We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“less than budget style”
Review of Matterhorn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Lodge
bowral
1 review
“less than budget style”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were a family of 4, We were Instructed like Children as soon as we checked in. Things were broken like towel racks etc, no glasses in room to get a drink of water. Towels, Pillows and Glasses in short supply and had to argue with staff to get these thing. We only had our rooms looked at once in 7 days. While food was really nice, we were hassled for eating Meals we hadnt paid for and found the staff less than friendly , rather tellling us all the problems rather than fixing them. A few simple hospitality manners would have gone a long way , The Mattherhorn appeared to be rundown with alot of the games room equipment broken and the bar area old and looked dirty.

Room Tip: make sure aske for a room with enclosed Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea67777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at Matterhorn Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Obviously disappointed to get a review as such but I believe the writer is referring to the week after the NSW/ACT school holiday period. Since that time maintenance and provisioning have been undertaken to repair the electronic games and towel rail etc. Again our apologies for the food issue, but our lodge management believed they had more guests inhouse then our licence allowed, a serious issue and one that was never resolved to anyone's satisfaction during that week. I am pleased you the thought the food "nice" though. The property although built in the 70-80s (as were most of the commercial lodges in Perisher) could be described as dated but we sincerely believe the product represents excellent value for money, considering the ski out location and the opportunity to access Family Specials, Awesome Foursome and Pay 4 stay 5 deals etc. during this week. Having said that, we would clearly love to refurbish the entire property but are limited by the seasonal nature of our industry and the income associated with it. In closing, I hope when next the writer visits the Snowy Mountains the property chosen meets the expectation, and again sincerely apologise that we failed to meet that expectation on this ocassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The four of us were there a week ago (incl a 12 and 17yr old), and really enjoyed our stay and the hospitality over a week.
Food was great (hot breakfast and dinner), staff very accommodating and friendly, particular thanks to Aaron the manager, pick up and drop off to the terminal, convenient location to the ski lifts (ski down and a short walk back), comfortable rooms with a great outlook. Love to return.
Bede McMahon

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bede M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at Matterhorn Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Glad you had a great time, Aaron and the crew really do work hard in trying to give their guests the best possible time and love getting great feedback. Thank you so much in taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

There were three adults and one child in our party. We are picked up on arrival and dropped off after departure but no transport in-between. HOWEVER-its a short ski out to the lifts and a small walk back to the lodge. My partner dropped us straight to the terminal in our car-we were picked up by the snow transport up to the lodge while he took the car to Bullocks Flat and the tube. This saved us from extra Ski tube fees.
PLENTY of activities for the adults and kids-we played pool every night, table tennis, darts and other games. The kids are there with the adults or can have space in their rooms.
The food was AWESOME! Gourmet, three course dinners and out of this world. And plenty of it from pear and parsnip soup to moroccan chicken, vegetarian meals e.g. cherry tomatoes and zucchini pasta, kids meals are huge! Loved the sticky date pudding and pavlovas with berry sauce...so much variety. Breaky is cereals, yogurt and fruit, eggs, bacon, spaghetti, baked beans, sausages and hash browns are lovely! Toast etc etc
Aaron the manager is so accommodating and on call 24/7. No complaints about our rooms-each with own TV and tea/coffee facilities. We highly recommend staying at the Matterhorn.

Room Tip: With families-ask for two adjacent rooms so parents can have their space :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Matterhorn Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thanks for the kind words, I know that all of our mountain management and staff work really hard to provide a level of service that exceeds expectation, and on this occasion I am pleased they have achieved it. I am sure Aaron and the crew would love to see you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

After booking the Matterhorn for 2 adults and 2 kids, and looking at the pictures on the internet, we were confident that our trip would be OK. Breakfast and Dinner were delicious and the portion sizes were big and nice. The rooms were a little shabby, including the bathroom which was very dirty and untidy. Everytime we came back from skiing, we expected that the beds would be made and our room would be tidy. But they didn't do daily room service which was a bit annoying.

Other than that, we had to lug all of our ski's and gear all the way back up to the lodge when we had finished skiing. It was about a 5 minute walk back up to the lodge and with 2 kids, it was a bit hard. But then we could sit back and relax by the fire and play some games and get some drinks from the bar. The staff were very friendly but I don't ever remember at least one person behind the reception counter. Really, the only negative was lugging our stuff to and from the Matterhorn. Overall, our stay was good, but I wouldn't reccommend it because of the walk. Otherwise, It was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowys a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Matterhorn Lodge for a ski weekend. The rooms are generous in size, the food was great (& well sized for hungry skiers!), common areas were roomy & the entire lodge is well run by friendly staff.
Location wise the lodge is a bit of a hike uphill on snow (or slush) covered roads from the main ski tube terminal so you do rely on the oversnow transport to get there. In the mornings however, it is possible to ski direct from the lodge door to the quad chair (providing the creek is well covered with snow & you get a decent run up).
The lodge advertises complimentary pick ups with luggage on Friday afternoons from the ski tube from a certain time, however we called them earlier than the designated time & they were more than happy to come & get us. Likewise on the Sunday morning, we were able to have our luggage transported earlier than advised so we could stow it for the day elsewhere & get an earlier start on the slopes.
For people unable to keep their car parked at Perisher for the weekend, the Sunday transport times may not be convenient - (either between 9am-10am or 2.30pm which means their final ski day is cut short unless someone takes the ski tube back to get their car & returns to Perisher for the bags to be stored for the day). I wonder however if the lodge would be flexible with this if asked as they were very happy to help with everything else.
For kids the games room adjacent to the bar was great entertainment. Adults could be close enough to supervise their children, while still able to relax around the fireplace. Bar prices were expensive, but so is everything on snow. I was pleasantly surprised with the Friday night meal we bought over the bar (not included in the package price). This cost $15 for adults or $10 for kids for a generously sized dish (3 choices). Given that we were effectively 'trapped' in the lodge for the evening due to poor weather, they could have charged what they wanted for food & we would have been forced to buy it.
While staying on snow makes for an earlier ski start, in Perisher you are disadvantaged by the terrain in the village as it is difficult to walk at night on the snow/slush covrered roads. These are not cleared because they are used by the oversnow vehicles - & paying $12 per person for a one way trip of 800 metres seemed a rip off.
Overall we were very happy with our accommodation choice - but think for better value next year we'll ski overseas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Matterhorn Lodge boasts a great location & friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable, clean & warm with access to a bar & welcoming lounge area with a fire, pool tables, flatscreen televisions & video games.

The managers Lee & Shaye make incredible hosts who are knowledgeable & down to earth. Highlights for my partner & I (after exhausting days on the slopes) was the mouth watering lamb rump & Rainbow trout served with friendly, interractive staff. The Matterhorn is good for families, groups & couples alike.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousTraveller247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The service here was below average - I never saw a person at reception to ask questions about specifics of our stay (if our room was ready, meal times, transfer options) My $15 dinner on the Friday night was cold but the portions were nice and big so it did fill your belly. The bar was uninviting and seemed more worried about socialising with other staff member rather than worrying if my family would like a drink or any assistance.

The rooms were dated and not touched since original opening of the hotel, there was also rubbish under our beds - The bathroom was very small and the towel rack was not secured making it difficult to have your clothing or towle in the bathroom whilst washing. IT WAS A NICE LARGE FAMILY ROOM BUT FOR 6 PEOPLE IT HAD ONLY 2 ARMCHAIRS IN THE SUNROOM MAKING IT DIFFICULT FOR US TO ALL SIT AROUND TOGETHER AND HAVE A NICE CONVERSATION ABOUT OUR DAY.

Location to Perisher was great and there is a nice big family area with games and lounges where parents like to let thier children run around whilst they relax. We had a great view of front valley from our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
0.2 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
97 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#7 of 8 in Perisher Valley
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Snowy Gums Chalet
Snowy Gums Chalet
#3 of 4 in Smiggin Holes
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Lodge

Property: Matterhorn Lodge
Address: Kosciuszko Rd., Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Perisher Valley
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Perisher Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing