We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, friendly staff, undercover parking, close to lifts & ski tube”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We checked in very quick, Troy was very helpful getting our luggage up. We had the suite for our family of 5. Our rooms were nothing special, old monitor TV, the one in the kids room didn't even work!!. Rooms were warm and cosy, but you could hear the heating throughout the night. Very expensive but considering we went peak time this was as expected.
Breakfast was ample service was quick.
Dinner was nice and menu changed every day, they even had kids club were the kids ate separately and us adults could enjoy our dinner.
The chef was very creative and food was out pretty quick.
The only bad point is at approx 9pm every night kids would run up and down the corridor screaming or playing hide and seek, after 7hrs of skiing we only wanted to rest, this was not possible till the kids went to bed. Come on seriously who on earth would let their kids run riot through the corridors....I have 3 kids and I can assure you I certainly wouldn't let my 3 kids run riot.
This place is as close to the lifts and ski tube as you could get.
We have skiied in perisher for 2 years now and might try somewhere else. As the slopes are getting busy and more accidents are occuring.
I really hope this hotels has a makeover as it is still stuck in the 70's & 80's.
Old TV's with barely any reception, NO internet only in bar and you would have to go and ask for a password, which was only valid for 2hrs. The airlan wi-fi which you could buy dropped in and out and was very slowwww.
The rooms were lacking in decor and very small and cramped.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank high_flyer_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Man from Snowy River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 104 of 104 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great place to stay in Perisher, It is the only place with under cover parking in fact its the only place with overnight parking. The rest must ride the ski tube.
The Man Hotel has the best of food entertainment and convienence.
with pool and dart comps weekly, live music and DJ's.
Only 100 m to the ski lifts out the front or 60 metres out the back to 60km of cross country ski trails.
With the Hotel headed up by Anne and Brian Smith, you get fantastic professional service.
The rooms are everything you need. has a public bar and a very nice lounge bar, huge open fires places in both.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and two boys stayed here in the recent school holidays.. They really enjoyed the choices given to them at dinner time, and thought the breakfasts were great. The staff were really friendly and very helpful.The Managers went the extra mile to assist them everytime. So close to the ski tube and the slopes, children loved the "Little Orbits" donut shop on the platform level of the ski tube.. They will definately return to "The Man from from Snowy River".. Great views up front valley. One day there was a blizzard, so they stayed inside all day, and enjoyed all the board games and the open fire and coffee machine. Can recommend going at the end of the snow season...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suziwong65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed at the Man from Snowy River Hotel in September for the Qld school holidays. A very reasonable rate for the family which included a three course dinner and buffet breakfast. The meals were fabulous, as was the friendly service (even though it was right at the end of the ski season, the staff were still friendly and welcoming). The chef was very accommodating to my husband's dietary needs (lactose intolerant).
The kids club was a hit with our two girls, which was an even bigger plus for my husband and myself to have some quiet time playing scrabble or backgammon whilst the children were being entertained.
We would highly recommend the Hotel to anyone considering staying at Perisher. We're definitely going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LindadlH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We have stayed here a number of times and have always found the service to be good. The advantage of staying here is that it is an easy walk to the slopes and you can park here - no messing around with luggage and skiis on the ski tube or skidaoos. The meals are nice, breakfast buffet plentiful. The rooms are a little plain and can be noisy in school holidays when children run up and down the corridors at all hours. it is a little pricey but definietly the best place we have stayed in perisher.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbouranianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

To be fair, we liked most things about this hotel. Dinner was delicious, breakfast ok, the room had a nice enough view and the staff were nice.
However we paid a small fortune for the room (4 times the price of our previous night's accommodation in Cooma), and for what we paid it should have been perfect.
First problem was that the heating didn't work properly. The hotel has coil heating in the ceiling which was temperamental at best. We called for blankets at about 9pm but reception was closed and the duty manager not contactable.
Second problem was the bed. Our room was advertised as a King bed, but was really two beds pushed together with a queen or double doona cover (not wide enough for the bed). I'm a little over 6 feet tall, and the bed wasn't nearly long enough - first time for a "king" bed I guess.
Third problem was the "kitchenette" in our room. Didn't affect us as dinner was included but a guest hoping for anything resembling a kitchenette would have been disappointed to find it consisted of a microwave, fridge and a couple of items of cutlery.
The problems we had would not be unusual in average quality hotels - but this was a very expensive hotel and really we expected a lot better.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Matty1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
7.5 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#8 of 8 in Perisher Valley
59 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Man from Snowy River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Man from Snowy River Hotel

Address: Kosciuszko Rd, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range: $139 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Man from Snowy River Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located on Kosciuszko Road, opposite the skitube terminal in Perisher Valley. We have a variety of rooms to suit serious skiers, a romantic get away or a family ski vacation. Our staff offer a high level of helpful and friendly service. Facilities include undercover parking, drying room and ski room, 2 bars, open fires, dining room, steam room & gym and complimentary laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Man from Snowy River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing