We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great lodge near the Interceptor Quad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrakee Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrakee Lodge
Save
You added Barrakee Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great lodge near the Interceptor Quad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was my first stay on-snow so can’t compare to other on-snow accommodation, but I was really impressed with the service, staff and overall atmosphere at the Barrakee lodge. The lodge is located about a 5-10 minute ride by snow mobile from the main perisher ski tube terminal, and is also a short walk to the Interceptor quad char.

The managers (Craig and Sharn) do a great job at creating a really friendly and warm atmosphere. The rooms were clean and comfortable and looked like they had recently been renovated. Facilities within the room were fairly basic (e.g. ours didn’t have a TV) but you are only really there to sleep so no big issue for us. There is however a bar and big TV in a communal lounge area where everyone congregated at night time.

We only stayed one night but the food was really great. It was a three course set meal and was big enough to recharge the batteries after a day on the snow. We were up too late to have the full breakfast, but it also looked good!

There was communal dining but everyone we ate with was really friendly and down to earth. A couple of people we got talking to have been coming here for years, so I guess that is a good indication that Barrakee must be doing something right!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noleave-nolife12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A friend organised this accomodation for us, as it was our first time in the snow...and we could not have been happier. The lodge is in North Perisher, about 10min from the main Perisher centre and Front Valley slope by over-snow transport, but is only a short walk from T-bars and chair-lifts (for those able to handle the more experienced runs). There's an area out the back where the kids can play and make snowmen, and even do a short 50-60m tobogan run down to the creek.

The staff generally take a group of skiers/snowboarders into Perisher about 9am and pick you up at 4:30pm. [By day 4 we were stuffed, so we asked if they could drop us in at lunchtime so we could do half a day - which was no problem.]

The rooms are basic, but roomy enough, and the small ensuit bathrooms/toilets have been recently renovated and are of a good standard (the showers are nice and hot!).

The lodge has a good Sauna that we used to sooth our aching muscles most days.

The lodge has a small bar, a big lounge area with a big open fireplace and plenty of comfy couches and a big screen TV. The adjoining dining room is basic, but the food is excellent - probably the best we have had when travelling. Although a set menu it never dissappointed. Kids dine at 6pm and adults at 7pm. Although not ususally my style to dine with total strangers, the communal meals were actually good fun and we met some really nice people.

The best thing about the stay was the service - managers Craig and Sharn were fantastic, as were all of the staff... everyone was very friendly and were super helpful. If we made it back to the snow we'd have no hesitation in booking back in to Barrakee Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It was so good I didn't want to go home! Staff are always friendly and helpful. The place is always cosy and welcoming, especially after a whole day in the snow. Room was a little old, but comfortable.

The food is excellent, if this is a restaurant I will hike up the mountain everyday for a meal!

Although far from Perisher, it is near a few lifts and T-bars, and the friendly staff are willing to drive you out if you tell them in advance!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiyuki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I have stayed at Barrakee Lodge many times in the past and I'm looking forward to returning in just a few weeks. Barakee has excellent hosts, who couldn't be more welcoming and bend over backward to make your stay a really enjoyable experience. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is wonderful and there's lots of it. The furnishings are a little tired but very comfortable, the beds are great and the lodge is very clean. Although you can't always ski in, ski out (depends on the season) the complimentary over-snow to the lifts is a great fun way to get to know your fellow guests. The lodge has all sorts of customers, ranging from young families through mates doing their annual ski holiday to older skiers who are still young at heart. The variety makes for an interesting stay.The lodge is a long hike from Perisher Centre, so it's not so convenient to take advantage of the nightlife there but after a hard day skiing and an excellent dinner, bed seems like the best idea anyway. There is always the local taxi service and some nights you can even hitch a ride with the staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaidinOzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perisher Valley hotels
1.1 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#7 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrakee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrakee Lodge

Property: Barrakee Lodge
Address: North Perisher, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrakee Ski Lodge is located at Nth Perisher, near to the Interceptor Quad Chair and at the base of the Nth Perisher T-bar. Located on snow, guests enjoy the full snow experience, from the moment they arrive by oversnow vehicle. Access to the resort is easy, via nearby lifts or complimentary shuttles. With a squash court for the more energetic, a sauna to ease those aching muscles and a fully licensed bar, Barrakee has after skiing covered too! Barrakee prides itself on offering fantastic hospitality with a welcoming atmosphere for all guests. Sensational meals and an impressive wine cellar will delight you. Guest rooms have been recently refurbished, for your comfort. Barrakee is more than a hotel - it is a home away from home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing