We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just walked in and sat down!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Stone Bar & Rock Grill

Southern Stone Bar & Rock Grill
Ranked #21 of 85 Restaurants in Nowra
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
act
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just walked in and sat down!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nowra was a transit town for us and we were looking to have some lunch and get out of the car for a bit. The restaurant looked like it had just opened and was very clean and fresh. Maybe it was just on opening time and they had only started business for the day, or that's how it is all day every day! the Service was average, but the food was really nice. We tried a variety of meals from the menu and we all enjoyed what we ordered. I ordered a Scotch Fillet on the Stone and obviously it was cooked to perfection as I did it myself! It wasn't a King Island steak, and if it was an angus, it wasn't top shelf angus, but at least it filled a craving and I can't complain about that! Was it family friendly? I think so, would I go back there? Certainly I would!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    12
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Culburra Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I frequent this restaurant. The food is always good and we receive excellent service every time. The rib eye is tender and flavoursome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grays81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Poor service, bad food, terrible atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food is not nice, it takes way too long to get to your table (& of course you then still have to cook it)
The staff are not welcoming or friendly, nor do they take note of if you need new drinks or anything.
The atmosphere is noisy, busy, hot & not enjoyable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 13b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food cooked to perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can get your meat served on a hot rock "slab" and cook it to your liking. I got the prime rump. I like my beef well done, but not burned to a crisp. By slicing the meat and letting the pieces cook, it turned out tender, juicy and delicious. The vegetable sides were very good and the dessert was yummy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Allegro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Interesting concept of "cook your own" at the table. Using hot rocks, the meat/fish is brought out to you raw and you cook it on the stone.

We ordered from the $32 three-course menu deal - works out so much cheaper than buying separate dishes as the mains alone are around $30each.

Bit of confusion regarding drinks - told by one waitress that we had to go to the bar and get our own, but then we watched another waitress take orders/deliver drinks to other diners. ALSO
when we arrived we were given a table at front door and up against storage door as was told that they were fully booked (we arrived at 8pm) yet restuarant wasn't full, and for rest of evening the many tables remained empty, including two 2seater tables with cosy atmosphere. (there were also 5 4seater tables free the whole time we were there).

Food was very delicious - salt&peper squid was very tender, the veges with my main were delicious, good portions of meat - I had the salmon and hubby the steak. good range of sauces/graveys - definately recommend this restuarant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzaloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Stone Bar & Rock Grill also viewed

 

Been to Southern Stone Bar & Rock Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing