Ski Rider. The entertainment was impressive (esp. the magic show!!!). Our family holiday was pretty much perfect thanks to the wonderful services at Ski Rider. I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hi Sarah, it is wonderful you and your family enjoyed your holiday at Ski Rider. We also think our staff are fantastic and this definitely contributes to the "community spirt", as you put it. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here in August for a weekend ski trip. We have three kids under 5. The room we had was very large and comfortable with a queen bed and three singles (one bunk bed). Plenty of room for the kids to run around in the room. It's very close to the ski fields, just a 10+ minute drive. Dinner was good hearty home cooked style, nothing special but just what you need after a day on the slopes. Would definitely stay here again. Excellent if you want basic accommodation close to the ski fields. A TV in the room would have been nice, but not essential. All in all very happy with this find.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Travelling to the snow with three children under 5 would present it's own set of challenges so we are pleased to hear that you were very happy with Ski Rider. We suggest bringing your own in room entertainment devices (ipad, DS etc) for young children, or just pop up to reception to borrow suitable board games. Thank you for your review. We look forward to you and your family visiting Ski Rider again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

great staff , clean warm room. this is basic accommodation at a price to match! The breakfast and dinner were tasty budget meals with plenty on the plate. the chefs obviously knew how to cook! I was happy to recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks for your review Damian. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the meals at Ski Rider and will pass your comments onto our chefs. It is fantastic you have recommended us to your friends. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have just stayed at Ski Rider for the third time (17-23 Aug 2013) and will definitely go there again. Great value basic accommodation, fantastic eating and wonderful, friendly staff. Also, the shuttle is a convenient option compared to fighting traffic (not to mention no worries with RBT after an unwind drink or two on the hill)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Wonderful to read you had another great stay at Ski Rider this year Daniel. Please do come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
7.5 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
107 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
87 reviews
7.6 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
52 reviews
7.7 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#8 of 8 in Perisher Valley
59 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sponars Chalet
Sponars Chalet
#10 of 22 in Kosciuszko National Park
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Rider Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Rider Hotel

Address: Kosciuszko Road | Wilsons Valley, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range: $235 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ski Rider Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 11kms from Perisher. Free parking and Free guest shuttle to lifts. Stay close to the snow without paying on-snow prices. Delicious meals, warm comfortable rooms, Free entertainment & onsite hire. Luggage holding facilities and change rooms with hot showers available for before check in or after check out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Otel, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ski Rider Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing