We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Disapointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of butterfactory restaurant

butterfactory restaurant
Ranked #2 of 85 Restaurants in Nowra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The butterfactory is a bespoke heritage 19th century structure which has been transformed into a stunningly modern restaurant and function setting. To ensure comfort for our customers the building is air conditioned at all times.The butterfactory restaurant is situated on a 2 acre property, set just off Greenwell Point Rd - the main access road to the beautiful beaches of Jervis Bay. The butterfactory restaurant is just 2 hours from Sydney and Canberra and only 5 minutes off the Princess Highway. The grand complex is located in idyllic country and the Award-winning fully licensed restaurant offers delectable Australian Modern cuisine with a passion to provide fresh and local produce. The picturesque heritage building is perfect for that intimate dinner or that special function - the butterfactory comfortably hosts 150 guests.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Disapointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I had passed this restaurant many times while visiting the Shoalhaven, but this was the first time that it had been open for lunch as I drove by.

The menu looked very promising, and as we were a little early (they open at 12noon), we decided to continue on to Greenwell Point and return for lunch on our way back to Wollongong.

We were the first to arrive, and my first impression was that the staff had yet to clean from the previous night. There were food scraps still on the floor, chairs and tables, and the place looked like it needed a lot of attention.

The staff member who greeted us was not at all friendly, and seemed to want anything other than to have customers disturb her day.

As usual, we avoided the "Children's Menu" for the kids - (the standard nonsense of Fish/Chicken and Chips etc.) and chose an entree as a main and three mains.

The Smoked Chicken was overly smoke flavoured and close to inedible, the Seafood Rissotto was clearly made the day previously, the Grilled Fish was dry and flavourless. The best dish was entree pumpkin raviolli - but not enough to share.

I had to seek out the waitress in the kitchen to pay the bill on our departure.

A great disappointment.

Try the Greenwell Point Pub. The Bangers and Mash we saw ealier looked much better value.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WollongongCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBFManagement, Public Relations Manager at butterfactory restaurant, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate your constructive criticism, for it's reviews such as this one that assist us in improving our restaurant and your future experience with us.

Note: we apologise for the very delayed response, we were unaware of online reviews taking place, however we have since made it priority to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    37
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Fantastic place discovered on the way to our accommodation at Greenway Point. Wonderful food, great atmosphere. Very friendly & helpful front-of-house staff. My husband had a great beef fillet with a sauce/gravy he wanted to lick the plate for. I had a lovely ocean trout - moist and beautiful. We were even tempted by the dessert menu which rarely happens. The other half had Raspberry Eton Mess which was meringue based while I had a gorgeous honey and coconut creme brulee with shortbread biscuits. I could have scraped the enamel off the dish! All that and wine too for ~$100. Such a lovely surprise. Would highly recommend this restaurant. We were there on a Wednesday night (they are open Wednesday to Saturday I believe).

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sparerib61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

The Butter Factory has the potential to be a really great venue, but unfortunately the staff do not seem to value the basic elements of customer service, and the food was very disappointing.

We waited at least 20 mins for any acknowledgement by staff after we were seated, and this was only after we managed to get someone’s attention. This was very frustrating, as there were only 2 other groups seated at the time and there were at least 3 or 4 wait staff busily running around the floor setting up other tables. I think someone should at least taken our drinks order. It seemed like the staff’s priorities were preparation for other guests not the guests already seated. I saw one waitress take the order of someone else who arrived after us.

I ordered the fish and chips and the battered fish pieces were overcooked and dry inside. Others at my table had the risotto which was basically rice with a few vegetables added later, not risotto by any stretch of the imagination. I think dishes like risotto should never be attempted unless you had the ability to do it properly. There was a big discrepancy in portion sizes between dishes.

When the staff did pay us attention they were friendly, but unfortunately the damage had already been done. After we started our mains the staff again forgot about us again and it was a long wait to get coffees and the bill.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PumpkinHeadFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

This restuarant is gorgeous. Positioned on farmland it has quite the charm, however this charm was short lived, and the moment we were seated, it was a battle to get any service. From simple, annoying things, such as placing only one bottle of water, for 8 people on the table (I waited up to 25 minutes to just get a glass of water), to taking equally as long to take drink orders, it was an uphill struggle to get any resemblance of adequate service.
The food was mediocre. I ordered the spinach and pumpkin tart and it was pretty good, but the pastry was overcooked. My main gripe is the side salad, was just mixed lettuce leaves, which is ok, but they were dry and there was so dressing so it was very bland. The rest of my table also mentioned very average to bad reports on their food. I dont consider myself fussy at all so to get to the point of making this review, it is evident it was a disappointment. On a positive note, the booking process was great with the restaurant manager or owner, being very friendly and accommodating. Also the standard of the table service did improve the longer we were there, with the staff being quite friendly.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SkipHopJump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

Lunch was very ordinary, poorly cooked food. There was 8 of us who were very disappointed with this restaurant. Never again.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zeenbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBFManagement, Public Relations Manager at butterfactory restaurant, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate your constructive criticism, for it's reviews such as this one that assist us in improving our restaurant. We would look forward to providing you with a more pleasurable future experience with us.

Note: we apologise for the very delayed response, we were unaware of online reviews taking place, however we have since made it priority to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed butterfactory restaurant also viewed

 
Nowra, Shoalhaven
Nowra, Shoalhaven
 

Been to butterfactory restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing