We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money with a Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Man from Snowy River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money with a Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Have stayed here numerous times spanning over 10 years and always consistently good. Variety of rooms available are excellent including intimate couples, bunk bed rooms for older kids and family suites with adjoining rooms for mum and dad and kids next door. Some rooms have kitchenettes but two meals a day is included in the tariff and coffee/tea making facilities always available in lounge and bar area. Supervised games room available during school holiday periods and live entertainment (e.g 2-3 piece band and/or piano player) during peak season at least. Laundry and sauna facilities.THE BIG BONUS ABOUT THIS VENUE IS THEY OFFER DRIVE IN/OUT UNDERCOVER PARKING FOR THE LENGTH OF YOUR STAY! A extremely rare commodity at Perisher Valley. You need to pre book parking at time of accommodation booking. Access to the garage door is at the front of the hotel directly opposite the Ski Tube Terminal. Remember your car chains if you are taking advantage of the parking as sometimes there is snow right up to the garage door with intercom entry. If you are parking your car at Friday Flat and catching the ski Tube, the Hotel is a flat easy 100metres from the Perisher Ski Tube Terminal.

Room Tip: Couples alone or with older children get a 1st Floor mountain view and if required a family room acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We just finished a weeks stay here and really loved it. We are a young family and it really suited us down to a tee. Tremendous value for on-snow stays in Australia if you consider the high quality three course meals, kids club, hospitality and close and central proximity in Perisher Valley. We spent a long time looking at comparable accommodation and we were very pleased with this place. The rooms are perfectly adequate although not flash but we spent a grand total of about an hour per day in it - who cares when you can sit in the beautiful lounge relaxing while your children are cared for. Brilliant.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just back from a week at "the Man" and cannot exagerate how goo dthis place is. The hosts are very professional,courtious and all round nice people. Rooms are spacious ,well laid out and clean. Meals are an experience on their own and wel worth the price on their own.The view from the lounge/dining room is out of this world and enjoyed from either bar or cocktail lounge also.
All of the staff encountered could not do enough to please,no matter what timr of day or night.

Can go on for ever, and not find a bad thing to say about this fantastic place,make your next visit to Perisher a trip to "The Man" It will be atrip you will never forget and then look forward to your return on your next visit to the snow.

Room Tip: Any room. will not disapoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at The Man the first time I learnt to ski as a 9 year old with my Dad. Now some 24 years later I've stayed here again and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The food was fantastic, I can't say enough about how much we (my boyfriend and I) enjoyed every meal. I think the head chefs name was Dominic?, loved the pork belly! The view back up front valley from the dining room gets you energised at breakfast and relaxes you at the evening meal. Watch out for the extremely comfy lounges in Banjo's Bar, hard to get out of after a hard day on the slopes, but who'd want to when you have a beer/wine in hand and a story or two from the days events to share with whoever will listen. Every staff member was friendly and happy, the room was a decent size and the king bed was the icing on the cake for us two quite tall people. The weekend was topped off by unbelievably awesome weather, blue skies, not a breath of wind on the last day and decent snow cover to make this experience at Perisher my best yet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CassandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I've stayed here for many years. Ann and Brian have been delightful hosts and it has always been a pleasure. I prefer to ski Perisher in NSW because its altitude gives it more consistent snow cover. Mount Perisher and the related resorts give a very wide selection of terrain and the instructors at the Perisher ski school have been consistently good.

When I first started skiing with my young children The Man was an obvious choice. I could pack the gear into the car and pull up and park in the only overnight car park at Perisher Valley. Valet would help us upstairs. The ski school was a 100m across the valley, as were the lifts. Rooms at The Man were comfortable, if a little basic. A lot of building construction in the snow is less substantial than you might expect. Ear plugs can be valuable. Take your own electronic entertainment if needed. There is only a basic TV in each room. I would take a portable DVD and a slection of leads when the kids were younger and I often stayed in a studio King shared room with them. These days they prefer their own entertainment on iPads.

The tarrif includes a good breakfast and a very good three course dinner each night. Service from all staff has always been tremendous. The dining area and lounge are very pleasant with good views of the mountain at meals.

The clothing drying room is extremely effective. We noticed the boot drying room wasn't drying on my last trip, so we had to shift our boots to the clothes room. Laundry facilities are good.

On snow accomodation in Australia is always expensive, but the package at The Man was simply perfect for a young family, and we continue to use it now they are young adults who ski well and love to ski.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We checked in very quick, Troy was very helpful getting our luggage up. We had the suite for our family of 5. Our rooms were nothing special, old monitor TV, the one in the kids room didn't even work!!. Rooms were warm and cosy, but you could hear the heating throughout the night. Very expensive but considering we went peak time this was as expected.
Breakfast was ample service was quick.
Dinner was nice and menu changed every day, they even had kids club were the kids ate separately and us adults could enjoy our dinner.
The chef was very creative and food was out pretty quick.
The only bad point is at approx 9pm every night kids would run up and down the corridor screaming or playing hide and seek, after 7hrs of skiing we only wanted to rest, this was not possible till the kids went to bed. Come on seriously who on earth would let their kids run riot through the corridors....I have 3 kids and I can assure you I certainly wouldn't let my 3 kids run riot.
This place is as close to the lifts and ski tube as you could get.
We have skiied in perisher for 2 years now and might try somewhere else. As the slopes are getting busy and more accidents are occuring.
I really hope this hotels has a makeover as it is still stuck in the 70's & 80's.
Old TV's with barely any reception, NO internet only in bar and you would have to go and ask for a password, which was only valid for 2hrs. The airlan wi-fi which you could buy dropped in and out and was very slowwww.
The rooms were lacking in decor and very small and cramped.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank high_flyer_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaru, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great place to stay in Perisher, It is the only place with under cover parking in fact its the only place with overnight parking. The rest must ride the ski tube.
The Man Hotel has the best of food entertainment and convienence.
with pool and dart comps weekly, live music and DJ's.
Only 100 m to the ski lifts out the front or 60 metres out the back to 60km of cross country ski trails.
With the Hotel headed up by Anne and Brian Smith, you get fantastic professional service.
The rooms are everything you need. has a public bar and a very nice lounge bar, huge open fires places in both.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
7.5 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#7 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Man from Snowy River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Man from Snowy River Hotel

Property: Man from Snowy River Hotel
Address: Kosciuszko Rd, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Man from Snowy River Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located on Kosciuszko Road, opposite the skitube terminal in Perisher Valley. We have a variety of rooms to suit serious skiers, a romantic get away or a family ski vacation. Our staff offer a high level of helpful and friendly service. Facilities include undercover parking, drying room and ski room, 2 bars, open fires, dining room, steam room & gym and complimentary laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Man from Snowy River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing