We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundeck Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Barrakee Lodge(Perisher Valley)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ski Rider Hotel(Perisher Valley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Perisher Valley Hotel(Perisher Valley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marritz Hotel(Perisher Valley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Snowy Gums Chalet(Smiggin Holes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Perisher Manor(Perisher Valley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Guthega Alpine Hotel(Perisher Valley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
44
30
11
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
30
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun deckguest loungebreakfast and dinnergreat ski holidaycomfortable roomscourtyard roomlive musicplenty of hot watermet some great peopledrying roommountain viewplace to stayski geargreat foodgreat positionsmall bathroomnext year
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 87 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

What an awesome location for a hotel at the snow!

Spent two nights here while boarding in Spring and loved it. The rooms were small but had all you really needed. Bed and bathroom. My only complaint is that there was only one power point in the whole room, and it was in the bathroom. There was 3 of us in the room so it made it very difficult to charge anything.

Food was amazing and the bar/lounge area was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blizzard_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffSundeck, Owner at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your comments - pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The hotel was rebuilt in 1960 (after a fire - the original lasted for less than a year!), hence the shortage of power points, although all rooms do have at least one in the bedroom as well as the bathroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hosts here really looked after us from the moment we arrived until we left. Rooms are modest but very clean and some have lovely views. The lounge area is cosy and comfy with a great view out watching the activity of Perisher. Everything is here and the staff make you feel so comfortable. Nothing was a problem. The meals were tasty and interesting and most importantly very reasonably priced.The friendliness of the staff just flows through the whole place and all the guests were friendly as well - just a great atmosphere. On a sunny day it is very pleasant to sit in the sun with a cuppa and enjoy the mountain air if you don't want to ski. Definitely recommend this place as a place to stay in the mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffSundeck, Owner at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your nice review. Pleased you enjoyed your time in the mountains and hoep to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

As a regular at Smiggins Hotel for the past 7 seasons we got sick of the treck back to Smiggins at the end of a hard ski day & had been waiting til our son was old enough to not need the Kids Club at Smiggins Hotel.. Well we've now found our new regular on-snow accomm.. Now if luxury is what you want then don't stay here. You are paying for location!! Nothing is renovated (apart from a new hot water system which does a very good hot shower). The rooms are very basic, but clean, beds comfortable enough, & the heater was perfect on Level 3 (enough to dry the underwear & ski gear for morning). There is no guest laundry so my husband washed his underwear & ski shirt in the shower. No T.V but there's a Kid's upstairs den with t.v. Mind you our child had his ipad which kept him amused, there's also a pool table for $3 a game which the kids can use. We stayed in a triple room which was also mountain view. The food was pretty good. Now we booked well before May for our Aug stay so I was a little cranky to hear that it is only returning guests who got the free lunch deals for booking b4 May. We had 2 days of lunch there due to poor weather so free lunch would've been good!! I was amazed to find that with so many children staying there was absolutely NO suitable children's menu. Our child pretty much survived on the pre-dinner bread & dessert. It would not kill the kitchen to have 1 dedicated children's meal per night, such as spaghetti bol. or chicken tenders, etc.. They just had to choose from the adult menu & got a smaller serving, at least my husband was happy with the extra food that my child didn't eat, because the meals were not that big ( & apparently getting smaller with each year).. At least no-one seemed to dress up for dinner which is the last last thing you feel like doing after skiing all day. Even though Cliff is not exactly 'outgoing' he is always at hand to fix any 'issues', he plays the piano beautifully & his staff are very courteous & hardworking!! All said we had a fabulous week & will stay there again!!

Room Tip: Mountain View
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lill1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffSundeck, Owner at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Ive been going to Perisher on and off since 1989 and had always noted the fabulous position of the Sundeck and hoped that one day I might stay there. Well this year I was finally able to do so, and what a treat!
My partner and I stayed for 7 days and although initially in a Courtyard room (no Mountain View Rooms available as I'd booked too late) and we were moved to the larger room on the 3rd day. Both rooms were clean and well maintained although the MV rooms are definitely the pick! Gorgeous views, a sofa and larger room and ensuite made this room worth the extra $$$. If you're expecting 5 star then you're being unrealistic. I imagine running a hotel of this quality in this location and still making it affordable would be a tricky business and I think Cliff and his wife do a wonderful job.
The two main things of note is the location and the food. The luxury of clicking on your skis 5 steps from the door is not to be underestimated. When I think of the expense and the exhaustion of getting off the mountain after a long day, staying at the Sundeck was priceless..
The food - excellent. Standard buffet breakfast with everything you need to get you started for a big day. Enough variation to keep you interested. Dinner was brilliant. 3 choices each for entree, main and dessert, nothing repeated in the whole 7 days (except ice cream for dessert - I think that's acceptable :-)) All food arrived quickly, hot and in perfect portions (if you've got a big appetite just ask for more bread!)
Dont worry that there is a bar, often with live music, attached to the hotel. We didn't hear anything from our room, although some people said they heard the snow guns but it didn't keep them awake!
All in all I have to say that the Sundeck is a well run, perfectly positioned place to have a great week in the snow. We didn't want to go anywhere else while we were there but our priority was skiing not apré ski. If you're after nightlife and you're not happy with the same place every night - even though the Sundeck has comedy nights, live music and trivia and a GREAT bar! - you might be better off staying somewhere else, but for me, the Sundeck was perfect!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank penelopeabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundeckhotel, Public Relations Manager at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for the lovely comments. The Sundeck staff are looking forward to seeing you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you look at the other reviews that I have written I am no stranger to good holidays. I think that given that - our high opinion of the last five days at the Sundeck has all the more weight.
Let's start with the food. We were spoilt for choice with both quality and quantity. Being able to select from three choices for entree,main & desert every night and each option being a good option is fantastic.
Next, the staff. Nothing is ever too much trouble or not attended to with a smile. I am sure dealing with the public & being asked the same questions sometimes difficult - but they all give the impression that they are happy to work hard & to help.
Thirdly, the location. It really is ski in ski out. And once in, there is not really a reason to leave. The guest lounge is comfortable and the bar entertainment varied.
We have only been here 5 days, but we are leaving more happy & relaxed than when we arrived - which is the purpose of a holiday after all, isn't it??

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozmumwith12yrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundeckhotel, Public Relations Manager at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews