We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly managers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Bass Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Nowra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unfriendly managers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I stayed at this motel recently and would not recommend staying there. The Managers are rude and unfriendly and found the town to be very unfriendly also. Rooms are average. Definately need an update. The only good thing is its close to club and restaurants.

Room Tip: rethink this mote
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyshaddow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
19
44
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We loved our stay. The room was great. Everything we needed for two weeks. Great kitchen with enough appliances to easily cook meals. Lots of room to spread out, unpack and relax. The managers were amazing - friendly, helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Location is great - very central and close to everything. I would go back any time! Thank you George Bass!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karienmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I was unfortunate enough to select this motel on my recent stay. On booking in I met the nastiest woman on reception I have ever met staying in motels over the past 40 years.
If there had been accommodation available anywhere else at the time, I would have left on the spot and not taken a tirade of abuse from this woman.
My recommendation is, avoid this motel at all costs while the current management is in place.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank p d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Have stayed at the George Bass numerous times during the past 12 Months and have found the people managing the motel very friendly and helpfull especially Wendy. I enjoyed the quietness of the room and not being able to hear people next door allowed the best nights sleep at any motel that I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear offer the best of both worlds quietness and piece of mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Have being staying at the George Bass for the past 10 years and find this motel the best situated motel in the area.Great location for access to restaurants main st etc.Ken and Wendy go out of there way to provide great accomodation and make you feel very welcome just like home.We recommend this motel to anybody wanting to stay in the Nowra area you won't be disappointed.Keep up the great work.

Room Tip: Rooms on the western and northern side are very spacious and suits the singles to families
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

If you like friendly, polite service this is most definetely not the place to stay!!!
The female owner is aggressive and highly rude - it astounds me that the Motel is still in business. I question Golden Chains ability as a managing agent as other customers have obviously had similar poor experiences. Stay well away!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyGuy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Great motel. Ken and Wendy go out of their way to make sure that your stay is comfortable and hassle free. Motel is perfectly located with relation to a broad range of restaurants for dinner and cafe's for breakfast. Easy walking distance to Nowra's main street and services. A great home away from home, whether work or pleasure.

Room Tip: Two room apartment, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nowra hotels
0.6 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 9 in Nowra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Archer Hotel
Archer Hotel
#8 of 9 in Nowra
2.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pleasant Way River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nowra Motor Inn
Nowra Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Nowra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Park Motel
Marriott Park Motel
#2 of 9 in Nowra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parkhaven Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Bass Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Bass Motor Inn

Property: George Bass Motor Inn
Address: 65 Bridge Rd, Nowra, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2541, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Nowra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nowra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — George Bass Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your George Bass Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Bass Motor Inn Nowra, Shoalhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing