We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great On-Snow Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stables Perisher

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stables Perisher
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great On-Snow Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Stables accommodation is 5 star. Staff friendly and eager to help ... nothing is a problem for them. The restaurant has a relaxed atmosphere but the food is definitely fine dining standard. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to the snow!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, a great way to start the season. I know the Stables crew are focusing on making the restaurant even better this year. Glad you enjoyed and hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    17
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a long weekend at The Stables Resort Perisher. This is on snow accommodation at it's best. Get up in the morning click on your skis and zip down the hill and across the little bridge and you are at the ski fields!!! Our Chalet ( number 16) is two storey with full kitchen, fireplace, laundry/drying room for your equipment and has king size bedroom with ensuite, double bedroom and a twin bedroom. They are very warm and cozy you can walk around minimally clothed no problem. Views are awesome of front valley, Quad lift etc. Looks great when night skiing is on. For families so much easier than having to catch the skitube with gear and kids in tow. You can get the Hans oversnow to pick you up in front of the skitube terminal and take you back up the mountain to the chalet after a hard day skiing. This September was still great skiing on the green runs even though it was spring, beautiful in Pretty and Happy Valley, Perisher was generally quiet but this is great because obviously not as many people on the slopes. Kids loved skischool and are now amazing skiers after 3 days last year and one day this season. The Stables has a fantastic restaurant that caters for kids too, they also do room service, what more can you ask, oh and the bathrooms have heated floors!!!! Definitely recommended!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumi-Goez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Exceeded expectations, we stayed in family chalet in late August and had everything we needed. For first time skiers we didn't really know what to do but The Stables made it easy. From when we arrived in Perisher, the blue machine arrived to take us to the apartments, to the final day when we left in a blizzard, we couldnt find a fault. The rooms were clean, warm, and spacious with good views. The units are close to the slopes, as well as an easy walk to the shops for supplies. We will be back next year.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad the crew looked after you and as first time skiers made it easy for you, which is what staying 'on mountain' is all about. Look forward to your next review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Fantastic. Definately the place to stay on snow. The accommodation was excellent and extremely comfortable, the staff and owners hospitality was excellent, friendly and courteous, the food was five star. Definately value for money and would highly recommend The Stables as the place to stay for your snow vacation.

Room Tip: Room 7 was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to provide such great feedback. We are delighted to hear that the team looked after you and you enjoyed the restaurant. This time of year can definately provide the best value for money, still lots of snow and cheaper rates means affordable skiing. Matt and the crew look forward to seeing you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent four nights at The Stables and had a great stay. Had a 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom family apartment. There was plenty of space; really comfortable lounges; modern ammenities; flat screen TV; DVD; stereo; well equipped kitchen; washer and drier. Nothing seemed too much trouble which was nice.

The Stables has its own oversnow which is brilliant - but our booking agent failed to tell us so we paid for oversnow on the first day. They were also happy to pick us up after their regular afternoon shuttle when we asked earlier in the day.

Food out of the restaurant is great quality and not obscenely priced, just normal snow prices. I ordered in a couple of times and the meal arrived as hot as it would if were in the restaurant itself.

Underfloor heating is great. The gas fire was burning on arrival. The apartment was warm. The drying room probably wasn't warm enough but this is minor.

The beds in our apartment were way too firm and I often woke up during the night. Would have to say that this really bothered me because... well, who doesn't like a good night's sleep when you are active during the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutch_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks for the nice review, sorry you didnt like the beds though. Not sure we have had that feedback before but will get housekeeping to keep an eye on any future comments.
The apartments are set up with everything you need and having the restaurant on site you can eat in, order room service or self cater, the best of all worlds. Matt and Eve and the crew hope to see you back next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just got back to WA from a week of skiing in Perisher. Six of us stayed at The Stables and I can honestly say I can't fault it. The apartment was clean, warm with excellent facilities. Access to the slopes was easy and an over snow ride is always available. The 'apres ski' bar was great and the free schnapps was a treat. The Stables restaurant was also excellent. Will definately be heading back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed the restaurant and bar as well. Hopefully the big boss wont see the bit about the free schnaps though (joking). Matt and Eve look forward to hosting you next year. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights a week ago for the snow and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived at Perisher much too early and had nowhere to go so when we asked if we could check in at 9am we were thrilled to find out the apartment was ready and we could check in. We stayed in apartment 21 which had 3 well-sized bedrooms, 2 with ensuites and one next to the main bathroom with a spa. We never ran out of hot water contrary to older reviews. We think the location was perfect. The 5-10min walk up the hill from the slopes is nothing and it suited us fine and if anyone complained, well it's just because they are not fit enough. But for those too tired there was the option of catching the big blue snow 'tractor' every half hour between 3 and 5 after a day of skiing or boarding. In addiiton, if the first pick up was full, Matt or the other driver would return for anyone remaining. Excellent service. It was always on time. One of our friends who hurt themselves requested the Stables to pick her up outside of the normal hours and they did so, very accommodating.
We found the apartment itself very spacious with lots of extra storage space. The kitchen had everything you needed and the oven and microwave were in good working condiiton. Our friends in another apartment did have a problem with their oven and it was fixed the next day. We checked out our other friend's apartments and they were perfect for the 2 or 4 person group they had.
Heating was excellent.
We did have to walk through a foothpath to our apartment from the reception and yes it did snow heavily on our stay (we weren't complaining) and the clearway was shovelled for a day by someone. Within 2 days though they had the bobcats in to clear it completely. If anyone complains about having to walk through a snowy patch, then they shouldn't be in the snow. We were also offered help to take our luggage across the pathway so there was no problem there.
We went to the bar a few nights and it was very cosy with a fireplace and wonderful schnapps! We also dined in the restaurant and found the food was excellent. They accomodated the whole group of 11 very well.
We also ordered pizzas one night which were to die for. All the orders went to different rooms and at the end of the stay the room charges were all correct.
Matt and his wife were very accommodating and pleasant and personable.
Upon checkout we got an itemised account as requested, and we were able to book the blue tractor for a lift to the carpark. It was on time the very next morning.
We will definately stay here again next year and look forward to it.
Highly recommended.
A big thank you to Matt and his family, The Foleys

Room Tip: Apartment 21 was great for 6 people but apparently 27 is the ideal aparment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at The Stables Perisher, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review, even down to nominating our owners apartment as being the one to get.....impressive. Glad the crew went out of their way whenever they could with early check ins and transfers etc, I stress not always possible but we try to be as accommodating as humanly possible. Matt and Eve really look forward to having you back next year and will have the "blue tractor" waiting at Ski Tube when you get there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
0.1 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
0.3 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#7 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stables Perisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables Perisher

Property: The Stables Perisher
Address: 20 Candle Heath Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia (Formerly The Stables Apartments)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Perisher Valley
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stables Apartments consist of deluxe self-contained chalets & apartments nestled around a main reception building. Situated in the heart of Perisher Valley each spacious timber and granite apartment is completely self-contained, featuring well appointed furnishings, including CD/TV/DVD, microwave, fan-forced oven & dishwasher. The laundry includes washing machine & dryer and many apartments boast spa baths, under floor heating & gas flame fireplaces. The Stables is home to a stylish licensed Restaurant and bar, a popular dining option in Perisher. Guests will receive dinner in our restaurant as part of their package. Breakfast can be added for only $20 per adult and $15 per child. Complementary over snow transfers are available from the Perisher Skitube Terminal to The Stables, on arrival and departure days during specified times. A courtesy afternoon skier's pick up also operates from The Perisher Skitube Terminal between 3pm - 5pm daily for Stables guests. Luggage storage is available on arrival and departure day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stables Apartments Hotel Perisher Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing