We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, tired but beautiful location in Perisher.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eiger Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eiger Chalet
Level Contributor
233 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location, tired but beautiful location in Perisher.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Love skiing in and out of this great location. Meals are great value and lots of it. Dinner takes a while, but food is excellent. Rooms are badly in need of an upgrade as the wind whistles in during storm activity. Bathrooms are cold and tiny. However, this lodge was built in the 50s when expectations were different, so there is an undeniable romance and step back in time, with the ghosts of many great times permeating the chalets atmosphere. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flashmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
7
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Eiger as always was an ideal combination of location, service and comfort. The staff are great and Sue and Sharon are great hosts. The meals were as always a great part of the Eiger experience. Anyone staying should book Greg for a massage on site and combined with the Sauna and spa round out the day nicely. We were lucky to have great snowfalls from the second day of our stay and the close proximity to the lifts and ski tube mean you can access most of the runs as the conditions change. The Wii golf challenge over a few days added to the experience. The Bar and entertainment in the afternoons were also enjoyable. Only negative is if you get up before 6am the heaters aren't on, so early risers take a book or partner and stay in bed till 7:30 :-)

Room Tip: Ring or email Sue or Sharon to discuss your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niftwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Let me begin by saying that I have stayed here many times and will keep coming back.

The accommodations although not modern, they do however keep in with style of the Alpine area. We had a party of three this year and due to a late cancellation were upgraded to the 3 Bedroom Unit, at no extra charge. This was ideal for our purposes, providing a common kitchen area to congregate and socialise. Thank you!

The food is very good, as is the waiter service. The staff are friendly and inviting, the manager takes the time every night at dinner to see if your happy with everything.

The sauna and hot tub are most inviting after a long day on the snow, as is the White Spider Bar. A bit of Wii Golf in the games room also entertained for a short while.

Entertainment by way of solo artist was excellent, which we were lucky enough to have 3 out of 5 nights.

Usually I find the temperature in the accommodation area to be too hot, this year I found it to be a little cold, perhaps next year it will be just right. (Goldilocks Syndrome maybe)

Overall I highly recommend this place and will be coming back once again next year.

Room Tip: Book the Units, they are the pick of the bunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our stay at the Eiger Chalet in Perisher was for a group to experience a weekend in the snow. The location right on the snow and the overall great experience was heightened by the friendly staff. The White Spider restaurant for dinner on the Saturday night was awesome, great food and service. Congrats to Sue, Ruth & the best bar tender Mitch thanks to all for making our stay feel like home.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the mountain, the views are spectacular !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic stay with the Eiger family. Superb location, close to the lifts and Perisher centre, with the best bar restaurant (the White Spider) on the mountain. Dinners were a real treat with a great menu to select from, this as well as breakfast included in the tarriff. Accommodation is basic but adequate but the real winner is the service from Eigers excellent staff, all of whom looked after us so well. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Thanks to the reviews here I chose the Eiger Chalet for my very special weekend snowshoeing present to myself. Spotlessly clean single room (a rarity in the snowies) with ensuite. Lovely and warm. Delicious food and wonderfully friendly staff who couldn't do enough to please! I phoned up earlier to ask about hairdryers in the room (to save on luggage)and was told they'd put one in my room. I asked about electric blankets as I'm a cold sleeper. They said the rooms were warm enough without them but that I could have an extra heater if I needed. True to their word, the hairdryer was in my room along with an extra heater (which I didn't really need - I even turned off both heaters after the room quickly heated up after my return each evening). The food (one dinner and one breakfast included in the price) is delicious and such big serves that I couldn't finish my meals - and I could eat for Australia! The other meal (as are the drinks) are so reasonably priced and although the wine list is small it's comprehensive and of good quality. Wonderful views of the ski runs from my room, and close to everything. Thank you fellow reviewers for putting me on to this place. I shall return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent all-round. Great location, great food. People come here to eat when they're staying elsewhere. A meal or two at "The White Spider" restaurant is a must for anyone staying in Perisher. Staff were all friendly and very accommodating. Games room a bonus in case the weather's no good. Over snow transfers not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarWal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
0.7 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
8.3 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
8.4 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiger Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Chalet

Property: Eiger Chalet
Address: Kosciuszko Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Perisher Valley
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing