We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stables Perisher
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome again”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Second time for us and next year will be third. The stables have great amenities and are so close to the skiing which makes the holiday much easier. From the room service, the great restaurant (especially the surf and turf), the nightly chats with Ben in the bar to help us novice skiers, the whole package is complete.
One suggestion to families to make life easier, hire lockers for boots and skis at perisher ski centre to avoid having to carry anything home each night. Make sure you are at he stop sign between 3-5 on the half hour to get a free lift home each afternoon. This makes the kids, and parents much happier, and gives more time to play in the snowy courtyard.
Thanks again The Stables for making our snow holiday simply amazing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit such a fantastic review. Good tip about the lockers! The Stables crew really look forward to hosting your third visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    17
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have been coming to the Stables for quite a few years now, and have stayed in everything from the smaller, and comfortable studios to the chalets with groups up to 8 people. sometimes staying up to 10 days, moving between lodge chalets to studios in the same trip, every time i come here, the staff are great and helpful and go out of their way to help you.

Views from the larger apartments are stunning, looking south and over Mt Perisher Itself. The larger lodges and chalets are very roomy, well maintained, and well appointed with everything you need for a self catered holiday with a large group, and the heated floors are just the ticket after a hard day in the ski or boarding boots. just dont forget to leave your bottle of soft drink on the verandah to cool it lest it become buried in snow and solid.
You will never feel to cold anywhere indoors.

During windy times, or good seasons, a large amount of snow accumulates between the lodges and chalets and makes walking to and from the restaurant and to the slopes interesting,be prepared for some wet socks if you have cheap worn out shoes as i do, but i find it adds to the on snow experience. in good seasons, im sure you could ski off the roof into the courtyard thought the other guests and staff might not be willing to shout you a drink in the bar if you did.

Food at the restaurant is well priced when you consider the quality, and quantity of the meals. all food in perisher isnt cheap, but the food here has to be the best i have ever had while staying on the mountain. even the butter chicken is done better than most up market indian restaurants in Sydney. The Surf and Turf is simply stunning, and the ribs, just perfect every time. a credit to the fantastic chef.

The only real negative i can think of, well, it isnt enough to stop me coming back year after year, has to be the walk from the station building back up to the resort. it can be done, but not so much fun on a really windy day in said dodgy cheap worn out shoes. the snow gets quite chewed up by the oversnow transports and is difficult to walk in, especially after a hard day on the skis or board. the free oversnow runs between 3 and 5 pm, and is a great service, but sometimes im just worn out after lunch, and not as young as i used to be, and the walk back up is well, not fun. if your lucky, and you see the blue hugglands, and with a bit of sweetalking, you can catch a ride back up.

The Stables is the best secret in Perisher. shhhhhh.

Room Tip: lodge chalets for the views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your secret of the best place to stay. I am glad you commented on the courtyard filling with snow as we grapple with the operational issues of clearing it versus the element of fun and looks of awe on the kids faces. The Stables Restaurant is getting rave reviews and is well worth having at least one dine in meal during your stay. Thanks again and the crew look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Perisher has some of the best snow, slopes and scenery in Australia.
Best value resort, quality service, deluxe on-snow accommodation and a chef to be reckon with. There are lots of people to mention and to say, “thank you, I’ll be back”.

The Stables offers a home-away-from-home experience with a great selection of accommodation. From studio apartments to chalets, perfect for couples, families and small groups.

On arrival at the Ski-Tube, Glenn who was our over-snow transport guy was very nice and easy to get to know. BTW, it’s free on arrival and departure for all guests staying at The Stables. Not to mentioned a courtesy skier’s shuttle is available at a designated pick-up point after a morning of snowboarding from 3-5pm.

We were greeted by Mindy, the receptionist who had a smile that warmed our hearts. She was very helpful in all our silly little questions, great tips to go and see, an even keeping tabs on us on our drive to Bullocks Flat Ski-Tube station.

Our private studio accommodation was great, it was really spacious and all the amenities you require. This self-catering apartment has a kitchen, microwave, fan-forced oven, dishwasher, and even a washing machine and dryer.

Compliment to Chef Simon and Restaurant Manager Robyn.
What a feast! Thank you for the amazing seafood platter!

Before we dive into the delicious meals the Stables Restaurant had to offer. Meals on the snow are not cheap, don’t get me wrong – there are a few restaurants and bars on offer for the après-skiers. Here are a couple of tips to save money; there is a supermarket at the Perisher Centre if you want to cook on your own.

Or I highly recommend in pre-purchasing meal plans which were offered by Deane’s snow holidays; whom we booked our accommodation. Enjoy a hot buffet breakfast and the choice of a two-course meal from the a-la-carte dinner menu for only $68 a day.

The Stables restaurant offers a local gourmet style dining service in a relaxed environment, offering superb food and great wine list. We didn’t get to try their entrée’s, as we were tantalised by the Chef Simon’s main and dessert selection.

Grain fed grass Black Angus eye fillet served with a half lobster tail (yes, you read correctly) with garlic butter, chive mash and demi glaze. This ‘’Surf & Turf’ was cooked to perfection. Or try the Free-range chicken breast filled with Moreton bay bug meat wrapped in a Brie cheese and semi-dried tomato, laid on a crumbed risotto cake.

Dessert is what everyone looks at first. Hot sticky date pudding that melts in your mouth with homemade butterscotch sauce and ice-cream. Or get intimate with your partner with a chocolate fondue for two – Belgian finest dark chocolate laced in Grand Marnier.

Head upstairs to the ‘cosy’ bar that offers excellent-value bar snacks, German beers (recommend trying Maisels Weisse and Aktien) and a nice selection of schnapps. Have a chat to Ben behind the bar, friendly down-to-earth guy who was awesome in giving us city folk’s tips on snowboarding. They were offering one free schnapps when you purchase your first drink after a day on the snow. What a great special they had on offer!

My mates and I had a brilliant time at the snow! I got to learn how to snowboard for the first time, had lessons every morning at Blue Cow, and met decent people in the beginners group. But most of all, the service we received at The Stables was brilliant. A close nit group of people who made our stay so comfortable and memorable.

Thanks again to the team and Matt the GM.

Details, bookings: www.deanes.com.au, p: 1300 DEANES, e: office@deanes.com.au

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rruiz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Wow what a fantastic and comprehensive review, both on the property and the dining experience. Amazing you got everyone's name and spent some time singling out our staff for special mention. Stables is unique in Perisher and reviews like yours reinforce the belief that we are providing a great product and it's reassuring when others agree. Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed with the family - huge 2 bedroom apartment, with everything you need, including a gas fireplace! Would recommend it. Food quality very high, service great. All the staff very friendly and helpful. Yes, it is expensive, but good value as you get so much more space than anywhere else on the snow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and loked both the Family Chalet and the Stables Restaurant. The property represents great value if you want the flexibility of doing your own thing or dining in, or a bit of both. The Stables is ideal for those wanting a little bit of luxury with their snow holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Oh my goodness this place is a treasure in the snow. I go to Perisher every year with my extended family and Friends, and had never come across this until a Friend invited us for Dinner in their hotel. We were picked up by a snow cat in the Perisher Carpark and went to the bar first. A warm and Friendly environment, fireplace and overlooking the Restaurant. It was an absolute Blizzard so couldn't see anything outside, but I imagine there would be a lovely outlook on a normal day.

We had a tour of our friends room and was most impressed. They loved it and I understand why. We dined and the service was exceptional. Honey prawns for an entree, Surf and Turf for main and sticky date for desert. This is world class food. My daughter and Partner had the chicken for a main and they loved it. Exceptional value for the quality of food and service. Next season I will be booking this for all of us to go to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnsy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience (everyone loves the "surf and turf") and that you will be back to experience the whole Stables experience......thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A three night stay in a to floor apartment for two couples was perfect. Bedroom upstairs with ensuite and spa, full bathroom and king bed downstairs. A fireplace (which was really welcome after a day in the snow). The restaurant was so good we ate there every night! Top food! Great staff (especially Robyn the waitress). Highly recommend for short or long stay. 5 minute walk to the Lifts and an oversnow vehicle if you are too tired to walk up the hill. The bar is great for Après Ski and recounting those amazing skiing stories... Highly recommend and we will be back!

Room Tip: Room was great but if you want a view ask for a front room where you can see Perisher Front Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonikasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time out to write such a great review. Robyn and the restaurant crew have been getting some fantastic comments. Love to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had much an amazing time at the Stables. The room were perfect. The Restaurant was amazing - try the surf and turf. Its worth it!
The bathrooms had heated floors, which is excellent on those cold winter mornings.
I had heaps of fun on the mountain, and at the hotel. Its walking distance from the Man from Snowy River Hotel too which makes for a fun night too.
Highly recommend this place. Its awesome.

Room Tip: ask for the heated tiles in bathroom :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taxmybarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. The surf and turf IS getting great reviews as is the property generally, which means the crew are doing a fantastic job. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
0.1 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
66 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#7 of 8 in Perisher Valley
51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stables Perisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables Perisher

Property: The Stables Perisher
Address: 20 Candle Heath Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia (Formerly The Stables Apartments)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stables Apartments consist of deluxe self-contained chalets & apartments nestled around a main reception building. Situated in the heart of Perisher Valley each spacious timber and granite apartment is completely self-contained, featuring well appointed furnishings, including CD/TV/DVD, microwave, fan-forced oven & dishwasher. The laundry includes washing machine & dryer and many apartments boast spa baths, under floor heating & gas flame fireplaces. The Stables is home to a stylish licensed Restaurant and bar, a popular dining option in Perisher. Guests will receive dinner in our restaurant as part of their package. Breakfast can be added for only $20 per adult and $15 per child. Complementary over snow transfers are available from the Perisher Skitube Terminal to The Stables, on arrival and departure days during specified times. A courtesy afternoon skier's pick up also operates from The Perisher Skitube Terminal between 3pm - 5pm daily for Stables guests. Luggage storage is available on arrival and departure day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stables Perisher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stables Apartments Hotel Perisher Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing