We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tucked into a good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Bass Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Nowra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tucked into a good spot”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed two nights on business and was pleasantly surprised Bob the Manger was very helpful and a good guide to the best places to eat. Quiet room an quite fridge and air-con.
Easy walk to the shopping and food places.
This is my accommodation preference in Nowra.

Room Tip: Hotel location of the main road means most rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mighty-yt-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
19
44
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Narooma, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have stayed at George Bass Motel on a few occasions. I am most impressed with the refurbishments done...most impressed wth the new Managers. Welcoming and professional. Close to mid town...walking distance and an easy walk. Breakfast reasonably priced and very nice. Thankyou for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the rear of the property although we were in the front and is was fine,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bli Bli, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here hears ago but not since the rooms were improved. We stayed in a back unit and thought that there was still some basic maintenance required. Unlike most motels in Nowra, this one is reasonably quiet and it is an easy walk to downtown. The rooms at the rear are larger and quieter. Parking is reasonably accessible. The relief managers were helpful and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the property. Book early, this is a busy motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flapgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip in the Shoalhaven area. Clean and comfortable, and I found the owners very friendly. Good water pressure in the shower. Though there is traffic on Bridge Road during the day, it dies down at night and I had no problems with noise from the road. There aren't many dining options in Nowra, but there is a Thair restaurent a little further down Bridge Road. When I told my clients where I stayed, they told me it was a much better place than other motels in Nowra. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simone_a13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Was in Nowra for a few nights and booked into the George Bass Motor Inn. I booked into an Executive Queen Room which was perfect for my needs with the usual desk, couch and table. The motor inn was located close to the river and to the main shopping district, and for those wanting such, a pub was just a few minutes walk up the road. The room had a split system aircon which worked perfectly given it was a tad warm on the days I was in town.

Room Tip: Executive Queen Room has a sofa. My dad and step-mother had a room with a 3rd single bed in it and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BryGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

One of the better situated motels in Nowra. Nice and close to the CBD - not that there is much to do in the Nowra CBD. ;)

Clean, tidy, quiet and well kept. The room we had all the basic motel facilities - TV and Air Con - but included a kitchenette with a stove, a full sized fridge and microwave. Some crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils were also supplied. The room was large enough for a couple of cots for the kids and still have room to move. The bathroom shower was also of a decent size.

The bed was comfortable and the linen and room fittings gave the room a modern feel.

A nice motel central to everything in Nowra. It is a reasonably priced option in Nowra. Excellent communication with the very friendly and helpful staff. They were very accommodating to various requests. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the motel have kitchenettes for those wanting to cook meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

During our trip towards Sydney we stayed here for one night. After a warm and friendly welcome we went into our room. The room was clean - as was the carpet on the floor and the bathroom - and included a fridge, air conditioning and free wifi.

The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. The motel is located near the city center (only a 5 minute walk) where you can find al sorts of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nowra hotels
0.6 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 9 in Nowra
358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Archer Hotel
Archer Hotel
#8 of 9 in Nowra
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pleasant Way River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nowra Motor Inn
Nowra Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Nowra
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Park Motel
Marriott Park Motel
#2 of 9 in Nowra
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parkhaven Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Bass Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Bass Motor Inn

Property: George Bass Motor Inn
Address: 65 Bridge Rd, Nowra, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2541, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Nowra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nowra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — George Bass Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your George Bass Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Bass Motor Inn Nowra, Shoalhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing